We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Lodge
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I often use Trip Advisor to get recommendations for accommodation, but rarely do I ever make a post after staying somewhere. However, this place warrants a warning as it is by far the worst place I have ever stayed...

My husband and I stayed here for one night in order to attend a party locally. We didn't want to spend a lot on a room as we would only be there to sleep. So we chose this place based on location and price (£60), knowing that it was not en suite. However, the photos on the website are entirely misleading as only some of the rooms are shown and there are no photos of the communal hallways which are shabby and dated. I assumed that all of the rooms would be furnished to a similar standard but our room (number 7) had an old squeaky bed, stains on the carpet and chair, and probably hadn't seen a lick of paint for over 20 years. In addition, it was incredibly cold and uncomfortable, plus noisy from the busy street. I can only assume that some of the rooms are in a similar state since we could hear other guests' "squeaky beds" throughout the night. The shared bathroom was laughable with a hole in the ceiling, uneven floors, and a bone-chilling draft. We decided not to bother with the shower since it was dingy and quite frankly off-putting.

We hoped that breakfast would make up for the poor quality of the rooms, but it was barely edible with cold eggs, poor quality bacon, and tasteless mushrooms.

Finally, the service was incredibly disappointing - they didn't ask how the food was, they didn't ask if we enjoyed our stay, and they could barely be bothered to take our room key this morning.

Spend a bit more money and stay somewhere else. Don't give this place your money!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    54
    49
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
54
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Got to hotel and the woman at reception offered to call us a taxi cause we didn't know any and wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it is. Could not fault it as a one night stay. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were warm. The breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel over the last weekend. Most of the public rooms I saw were ok, the dining room where I ate very good breakfasts served by very polite and friendly staff was well decorated. My only grumbles are my room which was on the front of the building room A5 was extremely noisy throughout the night due to being on the main road side and is badly in need of decorating. The wood-chip wall paper is peeling away in the bathroom and the person who papered it thought that the corners were round making it tempting to run ones finger down the corners ripping it. I must say that the bathroom and shower area is the smallest I have ever seen. I had problems moving in the shower and I am not the largest of men.On the whole I would recommend this hotel but be advised to stay in a room away front the front on the very busy 24/7 main road.

Room Tip: Dont stay at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank immainfeld40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We chose this on basis of location and price, and we wish we hadn't. it was a complete disappointment. a rabbit warren of corridors, no decor, hallways and some rooms smelling of lack of air and too much cooking. both receptionists over the two days were unsmiling and not in the least welcoming - and hard to find when you needed them. wIfi was unreliable to say the least. i agree with another reviewer - why stay there? i was embarrassed in front of family and friends to have booked such a place. the only saving grace: the breakfast staff were lovely and friendly.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else; if you have to stay here, make sure you're not overlooking the very noisy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hierbenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

stayed in the hamilton for 3 nights in quad room with sister, mum, and aunt family wedding ,and i have to say from arriving to leaving we were treated very well taxis booked for us without any problem,ice provided as it was so very hot,room was across the car park but for us that made it even more private , staff very polite and helpful , breakfast perfect ,choice was very good , floors clean, under beds clean, shower/toilet clean, shower head clean , towels provided complimentary shwr gels/soap provided, rooms cleaned every day, yes we would stay here again staff very very accommodating. well done. a well credited 3 star hotel .very good bus service just a short distance from the front door no 2 bus into town and back, panther taxis excellent avoid a1 taxis very expensive,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Gruby, shabby and dirty. On arrival needed to ask for room to be vaccumed, bits on floor, tissues and wrappers under bed. En-suite had mould around shower, dust and dirt in extractor fan and on bathroom light; white woodchip walls in bedroom and bathroom were off white as a result of grime. I felt sorry for foreign visitors staying if their rooms where the same and this would be their impression of the British standard of tourist accomodation. Nothing like reviews or photos.Not up to its 3 star rating. Reasonablely priced shouldnt mean a poor standard of cleanliness and decoration; it appears to be more a case of deteroiration.
Only things in its favour were the over worked helpful friendly staff and the breakfast.
Would I stay again? No! I would use one of the college halls out of term time or a Travelodge or Premier Inn; Cambdrige is not a big city and has good public transport links so nothing is too far away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A nice hotel with well appointed rooms. We booked a lovely four poster room and it was so comfortable. You also get chocolates and a bottle of fizz with the room and it was a really nice touch. Breakfast was gorgeous and we were well-looked after. It takes about 15 mins to walk to the centre but it's a pleasant walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyDtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.9 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Lodge

Property: Hamilton Lodge
Address: 156 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing