We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wide range of beers; really good Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maypole Public House

Maypole Public House
Ranked #215 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wide range of beers; really good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I went back to the Maypole recently 14 years after moving away from Cambridge. Back then it was the closest thing I had to a regular on the basis that the lasagne was excellent and the beer decent.

Even now, I still think it's the best lasagne I've ever had and I had a friend who used to come here 4 times a week for the pasta dishes. It's not fine dining and it's not Cambridge's most atmospheric pub, but it's certainly worth a visit.

On the beer front, things have improved from an already decent standard. I went for some excellent weissbier (my favourite) as well as an impressive array of cask ales (with an award from CAMRA to prove it). There's also a few cocktails - my partner went for the thriller with vanilla - which was refreshing in a mojito-esque way. She went for a second one, so it must have been OK.

So if you're passing through Cambridge, give the tourist traps in the centre a miss and grab yourself some decent grub and a your favourite drink here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a pub !!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you like real ale and your in cambridge you must go to this pub. The choice of beers is fantastic both on the pumps and by the bottle. They do food but I was here long enough to try it but iy=t looked good. Typical british reak ale pub with pleasant landlord of barman not sure who served us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Spock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
279 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Best place in Cambridge for guest ales -- good food, too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Maypole has a large, varied, and roasting selection of guest ales on draught -- maybe 20 at a time? If you like to sample and discuss interesting beers, this is the place for you. The food is good, too: traditional pub food plus Sicilian specialties like (very good) meatballs, prepared by the 3rd generation family who run the place. They have very reasonably priced small dishes, sort of pub tapas, and two or three will make a good meal. I gather the place can get crowded and noisy in the evenings, so if that's what you want, go then. For my part, I prefer lunch or mid-afternoon, when you can nurse a pint(or a couple of different half-pints), eat a leisurely pizza, and talk with your friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Local run family pub with an excellent selection of beers, the homemade lasagne was huge and delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandersalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top-Quality Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Something of a Cambridge institution. Excellent food (quite the Italian theme) good selection of beers. Staff know their stuff too. Recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevejg1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maypole Public House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Maypole Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing