We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below par” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sorrento Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Below par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

-Room ok
-Shower poor.
-Breakfast very poor; single rasher of bacon and one very, very cheap sausage.
-Staff helpful
-Expensive for what you get. £125 per night for a double room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    31
    31
    23
    11
See reviews for
10
22
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel was perfect for my needs. The room was spotless and the service just great. I had a meal in the restaurant and it was very tasty indeed as was breakfast. It's a good place to stay for a visit to Cambridge at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Upon first entering the room the a stuffy smell of not being aired hit you, time to open all the windows for four hours while we went into town. The wallpaper is peeling, scuff marks abound even on the ceiling about the warddrobe! The new card key lock has been forced into the door leaving large gaps around it.
Flushing the toilet produces an amusing fountain from the bath's plug hole. The shower head was dumped in the bath putting it back into the wall clip reveals why, it constantly drips into the bath the only way to stop the noise is to put it back in the bath. All the fitments in the bathroom saw better days many years ago, the bathroom floor is peeling back and the wooden bath panel is split and starting to rot. The shower, as others mention, is lukewarm and has no pressure. The paint's peeling on the coving and the floor looks grubby, it isn't though.
On a plus, this room cost £103 which had to be paid on arrival, the bed linen and towels were very clean and fresh.
Breakfast was beans, a rasher of bacon, possibly two mushrooms, egg, tomato and plastic sausage. Out of the four of us I was unlucky and had two hairs in mine.
The staff we met were friendly and tried to be helpful.
Won't use it again.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

World traveller
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We paid £103 for a double room that was truthfully only worth about £45 for the night. Instead of a double bed, it turned out to have two wornout single mattresses pushed together that sloped towards each other. The walls of the hotel are paper thin, so we heard everything next door and above us. It was 6 degrees C in the morning but they didn't turn on the central heating. The bedroom was tiny, and as one other reviewer mentioned, you have to push the chair right under the table in order to get past.There was only room for a sitzbath in the bathroom, which we had to use because there was no hot water from the shower. The internet in only available in the lobby and it took so long for each page to load (3-5 minutes) that we gave up on it. Breakfast was included in the room rate but was very meagre.

The only good thing about the hotel was that there was no street noise outside our room, and there was a car park at the back for our car, but this was not enough to make up for all the other shortcomings. There was a queue at checkout, and not once did the hotel staff ask any of the guests if they had enjoyed their stay. I guess they knew what the answer would be.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packedpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton-on-tees
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights, with my wife, while visiting my sister. Breakfasts had minimum choice for cold cerials, but full english was acceptable. Solitory waitess did a good job considering, but was unable to keep on top of clearing the used tables. Bedroom and communal areas shabby with fading decorations and dirty carpets. Shower often ran cold - wake up call to never return! Mr & Mrs Teather

Room Tip: Go to the Travelodge nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

I was booked into this hotel for a conference. The rest of the party were at the University Arms. I wonder if they realised how fortunate they were. It is a characterless concrete building with no grounds at all and a building site behind. The smell of a barbershop assails you as you walk in. My room was clearly some kind of store room in a previous incarnation. The room itself was so small that there was no room for anything except a double bed. The bathroom was OK and there was even a small sauna adjacent which was a bit random. The window looked out on to the trade entrance to the hotel so I had to keep the curtain shut and was woken at about 6.30 each morning with people noisily arriving with deliveries etc. The breakfast was - to be honest - pretty poor. The "orange juice" was one of those awful artifical sweet bright orange industrial concoctions which looked and tested like brake fluid. Surely a hotel can afford real orange jiuce!?!?
The good old fry up was again rather average. The sausage was one of those vile pale grey-pink objects beloved of the death vans that frequent fairgrounds, and was equally as poisonous. This was an entry-level ultra cheap "banger" probably made of all the bits of animals that no one else will use, ground up to a mush so you can't tell what's in it. Simply not good enough for an expensive hotel. And it was sort of emblematic of the whole place. I came away with a sense that no one really gave a damn. The decor / service and food all sounted "We don't care". In a town stuffed with hotels this is really not good enough and I will never return here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelondonsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed 1 night thankfully, i appreciated being put up at short notice but the pillows were dreadfully hard and myself and one of my sons couldn't sleep and it badly affected the next days touring, we didn't eat here as it is close to the town centre, the hotel is well situated and close to a bus stop with afrequent service to cambridge centre,I would probably only stay again if i was desperate and i would bring my own pillows.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
0.8 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#29 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Hotel

Property: Sorrento Hotel
Address: 196 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge CB1 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorrento Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing