We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Timewarp To 20 Years Ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Timewarp To 20 Years Ago”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Right from check-in the warning signs were there. A queue of about six people waiting to check in at 18:30 on a Monday, which a novice might guess was possibly one of the hotel's busier times. And there he was, behind the counter - what years of experience have led me to believe was a "manager". In other words, an employee dressed in a suit doing absolutely nothing other than standing there, while three receptionists struggled with the queue. Now it may be that there were no other computers available, but why don't people understand how frustrating it is to be waiting to check in after a long day and to see an employee standing around doing nothing? If there aren't any computers available, go and sit in the office out of sight.

My feelings were confirmed by the room. The foyer and loung areas looked as though they had been refurbished but my room definitely hadn't been. Extremely shabby, with very dated furniture. One of those rooms where you don't so much debate about whether to keep your socks on or not but whether you actually keep your shoes on. Mould and hideous thick mastic in the bathroom, and badly chipped floor tiles added to the feeling of grubbiness.

Bedrooms were also badly sound-proofed. My neighbours to the side and above were easily heard whenever they plugged their equipment into sockets, if you will pardon the expression,flushed their toilets, sneezed and in the case of one neighbour, loudly broke wind in a prolonged manner. Not nice, particularly when you are trying to sleep in a little later than 06:30.

A colleague stayed at the brand new Premier Inn just the other side of the A14 and reported a very pleasant experience. Given my disappointing experience at the Holiday Inn, I will be trying any alternatives to the Holiday Inn next time I'm in Cambridge.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Jorganmeister,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay.We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’re sorry you received service (or quality) which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    430
    228
    74
    26
See reviews for
194
342
39
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Let's start with some positives. This hotel is easy to get to (situated, as it is, just off the A14) and has extensive free car parking on-site. Despite its proximity to the busy dual carriageway, there is very little noise in the rooms. The staff were largely professional and efficient and the public areas of the hotel were clean, contemporary and well-maintained.

Unfortunately, all of this doesn't really reflect the rather soulless ambience of this hotel. The style, layout and formulaic decor gives it all the warm cosiness of a motorway service station.

Dining at the hotel is a rather tedious chore and the restaurant would benefit enormously from a review of its rather limited and unappetising menu. The quality of the food fell a long way short of acceptable whilst the prices were comparatively high. Without taking a trip into Cambridge, there's little choice of places to eat locally, so a good hotel restaurant would be a major benefit.

The bedrooms were dated (but certainly comfortable) and there was no free wi-fi. If you book an executive room, be prepared for a lengthy walk.

Despite the glowing descriptions on the hotel's website, the gym is small, dated and the level of equipment is mediocre. A refurbishment would be needed to bring the fitness suite up to a reasonable standard.

All in all, this hotel is fine for a flying visit but the seven days I spent there were a little demoralising. Definitely not a place to find character, style and good food but perfectly serviceable as a cheap business hotel.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are spacious and comfortable but a lengthy walk from reception, which might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDW-TKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
We are suprised that you found your experience with us mediocre, as our guests comments since spending £50,000 in our health club and investing in our public areas have been very positive.
While there is more in the pipeline for Holiday Inn Cambridge, everything from the guests perspective seems to be heading in the right direction and we have had some excellent feedback since we rebranded in 2010.
We continue to invest in our key areas following feedback from our guests, therefore we are hoping to refurbish our guest bedrooms next year and already have a rolling maintenence programme in place.
If you can email me on ritchie.furmidge@ihg.com i would love to discuss a return visit with you.

Kind Regards
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Good value , easy to find ..Me and my Family always choose this hotel when we are around cambridge

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is located some distance from the city centre, however, that is not necessarily a problem. Given that Cambridge is always busy and parking is not all that easy, this hotel makes great sense. There is a bus stop only 5 minutes walk from the hotel which delivers you directly to the centre of town, or there is the option of a taxi at reasonable cost.

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and found the level of service to be consistently of a high standard. The rooms are clean and spacious, all only a short walk from the hotel's bar and restaurant. The food served is always very palatable, with attentive service from the staff.

There are only two negatives with the hotel as far as I am conceren: 1, There is no lift to the first floor bedrooms (easily remedied if you can't climb stairs - ask for a ground floor room) and 2, breakfast can become rather overcrowded at weekends, suggest an early meal time.

Having stayed at many of the hotels in Cambridge, this hotel, at the right price, will always be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding the Holiday Inn Cambridge, i am pleased that you find the hotel a great choice when visitng the city and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Overall
- I would highly recommend this hotel for visitors of Cambridge and the surrounding area
- by far, one of the best and friendliest hotels I have ever stayed at
- only reason for 4 out of 5 is furniture is slightly dated, and toilet was a bit weak
- seems a bit pricey but well worth for a comfortable visit and better value for money than surrounding B&Bs that charged more
- great pool and gym facilities, which is complimentary

Description
- After doing quite a lot of research for a last-minute trip to visit Cambridge, including researching numerous other hotels and B&Bs around the area, my husband and I decided on the Holiday Inn, due to its proximity to Cambridge and the reviews I read on various websites. Well, we were not disappointed. In fact, it was far from it.

From the check-in process, to the service at breakfast, to the bar and restaurant, to our room, to the pool/gym, to check-out, we were treated very well, with lots of smiles, enthusiasm, and were made to feel like true guests. The staff at the hotel were excellent all aroound.

Our room was adequate in size, facing the inner courtyard and playground. We visited in Feb, so there were rarely poeple outside, and I'm not sure how the noise from outside might be a factor, but it was a non-factor for us. It was alittle odd for us to have to walk outside a moment to get to our room, so a suggestion to management would be to build a connecting walkway between the doors, especially for those for visited the pool and may have to walk back and forth in their swimsuit in wintertime. The bed nice and soft with ample pillows.

The TV worked fine with a good range of channels, and although the furniture was a little worn, it did not adversely affect our stay as the storage and seating, which included a 3-seater sofa, desk, minibar, and coffee/tea facilities, were all functional and just fine for our weekend stay.

The only negative in the room was the toilet which was not very strong. Instead of just pressing the flush and letting go, we found you had to hold the lever down for nearly 10 seconds or had to flush a few times. We probably should have notified the room staff but as we didn't spend that much time in the room, it was not a big problem.

Finally, our room was in the 300s but this involved climbing only one set of stairs, so could be misleading for some.

The only thing missing that I would recommend is a hotel guide, which gives times for the meals in the restaurant, pool/gym hours, check out time, and map of the area, as we had to call down to reception for these details.

We did make use of the hotel pool which is heated and also had a fiery and bubbly hot tub, which could seat 4 comfortably. The locker rooms and showers were more than adequate, and all you need is a £1 coin to store your belongings, and this deposit is returned to you so it really is free. Towels are provided, and the hours were very extensive (something like 7-10 every day).

I must commend the hotel for exceptional service at breakfast, where the servers seemed more than happy to come around to refill tea/coffee, remove plates (as it is buffet), replenish the food stations, and clean for the constant turnover. Although it was buffet-style, a cook was on-hand where you could watch her making the fresh eggs and meals. We were even asked how the meal was at breakfast-time, which is something we don't always experience in high-classed restaurants during prime dinnertime seatings! This was, by far, one of the better-serviced hotels I have stayed at in the world, without exaggerating!

The reception staff were very helpful and knowledgeable on the surrounding area, including providing directions to the Milton park-and-ride, which is 5 minutes away, and recommending restaurants nearby.

The hotel restaurant wasn't cheap but not as bad as other hotels, where the rip-off factor is obvious. For example, we ordered an appetizer for about £7 that was a bigger portion than some main courses in many nearby places. So I would suggest that if you do want to save money while eating in the hotel restaurant, don't overlook the appetizers which were much better value than the mains. The bar was also not overpriced, and the convenience of having everything you need in a hotel far outweighed the need to search for the next best deal. They also add on a 10% gratuity option instead of the normal 12.5%, which was an interesting change.

I would definitely stay here again and not bother with the hours of research into B&Bs nearby who charge the same without the pool, without the gym, without the restaurant, and without the stellar service!

Room Tip: If eating in the restaurant, look at the appetizers for better value than the mains. If visiting th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol8131111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you enojoyed a comfortable stay and great service.
The hotel is currently going under a lot of transformation, all of our rooms have a rolling maintenence programme and are decorated regulalry. We are set to have new room furniture very soon which will definately transform our standard rooms.
I have passed your feedback onto the maintenence team regarding your toilet flush, the housekeeping staff will be checking this in all rooms over the next couple of days so we can rectify the problem.
We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here on a business trip from the moment I checked in to when I checked out, I couldn't find fault with this hotel. Stopped in an executive room which was as good as brand new or carefully looked after.

Leisure facilities were as good as any 5* hotel. Eat in the restaurant for evening meal, good choice of food and was excellent. Also breakfast buffet was outstanding. This is a good hotel for the holiday inn chain.

Room Tip: Book an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review regardi8ng your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you found this an enjoyable experience, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for one night last weekend when visiting Cambridge. We found the location of the hotel, really easy to find and close to motorway. Hotel is in a nice location next to a lake and fields with horses in, which my daughter loved going to see.

Hotel is pleasant looking, with a barn like feel and only 1floor up. Check in was good and quick.

We booked a family room and on the plus side, this was huge with two double beds and a double sofa bed as well as two chairs with a table and a large wardrobe! However, the rooms do feel a bit dated and dark-they could do with being updated and a coat of paint. The sofa looks like it has seen better days and the furniture is bit worn and dark for the room. The bathroom was average and the cleanliness of this was not as good as I would expect. Also, the towels were tiny-would recommend taking your own. The rooms definitely dont seem to be up to the standard as the rest of the hotels decor and features.

The leisure centre was a really good facility with towels provided. Found it a bit strange that you had to type in a code to get into the changing rooms but once in pool area, was lovely with a sauna, steam room and a really nice jacuzzi. The only couple of things that let the leisure centre down was firstly, the swimming lane was huge leaving hardly any room for the leisure part. Also a grumpy old man told out children off for being in the swimming lane even though they were clearly swimming. The other thing that let it down for us which is totally out of the hotels control was some parents inability to look after their children-there were a number of young children running, screaming around the pool area with no parents in sight supervising them. Both of these incidents did spoil it slightly for us unfortunately.

We didn't eat in restaurant for dinner as we went in to nearby Cambridge which is about 15 minutes away. However, breakfast was good with a lovely selection. Staff were all polite and friendly. Kids also eat free which is a big bonus.

Alrhough we didnt use the bar and lobby
area, they looked nice. The outside play area for children was a nice extra feature which my little girl enjoyed.

Overall we did enjoy our stay bquiets fairly average with the potential to be very good with a few minor tweaks!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebishop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hicambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that overall this was an enjoyable experience, and you found our location suitable.
We understand that our standard rooms furniture is slightly dated, however i can confirm we do have a rolling maintenence programme in place for all of our bedrooms/public areas and they are decorate regulalry.
We have recently spent a lot of money refreshing our restaurant, lounge, swimming pool etc, and hope to soon be in a position to refurbish our rooms also. We do have executive rooms available which have a far more contempary decor and feel to them.
I am pleased you found the Holiday Inn a child friendly hotel.
I can only apologise that your swimming experience was not as expected, however as mentioned this is out of our control. I also wanted to give reasoning behind the codes on the doors. This is basically just to ensure everyone signs in at reception due to health and safety regulations, so that nobody slips through the net!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ritchie Furmidge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing