We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slowest service in east anglia!”
Review of The Mill

The Mill
Ranked #105 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Mill Pub in Cambridge is situated in an extremely picturesque location in central Cambridge overlooking the river Cam and its punting stations, The Mill is a delightfully traditional pub oozing character and charm. You will find a delicious offer of fresh food alongside a very impressive range of local cask beers. Outside is the Mill Pond and Sheeps Green alongside the Cam, where you can take food and drinks to relax and enjoy this tranquil, typically English setting. This historical pub has a warm and cosy atmosphere - it is perfect spot to meet with friends, enjoy a delicious meal or just relax with a quiet pint Surely one of the best pubs in Cambridge
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“slowest service in east anglia!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It took 45 minutes from arriving in the pub at about 1350, to receiving the sandwiches we'd ordered.They were o.k., but nothing special at £5-6 each.Whilst we were there one of the totally inadequate staff was outside enjoying a fag with her boyfriend.I'll go to the Anchor next time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at The Mill, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for coming to The Mill and writing a review. I am sorry that you had to wait so long for your meals. This is not the norm and we hope if you visit again you will find an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    113
    33
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little gem by the river”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Whilst staying at the Hilton Doubletree nearby we thought we would pop in for an early drink and dinner. There was a friendly welcome and the home cooked meals were tasty and generous in size. Great value for money, it was two hearty meals for £20 from the daily specials board. Would certainly visit again...highly recommended!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheClarkes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas lunch”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I'd never eaten at the Mill before, and my work's Christmas party was scheduled to be here. I was very pleasantly surprised that the service was quick and friendly, the meal was served in a timely way, the price was very reasonable, and wow, it was tasty and very generous in portion size. I recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ab659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at The Mill, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we have had a great time meeting new people this Christmas. I'm glad your first visit was special. Hope to see you back in soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
803 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Better this time”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I've written reviews of eating in this pub before - none of them very good. But this time the service was timely, the food was good quality pub food (I had some excellent fish and chips), and the beer - as always - was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlderGuy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Manager at The Mill, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you keep coming back for our Fish & Chips. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“So slow. Hour plus and still no food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

So slow. I can't believe how slow this was. Not sure if after all this time it's even worth it. Please get more staff. It's not even that busy here

Helpful?
Thank Zmte055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, General Manager at The Mill, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

I can only say I'm sincerely sorry for your experience here at The Mill. Sometimes there can be a wait on food as we have such a tiny kitchen and all food is cooked, fresh, to order however the wait in your case is unacceptable. Normally any wait time is communicated to the customer and I'm sorry to see this was not done in your case, particularly as it was excessive.

I'd like to say this is not the usual experience of our customers so please let me know if you plan to be in the area again. I'd like the opportunity to make it up to you.

Regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing