We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, with potential - given imaginative ownership”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
North Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant, with potential - given imaginative ownership”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well designed, pleasantly located hotel: quiet in all senses - very good if you are staying for a few days on business.
Terrific if you are staying on a business rate booked by your employer.
Astonishingly less good value if you pay the rates displayed over the check in desk - does anybody?
Find the 'secret path' to the busway stop, and you are in Cambridge fast. But you'll have to find it yourself - reminiscent of Peartree Holiday Inn in Oxford, where you access the Park and Ride by climbing over a fence. But few buses on Sunday.
Pleasant rooms, with attractively battered late 80's Holiday Inn furniture (the famous tray coffee table) - welcome empty ex-minbar fridge, OK pool: all a little low-key: food in the bar rather incinerated, and the least generous carvery I've ever used (find the roast beef!). Breakfast OK, though a 7.30 start is too late for early Cambridge business.
Bar/restaurant staff generally eager to please. Less amiable at main desk. Conference staff outstanding.
Wi-fi rate extortionate: hardly compensated for by being told 'It will be free from later this year!'
All bar beers synthetic or foreign, in a prime craft brewing region.
Pleasant hotel. But a bit shabby - the Premier Inn across the road is much cleaner, brighter and more sensibly run. Wifi is cheaper there too.
This hotel has a potential massively greater than the imagination being brought to running it by its brand at present. Some proper gardening in the courtyards, for example? A better range of TV channels? (Am I the only BBC4 watcher in the world?)
Real beer? A proper cold bar buffet? The managers of Holiday inns ought to get out more....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viatorNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for feedback, I am very pleased you found the hotel to be quiet. I note your feedback to other areas and will discuss within these departments.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    425
    225
    72
    24
See reviews for
191
335
38
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Avoid if you're not a driver!
This place is not ideal if you wish to be close to Cambridge!!..
It is a good 30-35 min bus ride away and another 10 or so mins walk..
Near a highway so don't expect any shops etc near by just fields and roads!!..
The room was just ok, usual non exciting decor.. Bathroom needed a lot of work!
At £154 a night it felt like money well wasted!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for feedback, I am sorry you found the hotel a distance from Cambridge, but we do have a very picturesque village a short walk away. Our bedrooms are having a refurbishment during this summer.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 1 night in this hotel. The facilities, reception area, bar and restaurant are all excellent. Staff very friendly and prompt check in. Room is very spacious but a little dated. Breakfast was very good in the morning. Plenty of options for everyone. Didn't use the gym or pool but a friend did and said it was great. Reasonably priced and not too far out from the town centre. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dubsfordsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the breakfast options. We will be refurbishing some our bedrooms this summer.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed one night here and unfortunately had a couple of issues with the room but since we did nt get to our room til midnight did nt complain until the morning. The staff, however, were very helpful and I m sure would had rectified the problems. It is a large hotel with plenty of free parking and just what you expect from the holiday inn group. The staff both at the reception and the bar were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiB143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you had some issues with your bedroom, but I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
444 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed midweek recently with a large family group and found this to be a very nice hotel to stay in. Being a large hotel it has a few nice facilities like the popular pool, gym and hot tub and quite nice reception areas. The rooms were very nice though quite a long walk from the one entrance - so park your car as close to this as you can.
Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful particularly Martin. Bar staff like Mateus were also very efficient and welcoming.
I was not bowled over by the restaurant however apart from breakfast which was very good. Liked the lady at the egg station who could do you perfect poached eggs. All breakfast options are available.
I found the restaurant staff a bit strange at times - a favourite phrase was -'I can do that for you' which made me feel like they were doing me a favour. Most of the food was adequate without being great. The pork dish I had the first night was very dry though the cabbage was well cooked. Would have benefited by some sort of sauce/reduction. At lunch the following day our party commented on good fish and chips, surprisingly spicey curries and good burgers.
The hash was bland and the accompanying beetroot and apple'slaw' was more like lilac baby food.
Overall I would stay here again as the rooms and staff are so good in general but I might look to eat out in future though being on the outskirts of Cambridge I would need to get in the car.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the entrance and don't be too ambitious with food choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your detailed review and I am pleased that you had a good family stay with us and found our staff to be friendly, helpful, efficient and welcoming.
I look forward to welcoming back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here while visiting Cambridge for a weekend. Very easy to find - just off the a14. Loads of free parking and a lovely large reception (well staffed) to greet you. Great restaurant as well. We stayed on a Saturday and used the restaurant which had a great carvery on the go. Plus as ihg members (holiday inn loyalty card) we got some discount. The breakfast was a bit pricey at £23 for both of us but to be fair if you can eat a lot you get your money's worth as it is an eat all you can Buffett. One lovely discovery was the health centre with reasonably sized pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. There is also a well stocked gym. We went into Cambridge on the Saturday and Sunday and it was only a 15-20 minute drive there or back both days. The rooms had just been decorated and were to the normal good standard of holiday inn and very clean.

Room Tip: One thing to note is that there isn't a lift so if you have a heavy case or a bad back, you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review and I am very pleased that you had a good stay and particularly that you enjoyed the Health club.
I look forward to welcoming back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having read some negative reviews about this hotel, I was a little wary of staying here. I shouldn't have worried. Without doubt, one of the nicest hotels in Cambridge. It's not convenient if you want to see the sights, as it is on the outskirts, but the location is quiet and pleasant. It suited me.
It's a Holiday Inn so you know what you're getting.
Rooms are very clean, well used but comfortable. My bathroom was spacious, clean and did what a bathroom is supposed to do. Bed was comfortable and I slept well.
So far, you might think, an ordinary hotel. But what makes this a bit different is the staff. I found the service was outstanding. All staff were friendly, extremely polite and helpful. They do make this place a little bit special. Everyone was cheerful, and took the time to smile and say hello. I know, you're thinking they've been trained to do that, but it didn't seem like that.
Food was good. Plenty of choice on a varied menu. (Tuesday night is steak night- a bit pricey but there is steak in the standard menu at a reasonable price). Restaurant is stylish, in my view, and not unlike Scandinavian hotels.
Internet was fairly reliable ( but a touch costly). I'm surprised that Holiday Inn hasn't gone down the free Wi-fi route as it is a significant factor for many people without an expenses budget.
It's hard to write a review when a hotel does what you expect, and does it well. I'd stay here again without hesitation. Good room, good food, good night's sleep. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladymags2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your 5 star review and I am very pleased that you had a great stay and found our staff to be friendly and polite and helpful. I am pleased you had a good nights sleep!
I look forward to welcoming back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge again in the future.
Kind regards
Robin Hutton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing