We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not in the city centre so be prepared to travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The hotel is clean, tidy and the staff are helpful. The food is of good quality, the rooms look they've seen better days so could probably do with a refresh. The shower was ok, quite powerful. Bed was relatively comfortable. It is a distance from Cambridge City Centre so you'd have to get a taxi in to town which is about £10, the reception staff were helpful. I picked this hotel because it looked the best the bunch the ones in the actual centre didn't look that great. Internet access in room far too pricey but had to work in room so needed it but service was sporadic and dropped from time to time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2010

We spent one night here, in order to attend a concert at one of the Cambridge colleges.

The hotel was easy to get to, and easy to find, and check-in was very easy. Upon arrival at our room, we found a large, clean, comfortable room with bed, sofa, chairs, desk, etc. What we also found was chilled champagne in an ice bucket, and a box of chocolates, neither of which we had ordered. When we mentioned this at the desk on our way out, it turns out that these had been intended for guests in another room. Sadly, both had vanished by the time we got back in the evening!

We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel, but did try out the swimming pool before breakfast in the morning. The leisure centre (which also included a multi-gym, a dance studio, and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna around the poolside) was excellent, clean, with towels provided, and we enjoyed a lovely swim.

Breakfast was very busy, with service consequently slow, however it was the usual Holiday Inn fare: a wide selection of cereals, an excellent selection of full English fare, and various breads, fruit, cheeses, confections, toast, etc. A very filling breakfast which left us requiring no lunch.

The only real downside to our stay was the 20 minute wait to check out, only for reception to attempt to take more than twice the agreed fee for the room, even though the agreed rate had been pre-paid. I left a telephone number and, almost 36 hours later, have yet to receive the promised telephone call to confirm the checkout! A great shame, as otherwise it was a very comfortable, quiet hotel, ideally situated 10 minutes drive from the centre of Cambridge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Looking at this hotel's location right next to the busy A14 you might think it would be noisy. However we were pleasantly surprised to be given a room at the back of the hotel with NO TRAFFIC NOISE at all. We were in a large group but the service in the restuarant was adequate and our only complaint was in the bar where one person struggled to serve so there were long waits and the price of the drinks when you got it was very high!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Hotel is located in a pleasant quiet area. Our room was roomy, clean and the bed very comfortable. The sound proofing was poor.
Restaurant was fairly good and the staff friendly and efficient.
We had to use the Internet connection for an emergency and it was slow and overpriced.

Sunday there was no heating in the Bar / Lobby area. There was a Notice telling us it would be mended asap. The Restaurant was closed in the evening, the one night we wanted to eat in. However we found a Cinema Complex about 15 minutes drive away with several places to eat.

Monday evening the bar lobby was still very cold. On asking, told the heating was mended but would take time to heat up. Fair enough but maybe a further Notice would have been helpful! We put a coat on and it was not so bad.. Bar meal was very good. The Staff must have been very cold but to their credit were cheerful and friendly.

We got the Park and Ride into the City a few times. The buses go about every 15 minutes and we were happy with the service.

All in all we enjoyed our stay but we paid in advance a special rate. If we had paid the full price we would not have been quite so tolerant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Never book here. My husband accompanied my son to his Cambridge interview which was early the following morning so I paid in advance for a room for the two of them. I called the morning of the stay to discuss some dietary arrangements but when my husband turned up later that evening the hotel had given his room away. This was very stressful and my husband and son had to be given alternative accomodation 20 minutes away. It was late at night, exhausting and very stressful. We later learnt that this is common practise!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Susana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Three of us (all adults) stayed here for two night between Christmas and New Years, as we re-organised between parties and families. The hotel is close to major roads serving Cambridge and the surrounding area, and we had no difficulty in locating the site but the hotel is well set back from the major roads and is quiet at night.

The room - a twin double - was spacious and comfortable, although housekeeping had only left towels, toiletries, tea/coffee service and sundries suitable for two adults staying although the room can accommodate four and was booked for three. A trip to reception produced no results and a further phone call was required before sufficient supplies were made available.

Breakfast service was extended during our stay, which was much appreciated and a later check out was also easily arranged, enabling us to relax and make the most of our stay.

The health club at the hotel was reasonably equipped and seemed well maintained, the pool has a slightly irregular shape, but a section was marked off to differentiate between 'leisure users' and 'swimmers' making shared use of the pool viable.

Some poor service was experienced at breakfast, with a member of staff refusing to even acknowledge guest requests, never mind assist with them - detailed feedback on this has been submitted to the hotel and we await a reply.

Internet Access was available - as with the rest of this chain - for a charge, £15 per day is too steep for our tastes, and we would rather a lower and more realistic price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Looks like any other Holiday Inn used to look 20 years ago - obviouasly hasn't had a cent spent on it in ages.

Staff were overworked (checkout took forever) and not very knowledgable (given the smell of the restaurant we quickly decided to go out for dinner and they were incapable of making any decent recommendations).

Hotel smelled horrid in the Lobby, the room seemed dirty (althugh that might have been the age)

Location is by a highway on the outskirts of town (impossible if you don't have a car - and even if you do the Carpark is a good150 metres from the entrance to the hotel).

To add to the insult I was paying £120 pounds for the dump - all of Cambridge was, as is often the case, full so I suppose they felt they could charge as much as they liked, never renovate or clean the lace and not sufficiently staff it.

Defenitely the last time I stay in a Holiday Inn in the UK.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,425 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £69 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing