We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
312
499
263
89
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
499
263
89
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roompancake machineswimming poolleisure facilitiestwo double bedshealth clubcity centregood sizeplenty of parkingsteam roompark and ridefamily roompublic areasminute drivereception staffweekend breakquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
1,093 - 1,098 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The hotel is clean, tidy and the staff are helpful. The food is of good quality, the rooms look they've seen better days so could probably do with a refresh. The shower was ok, quite powerful. Bed was relatively comfortable. It is a distance from Cambridge City Centre so you'd have to get a taxi in to town which is about £10, the reception staff were helpful. I picked this hotel because it looked the best the bunch the ones in the actual centre didn't look that great. Internet access in room far too pricey but had to work in room so needed it but service was sporadic and dropped from time to time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We spent one night here, in order to attend a concert at one of the Cambridge colleges.

The hotel was easy to get to, and easy to find, and check-in was very easy. Upon arrival at our room, we found a large, clean, comfortable room with bed, sofa, chairs, desk, etc. What we also found was chilled champagne in an ice bucket, and a box of chocolates, neither of which we had ordered. When we mentioned this at the desk on our way out, it turns out that these had been intended for guests in another room. Sadly, both had vanished by the time we got back in the evening!

We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel, but did try out the swimming pool before breakfast in the morning. The leisure centre (which also included a multi-gym, a dance studio, and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna around the poolside) was excellent, clean, with towels provided, and we enjoyed a lovely swim.

Breakfast was very busy, with service consequently slow, however it was the usual Holiday Inn fare: a wide selection of cereals, an excellent selection of full English fare, and various breads, fruit, cheeses, confections, toast, etc. A very filling breakfast which left us requiring no lunch.

The only real downside to our stay was the 20 minute wait to check out, only for reception to attempt to take more than twice the agreed fee for the room, even though the agreed rate had been pre-paid. I left a telephone number and, almost 36 hours later, have yet to receive the promised telephone call to confirm the checkout! A great shame, as otherwise it was a very comfortable, quiet hotel, ideally situated 10 minutes drive from the centre of Cambridge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Looking at this hotel's location right next to the busy A14 you might think it would be noisy. However we were pleasantly surprised to be given a room at the back of the hotel with NO TRAFFIC NOISE at all. We were in a large group but the service in the restuarant was adequate and our only complaint was in the bar where one person struggled to serve so there were long waits and the price of the drinks when you got it was very high!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Hotel is located in a pleasant quiet area. Our room was roomy, clean and the bed very comfortable. The sound proofing was poor.
Restaurant was fairly good and the staff friendly and efficient.
We had to use the Internet connection for an emergency and it was slow and overpriced.

Sunday there was no heating in the Bar / Lobby area. There was a Notice telling us it would be mended asap. The Restaurant was closed in the evening, the one night we wanted to eat in. However we found a Cinema Complex about 15 minutes drive away with several places to eat.

Monday evening the bar lobby was still very cold. On asking, told the heating was mended but would take time to heat up. Fair enough but maybe a further Notice would have been helpful! We put a coat on and it was not so bad.. Bar meal was very good. The Staff must have been very cold but to their credit were cheerful and friendly.

We got the Park and Ride into the City a few times. The buses go about every 15 minutes and we were happy with the service.

All in all we enjoyed our stay but we paid in advance a special rate. If we had paid the full price we would not have been quite so tolerant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Never book here. My husband accompanied my son to his Cambridge interview which was early the following morning so I paid in advance for a room for the two of them. I called the morning of the stay to discuss some dietary arrangements but when my husband turned up later that evening the hotel had given his room away. This was very stressful and my husband and son had to be given alternative accomodation 20 minutes away. It was late at night, exhausting and very stressful. We later learnt that this is common practise!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Susana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews