We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, great location, great breakfast”
Review of Lynwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lynwood House
Ranked #18 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent room, great location, great breakfast”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last week and were pleased with our room ( number 5) which was luxurious with a massive ensuite. The breakfast was excellent and really set us up for the day. We found the location excellent for walking into Cambridge.

Julie and Nick were very friendly and happy to help with suggestions and directions to the places we wanted to see.

I would not hesitate to recommend Lynwood House.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjaynecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time write a review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Nick and I are always happy to chat and recommend things to see and do. We would live to welcome you back another time if you return to Cambridge.
Kind regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
62
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in Lynwood house over the bank holiday weekend. The unexciting exterior and hallway belied the beautiful, comfortable room we had. The bathroom might as well have come straight from a luxury hotel, and we slept very well on all 3 nights.
The owners are lovely and were full of useful suggestions on what to do and see.
The breakfasts were the best meals we had all weekend: a huge choice and absolutely top quality ingredients.
I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The road is fairly busy so the front room on the ground floor would be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in room 5 and the breakfast set you up for the day. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you come to Cambridge.
Kind regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed a couple of times at this B&B and had nice experiences both times. Decent rooms, if a bit on the small size but with very good, clean bathrooms and good showers. Nespresso machines in the bedrooms! Great breakfasts and really good choice of food. Julie and Nick are charming hosts.

Maybe a wee bit more than I would normally expect to pay for such rooms (especially as a single person in a twin room) but I realise Cambridge is a bit more expensive than some other towns. Good location for walking into Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our new nespresso machines.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Cambridge.
Nick and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I spent 5 nights whilst in Cambridge on business. I found the place immaculate and very comfortable. My room had everything that you expect to find in a hotel. Very nice ensuite with quality products, tv, tea / coffee making facilities, etc
I was made to feel very welcome by the owners who seemed keen to offer any assistance required.
The location seemed good with shops and places to eat near by and convenient for accessing the city.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us .We appreciate that you were really busy so thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review. We hope to see you another time if you return to Cambridge.

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Julie and Nick made you feel most welcome in their gorgeous and immaculate b&b. Not only did we have a comfortable stay their help and advice of what to see and where to go in Cambridge was most helpful. With shops, bars and restaurants only a 5 minute walk away the location couldn't have been more perfect. We even managed to find some good cocktails!! We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad you and your friend enjoyed your break in Cambridge. We look forward to seeing you again.

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a single ensuite at the last minute, having read the reviews. Julie sounded easy going and helpful and the room was a very reasonable rate for one person (not always so easy to find). I was attending a graduation ceremony and only there for one night. When I arrived, my key was left in the safe box, so found my own way to room 6 on the second floor. Therefore not able to gauge the welcome I might have had. The owners were not at Lynwood at 5.30pm. The entrance hall is furnished and decorated very tastefully, but spoilt by a strange smell of fish!

This review may sound a bit on the negative side already, but it really isn't ... Just realistic, as there are plenty of plus points! However, As I entered my room, the very first thing I saw was a mirror facing me, which was smudged and smeared. This did not bode well. On second look, I was pleased to find the room very clean, as was the lovely shower room. Nicely decorated and a very comfortable bed. All in all really cosy.

My worry was that the radiators were cold and I wondered whether the heating would come on in the morning or not. Before I left for dinner, I phoned Nick and Julie on his mobile, who were out in Cambridge. He didn't exactly reassure me, but accepted my point.

Ironically, my night's sleep was only interrupted as I was too hot! Otherwise it was very comfortable with a good hot shower and the heating came on in shower room, but not in the bedroom.

Breakfast room is delightful with a warm Mediterranean feel. Excellent cooked breakfast after delicious yoghurt, fresh fruits and cereals. I really couldn't fault it, although I found Nick to be a little detached, maybe he's a bit shy. I realised why there's a fishy smell permeating throughout....They were cooking haddock with the kitchen door wide open to the breakfast room which is off the hall.

Overall Lynwood House is well worth a stay, as other reviews have said, but there are a few little niggles. No towel rail, no decaffeinated coffee, duvet quality too hot in the top of the house in small room. I DO recommend it for great location, lovely breakfast and overall cleanliness in a comfortable room and hope Julie and Nick won't be offended by my comments, which are meant to be constructive.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank provencepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments, we always appreciate feedback and we will look into all the points you have made and aim to address the issues.
We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location, only a short walk to good restaurants and bars; faultless room with a beautiful en suite and super comfy bed ; lovely breakfast and excellent hospitality. We would highly recommend and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your short break and look forward to seeing you again.
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
685 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Property: Lynwood House
Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing