We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break to Visit Family”
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sorrento Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short Break to Visit Family”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I came to Cambridge for a short break to visit some family. I stayed at the Sorrento Hotel through family reccomendation, because it was very close to my relatives home and had easy links for us to the city centre.
Upon arrival, the staff were pleasant and welcoming. Having only paid for a single room, I was actually upgraded to a double when checked in.
I stayed in a nice, fresh room, which looked to be newly decorated and had all neccesary amenities.
Breakfast was good, I had a full english before heading into Cambridge city centre.
We did have dinner in the restaurant one night, myself and the family. Good meal, decently priced with nice atmosphere and service.

Another plus was the free wifi, which most hotels usually charge for.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sSamsStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    34
    34
    23
    11
See reviews for
11
25
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We had a special 100th birthday celebration at the Sorrento, and the staff couldn't have done enough for us!!

The buffet was really great with lots of savouries and cakes on offer, and the layout was exceptional with the table and dance floor.

The drinks were a little hit and miss; the bottles of coke were flat, the wine was sometimes of a poor taste, whilst the stella was great in proper glasses, and the Carlsberg was odd tasting.

The staff were fantstic, and we all had a great time!

Just sort the bar out and a defo 5 out of 5!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DixieDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I was booked into this hotel by my company and i had never stayed at the sorrento before. I was happy with my room having a kingsize double bed and a large bath with free internet. i was also happy with the free car park and the restaurant which i Must say served great italian food. I would be happy to stay at the sorrento again. Family run and Staff really nice and well presented.

Room Tip: Give the restaurant a try
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I booked this hotel in advance as I had a meeting in Cambridge. I went with with my wife to make a weekend of it. I am glad I did as both the Sorrento and Cambridge are fantastic. I don't agree with some of the reviews as I had a nice modern room, great Italian food served with a smile. The staff really seem to care and were very helpful. I would very much like to return to Cambridge and I will without question sta at the Sorrento again. Just one thing Cambridge is expensive so be prepared for expensive drinks especially in the city.

Room Tip: ask for a large room or the deluxe for a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giovanni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We visited this hotel for a meal on the £10 meal deal from the CEN. As soon as we walked in from the car park we noticed how scuffy the entrance looked. It looked like a dumping ground for things.The restaurant was chilly and it also seemed to be a dumping ground for things including a BBQ in the corner. The decoration was dated and the ceiling tiles stained. Half the blinds in the conservatory were pulled up and half pulled down!!
The food was poor, not very hot, and not much of it. But worse was too come. The man behind the bar who should have been doing our bill, didn't seem to be fully awake and had got all the bills muddled up. After waiting for about 10 minutes,and asking the waitress twice we went to the bar ourselves and helped him sort out ours!!! A dated overpriced(if you pay full price, we didn't thank goodness) hotel. Obviously seen better days and still run by the same family. They need some new staff in to bring a bit of life it to and somee fresh ideas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I attended a large family gathering recetnly and was very impressed with the Sorrento.

The staff were welcoming and very efficient. The bar and waiter service was particularly slick. The food portions were generous and delicious.

I would thoroughly recommend the venue for a large reception/family gathering. Members of the family that stayed at the hotel were very positive about the rooms, amenities and the quality of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed for two nights at this hotel in the summer of 2012. It was very hot at the time and was unbearably hot in the room as there is no air conditioning. I was kept awake half the night by what sounded like the noise of a flushing toilet. There must have been water pipes in the wall or under the floorboards that were really noisy. I did not enjoy the breakfast as the sausage tasted liked it was made of salt! I would not go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaldyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
2.1 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Hotel

Property: Sorrento Hotel
Address: 196 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge CB1 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorrento Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing