We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
N Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Delightful location on the outskirts of Cambridge on the A14 on the edge of the village of Impington just off the motorway. Plenty of parking and wide open spaces. We were probably roomed almost as far away from reception as could be and after the trek to get there I did wonder if calling a taxi might have been helpful but as I had ascertained it cost £10-£12 to get into Cambridge by this mode of transport it's perhaps as well we walked! We did have to walk by a bust gym and swimming pool so the trekking eased our guilt at the prospect of tea and cakes!
The Milton Park and Ride is only a little over a mile away so we parked there and took the bus to Cambridge.
We had planned to eat in Cambridge but decided that as we would still have to drive we would stay and eat in the hotel instead, thereby both being able to have a glass of wine. The menu and the meal far exceeded our expectations. The variety and quality of the food was excellent as was breakfast. Friendly staff. Full marks!

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility problems would be advised to make this known at the outset are many rooms deman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiay Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you found your stay enjoyable, and had an enjoyable meal in our restaurant.
We are on the outskirts of the city centre, by approx 2 miles. However the city as i am sure you will agree is easily accessible by bus or park & ride.
We hope to welcome you again should you be visitng Cambridge in the future.
Kind Regards
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    430
    228
    74
    26
See reviews for
195
342
39
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I styaed here for a couple of months and never tired of the place. The staff were always friendly, polite and welcoming. Depending on which room you get - it could be a stroll to get there but well worth it. I used both the pool and gym and they were both up to standard. The food at the restaurant was very nice and breakfast was good too! This hotel is not in Cambridge but a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As a regular stayer with Holiday Inn, I have very little expectation under perfection for the brand... however the Cambridge hotel excelled in every way. From the moment we arrived off the A14, we were greeted by a lovely 'barn style' feel on a long approach with beautiful surrounds. A fantastic lake... who would have thought this hotel was by a major road? On entering the hotel, I realised that it was a going to be a good visit. The receptionist, Natalie, was very welcoming and friendly. I paid for an executive room, which although was a bit of hike from reception, was outstanding. They can be hit or miss in some of these hotels, but Cambridge got it 'spot on'. The health club was quiet and enjoyable. Nice pool and gym area. The food and service in the restaurant was superb. A short journey into Cambridge (15 mins) and the hotel in the delightful village of Histon with a very relaxing Cambridgeshire feeling to it. Absolutely ideal. Away from the hustle bustle of the city centre, but close enough to love it!

Room Tip: I don't know what their standard rooms are like, but the Executive rooms were superb, with Japan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBKLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed here for one night travelling with my 8yo and had a really enjoyable stay. The hotel is easily accesible from the motorway so a bit out of town but a nice modern hotel with friendly service. The room was a very good size and clean and comfortable with a nice TV and views over fields. A great pool complex with sauna and wirlpool was also in excellent condition. The kids eat free deal was on so we ate both dinner and breakfast in the resteraunt and the food was good, if slightly limited, and certainly value for money. The staff were cheerful and efficient and I have no hesitation to recommending this hotel on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel last weekend, which was the coldest of the year (-15 deg C in Cambridge).

The room was very clean and tidy, but unfortunately on the Saturday morning the hot water was intermittent. We were obviously not very happy about this although we knew it had been very cold and that this might have caused the problem.

When I enquired about the problem at reception the receptionist immediately called the duty manager. Unfortunately I do not have the manager's name, but he went out of his way to apologise and explain exactly what the problem was and assured us that a maintenance engineer was due to arrive within 30 mins. He also took a note of our room number and arranged for a bottle of wine to be put in our room.

As much as we wish the problem had not occurred, what is most important is the way staff respond to the issue. If you feel you are being taken seriously and they are doing their best to help you then the problem doesn’t seem so bad. The staff were exemplary in what was a difficult situation for them.

This morning we received a letter from the hotel manager apologising again. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_W_West_Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was atending a conference at the Holiday Inn, Impington and stayed the previous night .
I found it easily from Stnastead airport , conveiently just off the main road and well signposted , even in the murky Ferbruary darkness at 11pm on afeeezing cold night!
The receprtion staff were friendly , helpful , jovial and welcoming .
I was travelling alone and felt completely safe .
The room was clean, adequate and had tea and coffee w( which was very welcome)
The Wi Fi charges were exorbitant ( perhaps to discourage usage)
At 6.30am I used the pool which was great - The saunsa was hot ( yes it should be, but some aren't!) Unfortunately the steam room was closed that morning and I did not use the jacuzzi.
The breakfast was wonderful - lots of fresh fruit , meats , cheese, a variety of bread and toast, mugs of coffee or tea, The cooked breakfast tatsed as good as it looked and was hot.
The conference facilites and refreshments were the best I've visted for a long time. Sound proof rooms. Plentiful refreshments which looked , smelt and tasted wonderful.
Comfortable seats ( important when you are sitting for a whole day)
Check out staff were helpful and friendly too.
Great stay and would recommend .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you found the experience enjoyable, even when attending a full days conference!
Unfortunately our internet access is managed by a third party company, so we have no say in the prices charged.
Again thank you for taking the time to inform us of your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the Cambridge area.

Kind Regards
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed in the Holiday Inn, Cambridge for one night and used business facilities.

Check-in was straightforward enough, although the person on the desk was pretty miserable! Room was clean, airy, and perfectly functional. Good temperature; I slept well.

I had a dinner, bed and breakfast package, and the dinner set menu allowed a good range of meals. Breakfast was also fine. However, service at both was poor - dinner was slow and at breakfast there didn't seem to be anyone around half the time. The bar prices were extortionate - you expect to pay a bit extra at hotels, but the prices here were ridiculous!

Some colleagues had more negative experiences with the rooms, etc., so there is an element of 'luck of the draw' here.

Business facilities that we used were good, well-stocked, coffee bar was fine, although the coffee tasted of plastic. Apparently there were other smaller rooms that had no natural light, and were tough-going for the day.

The swimming pool looked nice, although I didn't use it. The hotel is in a quiet area, with some nice green spaces around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OckhamsRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I have passed your feedback to the relevant departments regarding the service issues, as this is not our usual standard.
All of our rooms have a rolling maintentnace programme, and i believe that we offer comfortable and spacious rooms throughout the hotel. We have invested alot of money in the hotel over the last 6 months, with the rebrand, new lounge furniture, pool refurbishment etc and i am pleased to say this will continue.
With regards to our conference facilities, we pride ourself on our Academy purpose built meetings area. Out of the 10 meeting rooms we have only 2 do not have natural daylight and this is pointed out to the booker at the time of enquiry.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn should you be visiting Cambridge in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing