We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three and a half stars...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a month, weekdays only, and have a fairly mixed review.

The first thing that I didn't like (understand), I have stayed in lots of hotels because of my job, and understand that a print of your payment card is taken when checking in, I have NEVER had not only the amount of the bill but £150 extra pre authorised (frozen) in my bank account before. This caused several problems as my employer was not sending me the funds for the bill until the end of week! I solved this on the subsequent weeks by paying the bill on the evening I checked in. This may help others in my situation.

My second grumble was the astronomical price of the internet. £20 for two days access!

I only had time in the evenings to eat in the bar, but the food here was fantastic if over priced. London prices I would say £12.50 for a double Southern Comfort and coke!!!

I stayed in three different rooms over the course of the month. All were very comfortable, with a comfy bed, a fridge, and a huge TV. One of the bathrooms had a shower that I had to duck to wash my hair but the bathrooms were clean and the towels huge and fluffy.

It can very be noisy at times if you are on the ground floor, the noise from upstairs is very disturbing and in the last room I stayed in you could hear everything that happened in the bathroom next door which was very unpleasant!

Staff were helpful and friendly even when busy, which was often as the hotel seemed on the whole pretty under staffed. One person on reception on a Saturday morning in August is not a good idea. The poor girl was snowed under.

In summary, I would not stay in this hotel again if I was picking up the bill myself, however with the company picking up the bill, it would be a definite yes.

Room Tip: First floor rooms would be quieter I think, the further you are from reception obviously the quieter...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vik599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed review, guest feedback is a vital part of our business and your comments will be used in a constructive manner. I was pleased to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I spent one night in this hotel. I am a gold member of the IHG loyalty programme. We celebrated my wife's birthday in Cambridge, UK, so I've booked the top room in this hotel - Deluxe.

There were many disappointments that surfaced in such a short period of time.
1) Breakfast not included - allegedly due to me booking the stay via the points. This is really strange. Any other loyalty programme gives gold members breakfast automatically.
2) There was absolutely nothing deluxe about our room - even the bed size was double (I've paid extra points to get deluxe and expected king size, so this was again disappointing)
3) Service really poor - the iron in the room was working on and off. The reception promised to bring one that worked properly. No one ever came! Fortunately I was able to finish the ironing with the semi-broken one in the meantime
4) We found a big bug marching across our carpet. I appreciate insect might be hard to control, but again - not a great sight.

Overall, I'm very disappointed with this hotel. When I called the reception regarding the bed size and the room not really being deluxe as promised over the reservation site, the lady effectively only blurted something like "I know the beds are small, but this is what they are in this hotel. Anything else I can help you with?" She hung up the phone right after that. Sounds like I'm not the only one having troubles with this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danfarkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and the comments will be used in a constructive manner. I would be very grateful if you could contact me at the hotel to discuss the issues during your stay.
I hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is my first stay in a Holiday Inn for a long time.
What a change. The food in the restaurant was excellent not the old buffet style anymore.
The staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and attentive.
My executive room was clean, well laid out and quiet. Choice of soft or firm pillow, nice touch!
A decent shower would have been appreciated and not a shower over the bath with curtain.
Maybe its me but I prefer a modern shower with no bath in the room.
Bar area pleasant but large gin and tonic on the pricey side.
Breakfast not included in executive room rate. On checking at reception was offered a discount voucher; just wonder if I would have been charged the full rate if I had gone straight to the restaurant?
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are a long walk from reception but very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john10031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and renewed loyalty to Holiday Inn. I am pleased you found the staff to be pleasant and attentive. We do offer a selection of rates pre paid and flexible some inclusive of breakfast.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. The hotel was big and I was attracted to this one because of its spa and pool. The rooms are quite spacious, but not soundproofed; we heard the couple next door banging and guessed they heard us do that too. This review goes back to December 2010.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and I hope you enjoyed your stay back in 2010. I apologise for your noisy neighbours.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Despite being very busy with a wedding, the service in the bar & hotel was excellent. We did have thoughts that we had timed things badly when we saw the horse & carriage outside when we arrived, but it had no negative impact at all.

The leisure facilities were first class & the room service (used for food) was very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandTRuralSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for you review and feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the Wedding didn't interfere with it.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My son recently got married at this hotel. We all had nice spacious, modern, clean rooms.
The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was good, the service was very good. We had an evening meal here which was a buffet style. The choice was a bit limited and it was a bit pricey at around £17. But, saying that, it was tasty and the restaurant is modern with nice decor and clean.
The drinks at the bar are VERY expensive, so bare this in mind.
All in all i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp5841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and recommendations, and I am pleased you found the staff welcoming and friendly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel overnight along with my invalid mother in a family room on the ground floor.
Staff were welcoming and we were able to book in early, leaving our baggage before making the most of the day.
The room and facilities were everything that we were expected. The rooms were spotless and well maintained
Buffet breakfast was ample with a good variety on offer. The staff were attentive and responded quickly to special requests.
The room was spotless and well maintained.
The location is ideal right next to the Histon turnoff on the A14 and just 4 miles from Cambridge
There was ample parking on site and frequent buses into Cambridge city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamLeylandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you were all well looked after during your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.
kind regards
Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,813 reviews
2.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
432 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £70 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing