We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very poor food”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Went to this hotel for a Christmas Party. Tickets were a fairly steep £46 per person (beer and wine included). The starter and pudding were mediocre. The main course was terrible - overcooked vegetables, bland and flavourless. A school canteen would have blushed to serve such rubbish.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BillBobEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our party nights here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I apologise that you found the food inadequate, however this does come as a shock after the number of positive comments we have had about the food from over 3,000 guests throughout December.
At £46 per person this is our peak night price, with prices starting from as little as £35pp i believe our package is unbeatable in the Cambridge area for an all inclusive venue.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    426
    225
    72
    24
See reviews for
192
336
38
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The staff try to be helpful, but this hotel could be much better managed. The rooms are lacking soundproofing and insulation. I could hear people walking around upstairs and somebody coughing in the room next door. Fortunately I had earplugs. The heating is not adequate in my view. The chair in the room was not suitable for sitting at a desk, so I had to ask for one. The procedure for getting online from your room is quite chaotic. You get a message telling you to go to reception to get your password but in fact you don't need to. There was confusion about whether I had actually paid or not for the internet. They wanted to charge me for a phone call I hadn't made. The restaurant was not adequate. Overcooked pasta with rotten lambs lettuce. When I pointed this out I was told the lamb's lettuce was "for decoration". I usually expect to eat the salad. This could be a decent place if it was properly insulated, and better organized.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I can ensure that this feedback has been passed on to all of the relevant departments.
Unfortunately the internet is managed by a third party, and is aware of the confusion our guests are finding when trying to access WIFI internet access.
We hope that you will consider the Holiday Inn for any future visits to Cambridge you may be planning.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2011

i stayed here with my Nan who took me here as a surprise and the staff were so lovely to us the one person that really stood out was Natalie at reception Nan felt she just couldn't do enough.
the hotel was clean and well kept, and all our needs were met thank you for a lovely stay Keith merry-weather.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you found your visit enjoyable, and i have personally passed your feedback on to Natalie.
Should you be planning a visit to Cambridge again please visit hicambridgehotel.co.uk to view our best available rates and events.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I could not fault my stay here. The rooms were big and spacious, the bathroom clean and the staff very very helpful. Perfect for a stay in Cambridge. Under £10 for a taxi into the city centre.

Room Tip: If you can get a family room for the same price as a double do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge, we are pleased that you enjoyed your trip to the city, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be visiting Cambridge again.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed in an Executive room before attending the nearby Spire Hospital. Staff were friendly and the room was of a good size with excellent decor. Well worth considering when visiting Cambridge - being only a ten minute drive away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKPinkPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you have found this an enjoyable visit.
Please visit hicambridgehotel.co.uk to view our best available rates and hotel events.
We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Cambridge.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, Uk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I normally prefer small family run hotels with the personal touch that they usually show.

This Holiday Inn however hits the mark. The checkin process is smooth and courteous, the rooms spacious and comfortable, and the building does not seem big and overwhelming.

The rates are reasonable. The bar staff helpful. We have stayed here several times when visiting the children at Uni and prefer it to the centre of town hotels. Everytime we have been treated well; the staff are well trained and responsive.

On one occasion an elderly relative was taken ill, and the duty manager spotted this, very kindly and had a member of staff pop in to check him regularly whilst we were out without even being asked.

It is a short trip out of the centre, but taxis to take you in are reasonable and arranged by the front desk efficiently and easily.

As with most (?all) Holiday Inns the wifi is not good value, so take your mobile dongle.

We have always enjoyed the stay, and will happily stay there in the future when visiting the City.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentFamilyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge this summer.
I am pleased you found your stay enjoyable and comfortable, and thank you for your great feedback regarding the Duty Manager.
We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Cambridge.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We're frequently in Cambridge to visit our daughter (now in her second year) and have stayed pretty much everywhere. During half term last month we advance booked an executive double room for £98 which was first class. Good sized quiet room with comfortable sitting area, huge LG flat screen television, excellent bathroom and associated toiletries. Two complimentary KitKat Chunky (a first) and a free trial 125g pack of Bahlsen Continental Jaffa Cakes had been artfully placed. Staff are first class as other reviewers have noted. We always eat out (including breakfast) because Cam has so much to offer. Try top rated Hakka on Milton Road for exceptional Chinese seafood or The St John's Chop House (2 minutes from Magdalene Bridge) which is a favourite of ours. Breakfast at Cote on Bridge Street or Browns on Trumpington Street. Incidentally, great cocktails served at Hotel du Vin next door. We foolishly left most of our nightwear hanging up behind the bathroom door but I put a call in to the wonderful Sheila in housekeeping and they were posted back to us the same day. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Book better rooms in advance. But remember, it's non-refundable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utterlybutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Cambridge, and for your very kind review.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and i have passed on your thanks to Sheila.
We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next visitng Cambridge.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing