We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Stayed here for one evening over the May Bank Holiday weekend. This was a much better stay than expected. The reception was welcoming and the public areas of the hotel are big and of a good standard. Well spread out and despite the hotel being busy, there was always plenty of space. The rooms were very large, two double beds with sofa and armchair and a little living area, beds comfortable and good quality linens. Bathrooms pretty good. Decent bar, nice and well used pool, an area for children and a very good breakfast. Thought the stay represented very decent value for money and the only draw-bak is the location is ten minutes out of the City Centre, but as it was considerably cheaper than staying in the city centre, the benefits more than compensated for this.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    441
    230
    75
    27
See reviews for
199
347
39
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The public areas were lovely but the attention to detail in the rooms really let the hotel down.
You have to go outside to get to the rooms and there are no lifts. As a lone female traveller I was left to hoist my case upstairs alone. In my room the heating did not work and the security lock was broken.
The decor is nice but do not even bother to order room service. I travel a lot for work and as such have realistic room service expectations but my first order did not resemble what was on the menu. This was returned and the next order was a sandwich with stale bread. I called the manager who came and agreed that this should never have been served. I then ordered something else, which was fine but a duplicate was then delivered 90 minutes later when I was in bed and the waiter got cross when I said it wasn't mine. Needless to say all the meals were on my bill the next day!
When I pointed out the issues I has the manangement team gave them their full attention but overall this stay was a disaster and I will give this terrible hotel a miss in the future. I suggest that you do the same!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Be warned that the advertised "WiFi" is NOT WiFi, but rather cable internet. This means that you have to sit up at a little desk facing a wall to use your computer. The connection fluctuates in and out - very frustrating. Worst of all, the connection costs fifteen pounds every 24 hours - a rip off.

As well, we very nearly had heart attacks when suddenly a sharp screaming piercing noise suddenly blasted through the building mid-morning. This happened twice in five minutes. I phone the desk and was told that "we always have an alarm drill every Monday morning". No warning, no apology. Unacceptable.

No elevators, and a long walk with lots of stairs to the rooms. Asked for assistance to carry heavy bags, and they sent a little old lady who then had to go and fetch someone else.

Breakfast is a take-it-or-leave-it buffet at fifteen pounds. I was not hungry and did not want to spent the money and so asked if I could order off the bar menu - just a sandwich. You would have thought I was plotting to bomb Parliament - the manager came over to say that I could not do so, and then changed his mind. A lot of embarrassing fuss. Unlike most hotels in the U.K., breakfast is NOT included in the room rate. By the time you have paid for the room, plus the exorbitant WiFi, plus breakfast it is not at all the reasonable rate that it first appears to be.

Wanted to eat dinner at the hotel, but was told it was a set 3-course meal - again take it or leave it; no options. And expensive.

It appears that the hotel runs in such a way as to be convenient for the staff, with little regard for the customer. Not impressed. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Booked up for a weekend away with friends (3 in a room) for 1 night only £80, so great value exc breakfast, 10.95 for breakfast if you pay on the day. Clean rooms, good standard - corporate but quite large - double room with bed settee - which was very uncomfortable with a pretty thin duvet! Mini bar (no contents!) and tea/coffee etc so had everything you would need. Pool, Jacuzzi and 2 beauty rooms - didn't use book but looked ok. Taxi from the station was £15 longer that I had expected and £8 into the town centre of cambridge. Quiet location in the middle of the field, 2 floors with no lifts. Restaurant/Bar. Had breakfast good service - buffet style and good value for 10.95. Free parking and easy to book a taxi into town, the staff were all very friendly so would recommend for 1/2 nights but did lack atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecity25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed here for the May Bank Holiday for 2 nights with our 2 daughters aged 9 and 4. I got a real bagain £35 per night for a family room on the Holiday Inn website. Also I had booked it for March and my daughter had chicken pox and it stated you could not change it as was a prepaid offer, I rang Central Reservations and they wanted £70 to change it, so I then rang the hotel direct and they changed it for nothing, honored the price and let me change it to the Bank Holiday weekend, which I really appreciated. Breakfast is £10.95 each and children under 12 years are eat free, that even applies in the evening in the hotel restaurant. The food is great, you can not fault it, too much really! The only complaint I have is a bottle of wine was £23, which I thought was very expensive, even for a hotel. The hotel is a bit tired and our room was a bit tatty, but clean, fresh towels each day, tea and coffee and for what I paid I couldn't complain, it was a big room, two double beds and we looked out on to horses in the field. Cambridge City centre is 10 mins away in the car and really easy to get to, there is a park and ride down the road from the hotel as well. The pool was really warm, with a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and there is a fully equipped gym, which you have full use of during your stay There is also a beauty salon and all the staff in the leisure area were really friendly. Every member of staff was polite and the waiting staff at breakfast were really helpful and also in the evening. If you come out of the hotel and turn right there is a village called Histon, which has about 5 pubs, a chinese restaurant (which is excellent), Indian, Tesco Express and a Co-op. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I stayed here with work colleagues. It was good value for a hotel in Cambridge, although a little out af the way and you need to get taxis into Cambridge. It does have free parking though.
The place is looking very tired. The rooms are tatty, the towels were thread bare, pillows small and uncomfortable. The rooms were clean though.
My main gripe would be that as residents, we were unable to get a drink after 11pm. In fact they closed the bar and threw us out! So don't stay here if you want a night cap!
Breakfast was ok - usual buffet style
There are definitely better hotels in Cambridge, but they do cost more money. So I suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed in an executive room which was reasonably large, clean and comfortable. The decor was modern with Japanese style screens instead of curtains which really made sleeping easy.

However what really let the place down was a complete lack of attention to detail. The mini bar was locked (no key provided), the shower didn't work at all during the evening (strangely it was fine the following morning), the tv had a habit of switching itself off and on closer inspection the remote control batteries were held in place by duck tape. I wanted some information regarding check out time and breakfast but there was no hotel information pack to be found anywhere.....By the end of our one night stay I was just plain irritated!

I can't tell whether this was just a one off but I wouldn't risk booking again to find out!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,783 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing