We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A good location, it's the usual situation as in its placed near a roundabout with a major road nearby but. To be fair, no traffic noise from my room, although quite a walk from reception and I was in a second floor room, with the added joy of no lifts, so not so good for carrying your bags.
Overall a good quality hotel, staff friendly, rooms of a high standard, plus very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and hotel clean.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future

Kind regards
Wayne Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    426
    225
    72
    24
See reviews for
192
336
38
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I travelled with my daughter and son-in-law and 11 year old to Cambridge and other places over the past week. My son-in-law made the bookings for our trip.
We arrived in Cambridge early morning and did some sight seeing before checking in at the Holliday Inn. Check in was smooth and accomplished quickly and professionally. I enquired about WiFi and was told there was a fee of £5 an hour - £28 a day. I expressed surprise and was informed that in time this fee would be scrapped but contractural considerations prevented free HiFi at this time.
We took two rooms - both were spacious well serviced and clean. The furniture was dated and nothing flash but ample.
Our room rate included breakfast. I believe most tastes were catered for and we were ushered to our table and served by friendly staff who made sure used dishes and utensils were promptly removed.
The others used the pool and were happy with it - changing room excepted.
The location of this Holiday Inn was seven k's out of the city which was no problem for us as we were using a private car. It would however I think be a major problem for a traveller reliant on public transport.
I want to return to the WiFi issue. In my view, these days wifi is a significant factor in choosing a hotel/motel and not just for business users. £5 for an hour is nothing short of a rip off and I'm not convinced by assertions of contractural requirements which I view as a convenient excuse. The Premier Inn has a far superior plan of free wifi for 30 minutes each day and I will not by using Holiday Inn for future stays given their policy. But for the wifi issue I would have given an overall score of 4 stars as it is we marked it down to three at best - for me I would have scored it 2.5 given the room cost and their attitude to wifi.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be a long distance from amenities and up stairs (no lift). If there are mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay other than the fact of our Wifi charges. As of 1st July 2013 our Wifi will be offered Free of charge to all our Priority Club Platinum and Gold members, with other offers following on.
I hope you would consider the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.

Kind regards
Wayne Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting. It has a great location, with ease of access to the A14, but far enough away that you don't hear the traffic noise. My room was quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They really do offer service with a smile. The room was immaculately clean, really spacious with a comfy sofa and desk to work on and well appointed. The food was excellent at breakfast - fresh fruit in the fruit salad, freshly cooked eggs, tasty bacon and a wide variety of bread/toast/croissants etc. When I asked for hot milk with my coffee, it arrived promptly, steaming and frothy in a large jug. They offered plenty of refills too. The conference facilities were excellent as well. I had to put my preconceived notions about what a Holiday Inn was, in the bin. Fantastic value for money. I'd definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryFamily_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review and I am very pleased that your whole stay experience was great. It is what we strive to acheive and gives great job satisfaction to my team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.

kind regards
Wayne Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Went here with the partner to visit my brother who lives in Cambridge. We booked early and got a *really* good price of around £60 for a room for one night.

We didn't use the spa/swimming pool or even the restaurant - we ate out in Cambridge itself, but I was still hugely impressed with this hotel.

Firstly - it's massive. It actually reminded me of the Overlook Hotel off 'The Shining' from the outside - all pine wood sidings on the buildings, nice and spread out within it's own grounds. This hotel is just outside the city with excellent travel links, but is far enough away from the motorway to still be quiet. It's pretty much a perfect location and looks great tbh.

The recpetion is big and welcoming, the bar wasn't too expensive, the room we stayed in was big, and the bed had a choice of softer or harder pillows, (nice touch) and was very comfy. Nicely fitted bathroom, and everything was spotlessly clean. And the TV worked lol! So often you stay in a hotel and it's a nightmare to figure out the TV, or it has rubbish reception etc etc but here it just worked :)

I picked up a complementary newspaper from reception which was useful whilst the missus was getting ready ;) and also on the recpetion desk they have land line which dials directly to the local cab firm which only charged £10 to get into Cambridge - which we thought was really reasonable.

Overall just massively impressed. When I think of Holiday Inn I lump them with Premier Inn/Days inn/Travelodge/Ibis etc etc.....but certainly this Cambridge branch feels like so much more :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p4tiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your review and thank you for your recommendation. All of our reviews are shared with the team and they will be delighted to receive your comments. These will make a great impact upon their job satisfaction. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cambrigde and continue to deliver such high standards.

Kind regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Beware the hidden extras here - especially the internet. We were here of two days of meetings, booked by company for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. First niggle was dinner - on pre-booked menu the choice is massively restricted. Most dishes carry a supplement, even certain desserts. If you want a piece of cheesecake priced on menu at £5.25 that's included, but not lemon tart - also priced at £5.25. (?)

Then the internet - only one person gets to log on to free WiFi in the meeting room. Everyone else pays £16 - or else you all huddle around one screen. Internet charges for overnight guests the same.

Colleagues who stayed in Cambridge itself paid a bit more for their rooms but had free or cheaper WiFi and choice of brilliant restaurants. Outside of Cambridge, near here, the Premier Inn is much better value for money. If you do get stuck here, I am told there are a couple of pubs nearby for better food - and free WiFi, sorry I don't have the names.

I know in a recession hotels have to watch their pricing but this hotel is sending out a clear message that they couldn't less about the quality of your stay, they just want to add loads to your bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemmah283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us with your comments. I am very sorry to hear that you experienced limited choice of food for dinner during your stay we try to offer a selection to large groups, with regard to wifi charges as of 1st July all Priority Club Platinum and Gold members will receive this Free with further offers to follow.
I hope you may consider Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future

Kind regards
Wayne Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Visited the hotel over 2 days to set up and attend a trade show. Also to give a presentation in a break out room. The conference suite is typical of the modern hotel conference suites. I think we were using all of it. It is clean, propose designed and (as regards a trade show) lots of power sockets where needed. The food was also good. However what moves this from the ordinary to the special is the staff. In particular the organiser Laura. Nothing was too much trouble and what ever it was promptly arrived, was re-arranged, moved or removed. It is this sort of support that removes a lot of the stress when working at these sort of events. I can recommend the conference/event team as much as the facilities themselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaedsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback and I am very pleased that you were well looked after during your Trade Show event, I have passed this feedback to the team and Laura which will go a great way to improving their job satisfaction.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future again.

kind regards
Wayne Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Spent two nights recently,staff all very helpful and friendly and a very pleasent room overlooking fields and reasonably modern and everything worked well. Handy for the city,we used local bus service.
A peaceful location surrounded by fields with plenty of parking,breakfast was good.
Only downside no Wifi other than at a high rate so did not use.
Will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception as it can be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RailbirdCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am very pleased that the staff were helpful and friendly and you had a good breakfast. We are offering, as of 1st July 2013, Free internet to our Priority Club Platinum and Gold card holders and further offers will follow.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind regards
Wayne Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing