We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible”
Review of Hamilton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Lodge
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrible”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked through booking.com and were presented with the professional photos that can be seen on trip advisor as well. Based on this and other gleaming reviews we had read we booked straight away for two nights only to arrive and be told we had only booked for one despite our confirmation stating two. Net curtains were brown instead of the usual white, single duvets on double beds, carpets unhoovered, woodwork covered in flaky paint and bathroom sealant was brown, dust all over pictures, light fittings and water pipes, as well as mould on the latter. Reception area was not a reception area as you walk in and all you are greeted with is a bell. The waiting staff were the only plus about this experience with them all being extremely nice. Maybe instead of fixing up the new extension the rooms should take more priority.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    54
    50
    20
    16
See reviews for
16
54
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hamilton Lodge was bigger than I had expected and run like a hotel, not a guest house as I had expected.
Although not in the centre of Cambridge, the city centre is within easy reach of the hotel. I was able to cycle along the river Cam to the centre in under 10 minutes.
My single room was on the 3rd floor and was part of the roof space. This meant the room was a little short of headroom in places. Other than that, the room was clean,comfortable and provided everything I required, including a sink, TV and tea making facilities. As the room was at the front of the hotel I found it best to keep the window closed to reduce the traffic noise.
The shared toilet was on the second floor, and the shared shower was on the 3rd floor. Both were adequate.
Breakfast was served in a large breakfast room on the ground floor. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit juices and yogurt. There was also filtered coffee and a choice of speciality teas. The generous full English breakfast included good quality sausages and thick sliced bacon. There were other cooked options that included; kippers, omelets and cheese on toast. The food was lovely, nicely presented and served by efficient and helpful staff.
If decor is your thing, I think it's fair to say the hotel could could do with tidying up in places. However, keep in mind the price of your stay. I found the room rate to be very good for the service provided, especially for Cambridge.
I would definitely consider staying at Hamilton Lodge again.

Room Tip: The front rooms face a fairly busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there last July and it fulfilled its role: it provided me with a good night sleep. Other than that, it’s a quite average place.
It’s one of those places that you neither recommend nor tell people not go there.
Then again, this is the UK we’re talking about. Budget travel isn’t synonymous with quality over there.
I must say though that the lady in the front office was very kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoRego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed here on many occasions whilst our son was at university. The service is excellent - lovely friendly staff and really good breakfast. The rooms are a bit shabby and the whole place would benefit from redecoration - but saying that we wouldn't stop anywhere else now - everywhere is spotlessly clean, staff can't do enough to help and the price is brill!Hotels in Cambridge are really expensive and for the price we pay here we always sleep well, eat well and have a lovely chat with all the staff. Our really favourite thing about it is the fact that in the lounge area there is a small fridge where you can pick up a flask of fresh milk to have with your tea in your room - sheer genius!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for my friends wedding - I was really excited to get a 4 poster bed, but it was a bit of a disappointment. The place is ok, it is a huge rambling building, but the smell and atmosphere are rather drab and foosty. We had 2 TVs in the room - one was not working and the remote didn't work for the second. The curtains had lost a few hooks so drooped in the middle, the bed wasn't made well - (the sheet didn't come the whole way up). You could feel all the springs in the mattress and neither of the bedside lamps were plugged in, so we had to scrabble around looking for plugs. In the morning, I showered, and the towel stank of stale onions (weird I know!). The place was just all a bit tired and just didn't feel all that clean. However, the staff were friendly enough & I like that you could collect a thermos of fresh milk for the morning and get a take away breakfast if you are going to miss the dining room. We paid £80 a night.
In summary, this is a B&B in need of some care and attention. It's a bit grubby and the decor is dated and tired, but the staff are nice enough; however, I feel the that the price was too expensive for the quality of service. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriamooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

CHESHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Hamilton Lodge for 4 nights at the begining of June, all we wanted was a good but cheapish b and b as this was a short stay. The hotel staff were lovely and the breakfast in the morning was superb, Unfortunatly the room we had which was number 02 was not up to the standard of the rest of the public areas in the hotel, it was a twin room that was very dark and depressing,with very little natural light, it looked like it had not had a lick of paint since the 70s and there were big holes in the wall where either pictures or a large mirror had been, the furniture in the room was in really good condition, but the bedding also had seen better days although it was clean, more than i can say for the room the carpet edges were full of dust and a cob web dangled over one of the beds. Our room was also next to the dinning room so guests seemed to gather chatting very early outside our room although this cannot be helped i know. Come on Hamilton this could be a really good hotel just needs a lot of T.L.C

Room Tip: Don't go in room 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Considering that in general the hotels in this city are crazily expansive, Hamilton Lodge offers a good deal. It is not "too" expansive, it's clean, close to the center, offers wifi and the service is good. Still, in another city the same hotel would be "far too expansive for what it offers".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmetria0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Lodge

Property: Hamilton Lodge
Address: 156 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamilton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing