We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Went to Cambridge for a friends wedding and stayed three nights there. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had booked two rooms and found ourselves in different parts of the hotel but on request were moved without any problems. The breakfast was good particularly as we were served real decafe coffee instead of instant. We also had the same experience in the bar too. This is an improvement on the last time we used a Holiday Inn. The pool area was clean and the showers in the changing rooms also worked really well. We didn't eat a main meal at the hotel but the bar snacks were very good and arrived very quickly. The Victoria sponge, at quite a reasonable price for a hotel was also excellent. The only thing that we found a little uncomfortable was the furniture in the lounge area and sadly no free wifi even in those areas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dibleydibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay over the three nights.
It is with regret that we can not offer free wifi in the hotel, however this is our of our control and is based on a survey that Head Office compiled, where guests stated they would rather pay and have a secure service.
I will pass on your feedback about the lounge furniture to our Head Office, as this was recently changed as part of our refurbishment, and it is interesting that you did not find it comfortable.
I hope that you will consider us for any future visits to Cambridge.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Holiday Inn was chosen for its great location and ability to host a group of 120 mixed aged Classic car owners from all over Europe. The accommodation for friends and those with families was of a very high standard with facilities including a fitness centre that catered for all tastes. What earns this particular Holiday Inn a 5 Star review is the quality of the staff. They were simply superb, smiley, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We had a BBQ where everybody had a group meal on the saturday evening based in the main restaurant. This worked perfectly with genuinely exceptional food and great value for money. The restaurant manager who mentored and directed his staff with a smile, was a class act and superbly efficient. He was a beacon of leadership and service. The Bar staff who had a range of other parties and guests were again exceptional and managed our group with aplomb. If you are thinking of running such an event and need a very good hotel with all the facilities and brilliant staff this should be your first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for the review that you have left on tripadvisor, and for the letter you sent into the hotel which has been shared with the rest of the hotel team.
I am very pleased that you and the rest of your group enjoyed your visit to Cambridge, and that they hotel met your expectations for comfort, service and quality of food.
We hope to welcome you back to Cambridge in the near future.
Kind Regards
Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Very busy business hotel. Very friendly staff, although we had a few problems with ordering food and twice got the wrong dishes sent out.

Staff were friendly and dealt with situations very well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay in Cambridge.
I am sorry that you experience some confusion with your meal while dining with us, however i am pleased that you dound that this was dealt with in the appropriate manner by the team.
I hope that you will consider the Holiday Inn for any future trips to Cambridge.
Kind Regards
Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The rooms were a good size & clean, however if you wanted breakfast it was over £14, and Wifi was around £5 per hour. We ate in the restaurant and although that too was not cheap the food and service was very good.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
Unfortunately internet access does carry an additional charge, as all IHG properties have an external provider for internet. This does however ensure that we have a very safe and secure internet service for our guests, and when questioned this is what a lot of our guests actually preferred in a head office survey.
Should you wish to have breakfast it does work out to be better value for money when booked in advance on a Bed & Breakfast rate (usually jsut £10 more per room), however vouchers are also available on check in to discount breakfast to £10.95pp.
The bar also offers a range of light breakfast options from £3.50.
I do hope that you would conisder the Holiday Inn Cambridge for any future trips to Cambridge.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Booked a family room and i was very impressed with the size. Room was big with two double beds and one sofa bed. Perfect for my family made of two adults and three young kids.
The breakfast was good but better off avoiding it any time after 9am as gets very crowded.
Don't expect a Lakeview room!!
If you have a baby on a pram, please ask for the ground floor as there are no lifts unless you are strong enough to carry it to the upper floor
Reception staff is very friendly and communal areas are very clean
A very good choice for anybody wanting to stay in a hotel close to the city
Good pool with jaccuzzi, sauna, steam room!!
As far as i am concern, i will use it again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MehdiS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay, and would consider using us again for future trips to the City.
Unfortunately as we are only two floors we do not have a lift, but will accommodate anyone who requests a ground floor room.
Regarding breakfast it does seem to get very busy after 9am at weekends when we have a lot of families in house, therefore we do rota additional staff to try and ease service throughout this busy period.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge in the future.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Overall this Holiday Inn is pretty good, reception staff were friendly and attentive and the health club (pool, gym etc) is one of their better ones. Rooms were a nice size and everything worked although the living area was not very well lit (a problem that I though they had addressed in most of their hotels). The main let down was the restaurant menu which, being Jubilee & Olympics year, had a very British slant but not a very imaginative one. For a hotel the prices were reasonable. Would definitely go back tho for the spa facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Cambridge.
I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I have passed your feedback onto our Food & Beverage development team at Head Office, as it is great to have some constructive critiscism, and perhaps they may review for other celebratory years in the future.
We hope to welcome you back to Cambridge in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Surprisingly spacious room. Two huge beds with a selection of feather and fibre pillows to choose from. Delicious chicken ceasar salad. Satisfying Full English from the breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveHas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Cambridge, we are very fortunate to have a number of large family bedrooms which can accommodate families. I have passed your lovely comments about the food and service to Head Chef and Restuarant manager
I hope that you will consider another trip to Cambridge in the near future

Kind Regards

Wayne Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £72 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing