We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what it was”
Review of Hamilton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Lodge
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for my friends wedding - I was really excited to get a 4 poster bed, but it was a bit of a disappointment. The place is ok, it is a huge rambling building, but the smell and atmosphere are rather drab and foosty. We had 2 TVs in the room - one was not working and the remote didn't work for the second. The curtains had lost a few hooks so drooped in the middle, the bed wasn't made well - (the sheet didn't come the whole way up). You could feel all the springs in the mattress and neither of the bedside lamps were plugged in, so we had to scrabble around looking for plugs. In the morning, I showered, and the towel stank of stale onions (weird I know!). The place was just all a bit tired and just didn't feel all that clean. However, the staff were friendly enough & I like that you could collect a thermos of fresh milk for the morning and get a take away breakfast if you are going to miss the dining room. We paid £80 a night.
In summary, this is a B&B in need of some care and attention. It's a bit grubby and the decor is dated and tired, but the staff are nice enough; however, I feel the that the price was too expensive for the quality of service. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriamooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Hamilton Lodge for 4 nights at the begining of June, all we wanted was a good but cheapish b and b as this was a short stay. The hotel staff were lovely and the breakfast in the morning was superb, Unfortunatly the room we had which was number 02 was not up to the standard of the rest of the public areas in the hotel, it was a twin room that was very dark and depressing,with very little natural light, it looked like it had not had a lick of paint since the 70s and there were big holes in the wall where either pictures or a large mirror had been, the furniture in the room was in really good condition, but the bedding also had seen better days although it was clean, more than i can say for the room the carpet edges were full of dust and a cob web dangled over one of the beds. Our room was also next to the dinning room so guests seemed to gather chatting very early outside our room although this cannot be helped i know. Come on Hamilton this could be a really good hotel just needs a lot of T.L.C

Room Tip: Don't go in room 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Considering that in general the hotels in this city are crazily expansive, Hamilton Lodge offers a good deal. It is not "too" expansive, it's clean, close to the center, offers wifi and the service is good. Still, in another city the same hotel would be "far too expansive for what it offers".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simmetria0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Enjoyed our long stay here and were impressed by the staff and the quality and choice of breakfast. Rooms are clean and quiet and if you do not mind a good walk it is easy to walk into town along the river bank. Walk takes about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenofwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for a couple of days when we were in the process of moving to Cambridge. The hotel is clean and we found the rooms quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. Unfortunately, the location isn't great, it probably takes around 20-30 minutes to walk to the city center. Overall, the hotel offers great value for money and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night and paid £60. It was one of the cheapest around with a car park. It was pretty basic, room needed a lick of paint and clean around the skylights. Remote didn't seem to be working, only one teabag, breakfast was again quite basic. Fine if you are out all evening but was warn against room up the top as felt a little unsafe if there had been a fire! An ok option and the fresh milk for tea was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in an ensuite room which was small and comfortable and prettily decorated. Room was cleaned every day and there was a tv and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Cambridge is generally expensive for accommodation, this was good value compared to other hotels/B&Bs in the area. 20-25 minute walk from old city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelEllen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2 mi away
Sorrento Hotel
Sorrento Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
933 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Lodge

Address: 156 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £45 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamilton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing