We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
319
505
266
90
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
505
266
90
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room pancake machine swimming pool leisure facilities two double beds health club city centre good size plenty of parking steam room park and ride family room public areas minute drive reception staff weekend break quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed in an executive room which was reasonably large, clean and comfortable. The decor was modern with Japanese style screens instead of curtains which really made sleeping easy.

However what really let the place down was a complete lack of attention to detail. The mini bar was locked (no key provided), the shower didn't work at all during the evening (strangely it was fine the following morning), the tv had a habit of switching itself off and on closer inspection the remote control batteries were held in place by duck tape. I wanted some information regarding check out time and breakfast but there was no hotel information pack to be found anywhere.....By the end of our one night stay I was just plain irritated!

I can't tell whether this was just a one off but I wouldn't risk booking again to find out!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The hotel was amazing. When i mean ignorance i mean total seclusion from the road or the inner suburbs of the city. Don't get me wrong, cambridge is a great place, but when you're in a hotel you want to be able to be at the most only have to hear the guests down the corridor, not the M80 that runs beside the wall, like we've seen at other holiday inns. This hotel was an exeptional, quiet, clean,honest etc.
We particulary wanted full use of the pool/spa facilities-which are amazingly clean and well kept. Everything was working and even when we lost a towel they gave us two and an apology-very good staff and service too.

we were staying half board for two nights and so we had breakfast in the morning at the junction restaurant{holiday inns own restaurant branding} within the hotel, The food was perfect,it was clean and was a buffet style yet the food was fresh and served with a smile and passion, exactly what i expected from a 5 star hotel. We would have stayed half-board, but from experience{staying 3-4 times} the evening meals and food after 2:30pm is quite expensive, but good quality. onsite car parking good,secure easy to reach.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JK1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Just back from 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Cambridge. We had an executive room at an excellent price. Also gym/pool/ free for residents. Dinner in the hotel was good as was the service. It was only half full when we stayed so maybe we were lucky. Breakfast disappointing, tasteless cooked food and cheap bread.

The executive block is located quite a long walk from the reception/restaurant area which could be a problem for those who are not too mobile. Room was fine although very over-heated and the pillows were hard as stones. Although not located in town it was only 10 mins to the city centre by taxi.

Be warned about the mini bar, it is computerised so if you move anything around the computer will assume you have drunk something and charge you for it!

City centre hotels can charge £15 a day for parking and the Holiday Inn has free parking although by the time you take a taxi into town and then back again it works out the same.

Our check out was very good. Bill was under the door on our final day, you sign off a card if you agree with the total and just hand it over to the receptionist as you leave - no fuss, no wait.

If you can get the price we got I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunrise_sigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The hotel is clean, tidy and the staff are helpful. The food is of good quality, the rooms look they've seen better days so could probably do with a refresh. The shower was ok, quite powerful. Bed was relatively comfortable. It is a distance from Cambridge City Centre so you'd have to get a taxi in to town which is about £10, the reception staff were helpful. I picked this hotel because it looked the best the bunch the ones in the actual centre didn't look that great. Internet access in room far too pricey but had to work in room so needed it but service was sporadic and dropped from time to time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We spent one night here, in order to attend a concert at one of the Cambridge colleges.

The hotel was easy to get to, and easy to find, and check-in was very easy. Upon arrival at our room, we found a large, clean, comfortable room with bed, sofa, chairs, desk, etc. What we also found was chilled champagne in an ice bucket, and a box of chocolates, neither of which we had ordered. When we mentioned this at the desk on our way out, it turns out that these had been intended for guests in another room. Sadly, both had vanished by the time we got back in the evening!

We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel, but did try out the swimming pool before breakfast in the morning. The leisure centre (which also included a multi-gym, a dance studio, and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna around the poolside) was excellent, clean, with towels provided, and we enjoyed a lovely swim.

Breakfast was very busy, with service consequently slow, however it was the usual Holiday Inn fare: a wide selection of cereals, an excellent selection of full English fare, and various breads, fruit, cheeses, confections, toast, etc. A very filling breakfast which left us requiring no lunch.

The only real downside to our stay was the 20 minute wait to check out, only for reception to attempt to take more than twice the agreed fee for the room, even though the agreed rate had been pre-paid. I left a telephone number and, almost 36 hours later, have yet to receive the promised telephone call to confirm the checkout! A great shame, as otherwise it was a very comfortable, quiet hotel, ideally situated 10 minutes drive from the centre of Cambridge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews