We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Party night”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My wife & I stayed here for a company Christmas party. The hotel is easy to find. Plenty of parking space. Check in was trouble-free although the young lady could've been a bit more smiley & look like she was pleased to see us. Plus point - she did advise us there were Christmas parties on at the hotel that evening. It might've been important for a "normal" guest to know.
I'd booked an Executive room and the reservation clearly stated two people staying yet there was only one bathrobe, one packet of biscuits, one lot of toiletries etc etc. A negative.
Other than that the stay was very comfortable. Room was a decent size and quiet. The blinds do a good job of blacking out the daylight too.
I can't comment on the leisure facilities but they looked good. Small pool and gym.
I also can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't make it in time for breakfast service. Yes, the party was that good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I have taken your comments on board and will be discussing them with my team. I apologise for only 1 set of towels etc. in your room this is not our normal standard. I am pleased you liked the size, comfort and blackout facilities within the bedroom, and pleased also that you enjoyed the Party night.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    420
    223
    71
    24
See reviews for
188
331
38
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandovery
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions whilst visiting family and friends and on each occasion, our stay has been fuss free, straightforward and uncomplicated. Buffet style breakfast is great, especially with the welcome of the friendly 'behind counter' staff and the courtesy of the waiting staff. We have also dined in the restaurant to save driving and found the meals well prepared, delicious and well presented. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. As a disabled person, the facilities are good and although we have not visited for a while due to illness, next time I visit Cambridge, this is where we will stay! 'Deals' are often available and are good value.

Room Tip: If visiting at Christmas, ask for a room well away from festivities as we, as pensioners, prefer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBJLlandovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and taking the time to post one. I appreciate your positive comments towards the fuss free service and standards that we offer. We do have a variety of rates available, in advance, prepaid or flexible and other offers at different times of the year, so do look out for these.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I had one night here in a very comfortable room and property. It suited me as I drove from the south to eastern England for a meeting. The lobby is well lighted, quick check in by a friendly girl and just prior to a large group. The property is generally newish, clean, enough public space to not feel crowded, though it is not a large lobby.
Dinner was quite good, quick and efficient service. Breakfast was similar and very good offerings, (overly warm temps in breakfast room). The bar area is also spacious and suited for meetings. The gym was nice and large; did not use the pool which looked good and also well lighted. Bed and duvet were perfect and 4 pillows on bed is great, tho most were pretty firm.
Hotel is everything I expected and with good staff/ attitude. The minor issues are that there is no elevator/lift so after a long drive, 3 weeks of travel with 50 lb suitcase + heavy briefcase, I just did not expect that and preferred not to carry it up one floor. This was quickly solved by a staff member who took it to the room while I parked my car far away.

Room Tip: Be aware of no lift/ elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay, and all the areas you visited or used within the hotel were good. It is pleasing to know that our staff deliver the service standards that our Guest love.
I hope that you will choose the Holiday Inn on a return visit to Cambridge, and I look forward to welcoming you.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Cambridge is a beautiful place to visit. The Holiday Inn is a great place to stay, outside Cambridge but only a few minutes by car. The room I had was spacious, well- appointed and clean with a settee by the window. Breakfast was self-service style with plenty of choice . The hotel has a pool and gym although I didn't make use of them on this occasion, but they are also big plus points. Would definitely recommend, and would stay here again on another visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to write a reveiw on our hotel, and such a positive one, I am very pleased you liked your spacious room and our large selection at Breakfast.
I look forward to your return visit to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Only One problem with staying in December, This Hotel holds external group xmas parties,on Saturday nights,so the whole ground floor area reception,foyer,bar is compleated packed we had to push through the party people to get to the corridor to our room.You can not use the Bar ect, And you will not sleep untill after midnight due to the very loud disco music, Thump Thump in your room.We did not see any information on xmas parties any were,when we arrived we were told of the party thats to late! and we were not! put in a room far from the very Loud Disco.

Room Tip: sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davetheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am very sorry that your stay was disrupted by the Christmas Parties that we have during December. We do try and inform every guest that we have party nightst via email, telephone and we do publish this information on our website. If you would like to discuss this further please do call our General Manager Mr Wayne Morris
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We were upgraded due to a Christmas party taking place the evening, the rooms were the furthest away from the festivities. We were informed of this as we checked in and told that there was no restaurant facilities, but a bar menu was available. I had already read this on the hotel website so we had made other plans. The room was great for the 3 of us and we heard nothing from the party. The breakfast was nice and we loved going for a swim/steam/jacuzzi to finish off our stay. Not right on top of Cambridge, £10 taxi ride into the centre.

Staff polite and helpful, a really enjoyable stay. Although one of the bedside lamps was not working, think that they should check this kind of thing especially in an excutive suite, but really just a minor niggle. Daughter loved the pool which was why we chose the hotel rather than one nearer the centre, the paddock with ponies in the next field was a big hit too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettermacaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in such a positive manner, this has been shared amongst the Hotel staff and we are proud to be offering a Great hotel that Guests love.
I share your niggle regarding the bedside lamp this is a shortfall in standards and I apologise.
I do hope that you return to the Holiday Inn Cambridge sometime in the future
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyhire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

A short weekend trip - we upgraded our room to deluxe, which was a very nice room with all the usual additions, it was very quiet which was what we requested, the toilet flush was a bit slow and problematic - but apart from that we were very pleased with the room. There was a function playing on the Saturday evening, which meant that the restaurant was closed, but given some of the TA reviews didn't worry us in the slightest. We arranged to eat in Cambridge and the hotel staff were very helpful in arranging this for us. Nice large car park and although there is a bus connection (10 minute walk), we used taxi's which takes about 15 minutes to get to/from the centre at a cost of approx £10. Overall very pleased and the hotel stepped up to the 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - if that's what you want, although it was a few minutes walk away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyhireHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Cambridge and that you enjoyed your stay here. We do, throughout December, have Christmas Parties in the hotel and we only offer a limited Dinner menu in the Bar and lounge area before 8.00pm.
All your comments are shared with our Team Managers who will be pleased that they are embracing Great hotels that guests love.
I look forward to your return visit to Cambridge sometime.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing