We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like stepping back in time....”
Review of Sorrento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sorrento Hotel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time....”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel time forgot, shabby outdated and tatty. Very clean and fabulous staff but definitely not worth the £125 price tag. Find yourself a nice b&b instead. The breakfast was very good didn't try evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebrookeKatenChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    32
    23
    11
See reviews for
10
23
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here overnight and was greeted by cheerful receptionist who didn't mind re-doing my electronic card again after didn't work.
The room itself appeared to be really dated in decor although I suspect this was new as good condition. There was a odour within the room and corridors whilst not pleasant couldn't really associate it with anything specific. The bath room had half a bath which it'd not seen before and the water pressure in the shower appeared to be on vacation too.
I didn't try the restaurant so can't comment.
The bed was extremely comfy but was let down by thin walls to the side and above ( clear lack of zzzzzzzz) and could hear other guests quite clearly.
Breakfast good and taxi arrived to take me away really quickly.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moretonhampsteadmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

lovely hotel and service. clean and tidy place. breakfast was yummy. lovely staff. ample parking. good position from station. would definitely stay again! stayed here alone as there was an issue with our holiday inn express booking. the hotel took my booking swiftly and made me feel confident that all was well. you can choose what you want for breakfast and there is ample coffee and juice and cereal for you to choose from. clean bathroom and safe and toiletries in room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel was amazing - I was so sad that I was only in Cambridge for the night! The staff were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make my stay great - they even gave me breakfast after they had finished serving! The room was amazing - I got a single room, but either got upgraded or all their single rooms are this big - because I had a massive queen size bed and quite a big room with lots of space. Thank you so much Sorrento Hotel - would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel might be 3 star but I could rate more than 5 star due to my experience in this hotel. The Manager and Staff were so helpful to us. My niece got married yesterday and When the manager found it out, he did offer the best room in the hotel for the bride to use without any additional charges. The Manager/Owner do care for his guests and I would highly recommend Sorrento Cambridge Hotel to everyone. Book direct to the hotel and they are very helpful to everyone. I will definitely stay in this hotel again. Thank you so much Sorrento. Mrs Niblett

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyLabonete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Myself and my husband traveled up to Cambridge over the Easter holiday to visit our daughter, who's currently studying, and take her home for the Easter weekend.
We stayed a few nights at this hotel and had some great days out, in and around the city, never really having had the time before to look around.

Great shopping in the center, car parking is very expensive though.
We enjoyed the hotel, the staff being very friendly and helpful, doing all they could to help us.
Rooms and facilities were very clean and contemporary, decently priced too if you call and compare to other places in the city center.

Breakfast was generous and consistently of a good standard, with a good selection.
On the subject of food, we had a nice pasta dish in the restaurant early one night prior to venturing into town.
I would advise getting the bus into town, there is a stop just outside the hotel and it's much cheaper than driving if you intend to be there quite a few hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 881LyndaB881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

i booked at the Sorrento as it was recommended to me by a friend that stayed last year. I had a Comfortable room which looked like it had just been redecorated. The shower had good pressure and the ensuite was very clean. I also eat in the restaurant, unfortunately by myself as it has a wonderful romantic italian atmosphere and great pasta dishes. I recommend the house made PESTO its really fresh. The staff are also really kind and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family'

Room Tip: eat in the restaurant before going into the city it is half the price and better quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
0.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.8 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrento Hotel

Property: Sorrento Hotel
Address: 196 Cherry Hinton Road, Cambridge CB1 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorrento Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sorrento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrento Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing