We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly and cofortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly and cofortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I am a frequent guest to Holiday Inn hotels and this hotel was amongst the most friendliest I had visited. Check-in was fairly quick and painless and was located in a clean modern hotel lobby/bar area at the front.

My room was well presented and maintained, and the bed was very comfortable. They are soft mattresses which I know some people are not so keen on. I had a friend staying in the room next door and their was largely the same bar a few cob-webs and scuffs on the paintwork.

I stayed for dinner on a Saturday night and it was a carvery, the food was excellent and the portions were more than you could eat - well, self service for you. Breakfast the next morning was very good too, a full choice of England, Continental, and more. The only problem is that towards the end of service, things like pastries and jams can be scarce, so get them when you can. Again, the restaurant staff were very friendly and remembered our faces the following morning too.

The other facilities were good, the pool and gym served their purpose very well and needed after the excesses the night before!

One final positive, which could also be considered a negative is that the hotel is located in a nice scenic location with some large neighbouring lakes but it is bordering a busy dual carriageway and a good distance from Cambridge centre

A tip perhaps is that there is plenty of free parking on some of the suburban roads/avenues about 0.8 to 1 mile out of town, it is certainly easier than walking the full distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel and I am pleased you found the staff to be friendly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    415
    222
    69
    23
See reviews for
187
324
38
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went to this hotel for a hen weekend stay. We most certainly we're not disappointing. It's a very well looked after hotel, wonderful for all ages enclosing children. The parks incorporated around the hotel/ in the centre garden are really lovely!

I most certainly would advise anyone to stay here.

The only fall back is the distance from town, but taxis are called from reception and are around 8-10 pounds which was good for us going in groups :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatSplatryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your Hen weekend stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
394 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed for 1 night for a business trip, in an executive room. The hotel is about 15mins from central Cambridge, with views of grassy paddocks and a lake on one side. Right next to the motorway, so good links if driving. Check-in was quick, then a long walk to our rooms. There is a nice looking indoor swimming pool & Jacuzzi, which I didn't have time to use.

Once in my room, it was generally clean & well presented. Unfortunately the bathroom had hairs on the floor & on the wash top (see pic). The mirrors & everything else looked spotless though.

Good points:

- Large TV
- Choice of pillows in room
- Sofa & coffee table in room
- mini bar & free kit kat
- clothes press, iron, safe & hairdryer
- children's play area

Bad points:

- Tried turning heating up, but sign said it was centrally controlled. Very cold in bed at night.
- Decaf coffee, but no decaf or herbal tea
- Shower temperature warm, but certainly not hot
- Could hear people upstairs walking around
- No plug socket near bedside tables. I use my phone as an alarm clock, so had to charge this on the wall opposite the bed & sit phone on the floor. Not ideal to have to jump out of bed to turn the alarm off in the morning
- Bed was an adequate size, but hotels of similar standard have larger, more comfortable beds

Breakfast provided a good selection of hot food, pastries, fruit & breads, but I would have liked some prunes. There is a pancake making machine which produced fluffy pancakes. The maple syrup bottles were both almost empty & covered in sticky syrup all over. Shame they weren't in another container, or been wiped over beforehand.

On check out I mentioned the bathroom hairs & a colleague told them about an out bulb in her room. The receptionist noted them down & apologised. Overall the stay was fine, just a few things that didn't make it perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalton1skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel, and I am pleased you had a good stay with some minor issues which I have shared with the team here.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Met up with a couple of friends here, the receptionist where very helpful, the room was very clean and although there where 3 of us in one room it was a good size, and the bed was very comfortable.

The down side was we had to eat in the foyer as they had a function in the restaurant when booking in we where told we could still use the restaurant menu but when we went for our evening meal we where then told we had to use the bar menu and so left us with not much of a choice?

Great choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for review, and I am pleased you found the room comfortable. I have shared your feedback with regards to dinner with our Food and Beverage Manager to have more. choice in future in these circumstances.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Popular and busy for business people working in Cambridge , hence the price of £145 with breakfast. Stayed in many Holiday inn hotels and this is the most expensive ive ever paid. The hotel is very good and the staff helpful. Room was big and clean , no problems. My only gripe is I was told on arrival that as I IHG member that the wifi was free but on checking out was told I had to pay. Paying £145 a night wifi should be free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you the staff helpful. Our wifi is free for IHG Platinum and Gold members with other offers following this year.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
547 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Apparently this used to be a Forte Posthouse Hotel, now Holiday Inn. Location is fine for business just off the A14 but it is a 10 min/£10-12 taxi ride from centre of Cambridge. Hotel positives are nice open reception/bar area, modern gym (albeit the equipment is too crammed in) and spa. Negatives are price £145 room only seems high, no free wifi (£5/hour, £10/4 hours or £16/24 hours) and no room safes. My room also had a damaged plug socket and peeling paint on the ceiling.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you liked the open plan aspect of the hotel, With regards to wifi, we offer it Free of charge to our IHG Rewards Platinum and Gold members with further offers coming in the future. I have also reported your room faults with our Maintenance team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I was so impressed with my stay on 2nd March. The reception staff were very helpful (Claire G your so lovely!!)
The family room was huge compared to others I've stayed in! Was very clean and nicely presented! The bath was absolutely baking on the hottest setting (perfect!!). The mattress was fab! Best nights sleep in ages!
The pool area and jacuzzi looked nice, I didn't get time to use it but it certainly looked very clean!!! The bar staff were friendly too! Nice views!
First visit to Cambridge but if/when I return Would definitely stay here again!!
A well managed hotel Daniel!! Lovely!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyjc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review and feedback and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing