We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at this Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights on a leisure trip to Cambridge. We try to use Holiday Inns as members of their rewards scheme. The hotel is a motel style layout which means it's a rather straggly layout, but only on two floors. The location is well out of the city which means either driving in or catching the bus. The Cambridge / St.Ives busway stop is about a half mile walk away.
The hotel room was comfortable and quite spacious, with flat screen TV, internet access, desk, chairs and adequate bathroom. The room we had was showing some signs of wear and tear, but overall, no complaints.
Internet access charges were extortionate at £16 / day (not used!), but IHG hotels have announced they are offering it free to reward scheme members in future.
Breakfast buffet was good value with plenty of choice and an exceptionally friendly welcome.
There was a pool and small gym (not tried, but looked nice) and plenty of space in the lobby / bar area with comfortable seating.
All in all, a friendly welcome, a good night's sleep and great breakfast. What more do you need for a short stay?

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to reception to avoid long walks for meals & facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for detailed review its great, I am pleased you found the hotel to be comfortable and spacious with our firendly staff to look after you. We do hope to refurbish our standard rooms during this year, and yes as you quite rightly state, Wifi will be free for Priority Club Platinum and Gold members from July this year and further offers after that.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Attended as part of a conference held in The Academy - which is a very nice venue indeed. Bedroom OK food OK to good - did not bother with breakfast because of congestion there - but that did not bother me. Reception in and out was fine - no delays and nice staff. Funny layout to the hotel means that for some rooms you have to go outside the hotel and re-enter from reception. Nice view from the window of some horses! All in all ok, nothing special, bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelmo_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that the hotel was Ok to good for your stay, and that our Academy venue was good for your conference.
We do offer a selection of Flexible and Advance Prepaid rates all available on our website.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Boked for 2nights, standard doubke room. Very clean & comfortable.
Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Enjoyable stay. Breakfast was a buffet but lots of choice availabe.
Difficult to park in centre of Cambridge so taxi is advisable

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstootsDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that the staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We enjoyed a very nice weekend at this hotel. Holiday Inns are a bit miss and hit, but this one definitely fell into the latter category. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the design of the hotel was modern, the food better than average and our family room a good size and well appointed. Kids are well catered for, with free dinner and breakfast, a small playground and a decent pool. Excellent gym. The Milton park and ride is close by or, if you are daft enough to drive into Cambridge, this is about 5 mins away. Factor in long queues for car parks and high prices. The hotel restaurant was okay and a Sunday night buffet great value for money. Service was occasionally reminiscent of Fawlty Towers, but always friendly.

Room Tip: Family rooms are slightly larger than others and include 2 double beds and a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our Family friendliness throughout the hotel. Another option into the city is to take the Guided Busway which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.

kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

stayed with my family over the Easter Weekend and had a wonderful time. On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and helpful, explaining all about the hotel's amenities and restaurant times etc. When we got to our room a member of the cleaning staff helped us get our luggage through the door and explained that he had already made up the sofa bed for my son. He was helpfulness itself and could not do enough for us.
The hotel itself is clean and well presented with step free access to reception, bar, restaurant bedrooms, gym and pool. There is a small outdoor play area for the children and another for the smokers which is good because it means that you do not have the groups of people outside the front door and the smoke doesn't waft into the reception areas.
Directly outside the front door is the lake that gives the hotel its name which is great for birdwatchers and walkers alike, and made for a great nature wander with my son.
Breakfast is a buffet affair where you can eat as much or as little as you like and there was a great selection of cereals and cooked food to be had, including a pancake producing machine which was my son's favourite. Again I would like to praise the staff for their help and their attention not only to my wife and I, but to my son as well.
The pool was clean, warm and not too crowded when we used it. The changing areas were similarly presented and well up to the standard that I have come to expect in this hotel.
Overall this is a wonderful hotel with excellent staff, of whom Holiday Inn should be justly proud.

Room Tip: Book a room at this hotel, that'll do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapidresponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to review our hotel in a detailed and positive manner. I am very pleased your family enjoyed their Easter stay here with us and that the staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind regards
wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Great leisure facilities at this holiday inn, pool was clean and warm and gym has excellent facilities. Very clean and excellent staff as per usual standard for Holiday Inn. Lovely grounds and ideally placed for Cambridge. We got a bus in, to avoid parking in the busy city centre, and this was very simple and only took about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pookiefatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review, I am pleased you liked our location, our Health and Fitness Club and that all the staff were excellent.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future

Kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We usually stay at Holiday Inns when they are in a suitable location, although this is not in the centre of Cambridge it is only a short drive. The hotel is the normal HI standard, ie very good, staff excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased Holiday Inn has maintained the high standards you expect.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

kind regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,458 reviews
2.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £65 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing