We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sorrento Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Well, I am sure that the staff are very well intentioned. The service is good and friendly but they are let down by the premises and the appalling smell of damp as one enters from the car park.
Our second visit - it is booked for us. The first time we had the room in the photo which also has a large jacuzzi bath . . . great fun . . . this time we had a dire pokey little room with a window on to the alley from the car park. Breakfast is OK. I am concerned about the cleanliness and certainly put off by the other reviews referring to hair. I just don't think their hearts are in it. Great deli across the road and an award winning chippie - or so it says! Strongly advise the mini pastries from the deli.

Room Tip: Ask for the bath - but the room is still small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    31
    31
    23
    11
See reviews for
10
22
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

On the outside the hotel looks quite nice....this is where the positives end.
- Hair in my cereal
- Hair in my orange juice?!?
- Table clothes ALL dirty
- Bed not cleaned properly
- Shower AND bath did not work
- Staff did not seem to care
....incredible considering the price you pay per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have recently stayed here while on business.the hotel was booked for me for 4 nights, I stayed for just the 1, that was enough for me.
The rooms are extremely tired, they stink, they are small and the bathroom is very small with an inadequate dribbling shower.the bin wasn't emptied and still had the previous occupants rubbish in it. The walls are paper thin, allowing you to hear pretty much everything.
Now onto the restaurant, which to look at, looks quite clean and nice. Food however is not so clean and nice. I ordered salmon with veg, and my colleague ordered chicken with veg. The salmon came to the table absolutely swimming in what can only be described as yellow water. I gave it a chance, only because I was very hungry. After cutting in I discovered a 4 inch hair nestled underneath my dinner. This was extracted from my dinner and my knife and fork wanted no more part with this salmon. My colleague also found a hair on his chicken, this time far shorter of about 1 inch, but of the curly variety.
This hotel is terrible, and it is not cheap to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasituk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

We went as a couple with CEN vouchers 2 courses for £10 deal. 1s visit as I was not otherwise aware there was a walk in resteraunt in the hotel. The eating area is nice enough if not a tad run down, ceiling tiles had stains so must admit was not too hopeful of good experience especially as it was a deal so often worried would not get preferential treatment. Glad to say fears were unfounded. Good quality Italian food was served with a smile. Would return, even without deal.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I've stayed in pretty much every hotel in Cambridge over the years, as my company has its headquarters there. That said, they don't seem great at finding hotel deals and it was with dismay I tried to find a hotel within my £78 allowance. Sad that this should be the guiding factor, but hey, perhaps there are other people in the same boat as me, even if not the same hotel!

So off to the Sorrento at £78 for a single. I read what others thought of it and didn't expect much, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It's small (30 bedrooms), clean and friendly, and there's ample parking outside.

There's also a pub over the road, a fish and chip shop and a couple of take-aways, all of which looked ok, but you wouldn't need them anyway as the hotel restaurant is good value and the food is pleasant too, fresh and nicely cooked. They do a set meal for £16 (£18 if you want a pudding!) and even with a couple of glasses of wine it was only £25. All very pleasant and quite a nice choice.

I had a single room with a large single bed and had a good night's sleep. I couldn't get the TV to work but that was probably me being too bleary eyed in the morning.

So, why have I given this an excellent, when I've been much less generous in my view of many other Cambridge hotels? Well it's honest and you get good value for the money. After all, it's less than half the price of the City Centre hotels - Cambridge seems to be going through a boom time right now and you can pay £200 without any difficulty.

Here's a quick summary:

Is it in the centre of town? No, it's just over a mile away, but you could walk in on a sunny day, or the bus stops outside.

Is it luxurious? Not in the way that some of the 4* hotels in town are, but it's clean and relaxed and you can park for free.

Do you get posh toiletries? They're not posh, but there's plenty of them. There isn't any aircon, but there is a safe in the room.

Excellent? Yes, for this price and this level of provision in Cambridge. BUT, if you want a big corporate with a gym, a bar full of sales reps that charge £5 for a pint, a menu designed by city gastronomiques in London, and a car park at £20 per day, best not to stop here as none of those things apply!

Go on - give it a try!

Room Tip: Room 126 has a good size bed for a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

-Room ok
-Shower poor.
-Breakfast very poor; single rasher of bacon and one very, very cheap sausage.
-Staff helpful
-Expensive for what you get. £125 per night for a double room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel was perfect for my needs. The room was spotless and the service just great. I had a meal in the restaurant and it was very tasty indeed as was breakfast. It's a good place to stay for a visit to Cambridge at reasonable rates.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
0.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.8 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Hotel

Property: Sorrento Hotel
Address: 196 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge CB1 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorrento Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing