We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed”
Review of Lynwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lynwood House
Ranked #17 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Spotless - with a large room - Lynwood house comes across as a very modern place. I stayed over for 1 night in a twin room with my son. As we entered the room, it was first like a small 'corridor', with the bathroom door to the right and spaces and wall hangers to keep our clothes and suitcase. This small passage then ended/opened into the room itself. It was well decorated and well lit with comfortable single sofas. I liked the fact that there were several nice corners where one could sit and work on the laptop, with a plug-in socket available amply around the room. The son was especially impressed with the bathroom; it was equipped with all the modern facilities. The window overlooked the quiet (and beautiful) garden of the property as well as those of the neighbours. Julie came across as a very warm and kind person. Her breakfast was marvellous and very filling! I didn't feel hungry until well into tea time.
It is a short walk from the University colleges and the river Cam, and there are nice places to eat within 5 minutes walking distance. Also, there is a co-operative just down the road, which is handy to buy some quick snacks.
I now know exactly where to stay the next time I am in Cambridge: Lynwood House.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaSenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the room and the en suite, and the breakfast set you up for the day.
We look forward to welcoming you to Lynwood House again in the future.
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
63
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Lynwood House doesn't look amazing from the outside, being on a main road, but inside it is stunning. It's furnished to a high standard with spacious rooms and high ceilings. We stayed in Room 3 at the back of the house and it was so quiet you would think you were in the secluded countryside. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, with a good selection on the tea tray.The host was pleasant and attentive without being obtrusive and recommended a cosy nearby pub for dinner.
We had a wonderful breakfast with my scrambled eggs with salmon being cooked to perfection!
There is ample parking around the corner and we left the car there the next day too whilst we wandered around Cambridge. it's a pleasant 15 min walk into town.
I have no hesitation in recommending this B & B.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house will be quieter and Room 1 was right next to the front door so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABA1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such possitive feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the interview went well and we will hopefully see you again.
Many thanks,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a delightful place to stay. Nick and Julie are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We took Nick’s suggestion and visited King’s College Chapel on the Friday evening for Evensong which was wonderful. The bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location is superb, just a short walk across Jesus Green to the centre of Cambridge. The free parking is a bonus. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of freshly cooked produce on offer and Julie’s honey from her own bees was terrific. All in all we had a great stay and will certainly be booking again next time we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OswestryLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We're so glad that you had a great time in Cambridge.Thank you for taking the time to write review.
It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you another time.
Best wishes,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very clean, cost and welcoming room. The owners are really friendly and the breakfast selection, quality and portions were great! Just a 10-15 minute walk through a park or along the river into the centre. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lineyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Nick and I really appreciate your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Many thanks,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Lynwood house is a great place to stay. Nothing special from the outside but inside its great. The owners are quite shy but pleasant and escort you to your rooms. We were in the family suite which is perfect size for four people. Comfy beds, lots of sockets, decent tv.

Tea and coffee facilities with cookies and sweets. A nice touch is bottled water replenished every morning. The bathroom is really nice and the power shower can be turned on and off from the outside which is nice. They also give you little kits like shoe polishing and shower caps.

The breakfast is very nice. Omelettes traditional good cooked breakfast and awesome porridge! The cereals and juices are also nice.

Its a nice 10-15 minute walk into the centre of cambridge and in the booklet you get it suggests restaurants and things to do in and around cambridge.

Overall we had a great stay with no problems. For a comfortable stay in cambridge look no further than lynwood house!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable in room 7 and that you enjoyed your breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge.
Kind regards
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Perhaps a Certificate of Excellence has its drawbacks. In this case we were disappointed.
Because we altered our reservation the landlords changed the confirmed room nr. 3 to nr. 4 without notice. Room 4 was cramped and the website photos are too flattering. The owners forgot that guests do bring luggage! My partner and I were continually in each others way. What really annoyed me was that there was no cabinet to hang your clothes, only a few pegs on the wall straight behind the door. In fact we didn’t unpack. No lounge/sitting-area for guests.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which is 2 steps down from the room. Good English breakfast. Friendly but aloof owners who run it as a business not as having paying guests in their house and the contacts that go with it.
At GBP 105 the room is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see where we can improve.
We’re sorry we didn’t mention the change of rooms when you altered your booking.
It is certainly not our intension for our website to mislead our customers in any way. We have taken our own photographs; these have not been altered or taken with any special lenses. We don’t advertise that we have a lounge. We have refreshments and comfy chairs in our bedrooms.
We are always looking for new ideas and recently attended The Independent Hotel exhibition at Olympia, where we found a furniture company that should be able provide bespoke wardrobes to replace the hanging pegs we have at the moment.
We are always happy to chat and provide our guests with any local knowledge and things to do. We would have loved to talk to you about the problems you said you had with room 4. Nick and I can only apologise that you didn’t get that impression.
Regards,
Julie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break away in Cambridge, staying at Lynwood House. Did a bit of research before booking, which paid off, as the Lynwood ticked all the boxes. We stayed in room 4 which is at the back of the property and is a twin room, it was very tastefully decorated with a lovely shower room ensuite, and complimentary toiletries. The B & B itself is only a short walk away from the city centre. Breakfast is excellent, all cooked to order, and offers everything from the full English to Haddock and Poached Eggs,
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the couple who own it, I sprained my ankle quite badly prior to our visit, and they even offered the use of a wheel chair if I needed it. I would not hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone who is thinking of staying in Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We're glad you managed to enjoy your visit to Cambridge even with your sprained ankle. (which we hope is now better). Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for recommending us to others.
Best wishes,
Julie and Nick
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.4 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Property: Lynwood House
Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing