We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lovell Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lovell Lodge Hotel
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Arrived and shown to room by staff member with no customer service skills.
Room was dusty,carpet needed a good hoover and I have no idea what was splashed over the walls!!!!!
Would have left if we were able to get another hotel but as a bank holiday weekend we couldn't find one.
We had a family room with 3 single beds.
Sheets were clean though.
En suite was a cupboard with a shower and toilet and sink outside was unsteady on wall.
Breakfast however was pleasant enough.
Checked out by same staff member who checked us in with not so much as a thank you.
Location handy for Newmarket and Cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spark2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    22
    30
    19
    28
See reviews for
13
22
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
360 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

stayed for one night in august 2012, two adult for £85. the hotel located outside city centre but quite easy to find. there was a small coop supermarket opposite the road and a bar/ restaurant down the road. the hotel had a few parking space, bed and breakfast and that's about it. internet was not free, £1 for 24 hours, £1 was nothing but seemed rather unnecessary and trivial. everything was very basic but acceptable. it was not a comfortable cozy type of hotel that you could enjoy the facilities. it was just a bed and shower. rooms decor was very dated, shower was also old and the toilet felt like that in a student accommodation rather than a hotel. there was only one type of toiletry, shampoo and nothing else, and there were 4 little bottles of them. so use it for everything. free tea and coffee making facilities and one small biscuit. bed was ok. breakfast was also very basic. staffs in day time was very smiley and friendly, evening staff was a bit grumpy.

this is a come and go hotel that you will forget about it the next day. bit too pricey for what it is but maybe it is cambridge price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at Lovell Lodge hotel on 10 July 2012.

The hotel is quite a distance from the centre of Cambridge but since my work was taking me to the Science Park (which is just across the road), it was ideal for me.

My stay coincided with all the beds in the hotel being replaced so it was pretty hectic and quite messy one morning but on my return from work, all the mess (cardboard and plastic) had been cleaned up and I had a new bed to sleep in, so that was a bonus.

On my arrival there was no one at reception but on ringing the bell, a member of staff was quick to attend.

The room I stayed in (Room 303) was clean and tidy with clean ensuite shower, a small flatscreen TV and it was spacious enough with good Internet connection (£1 a day).

Breakfast was excellent (quality sausages, not the cheap budget ones!) - I'm very particular about my Full English...

Staff can be difficult to find but when you they are always friendly and accommodating. The feel of the hotel is friendly and informal (which may not suit everyone).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Having booked the hotel then read the reviews, I was little concerned that it would not be very nice but it turned out to be very good, spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and attentive and a lovely breakfast, checkout time at 10am was alittle early but apart from that enjoyed our stay and would come back again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Rooms were ok apart from one bed in our room being broken with matters falling off. Breakfest was basic. Staff where all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieshakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here one night for work. I selected it as it was one of the cheapest I could find and I wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel was fine, it was nothing fancy but for the price it did what it said on the tin. The rooms were warm and the bed was comfortable; perfectly ok for a one night business trip. I am a good sleeper but if you sleep light this may not be the best choice as the rooms are not sound proofed very well and I head alarms and snoring when I woke up in the morning! The staff are friendly however and the breakfast was nice so no complaints. I am in Cambridge again for business in a couple of weeks and will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I just boooked it to stay nearby my friends's place. They had a new baby boy and could not host me. I was s pending most of the daytime with them so did not expect much from the hotel but bed and bathroom. Both were bearable but I wouldn't say cozy or lovely. Very basic decoration and furnishing, definitely not the place someone put their heart and soul in. Pretty clean however the tatty decor and materials make it look untidy. Breakfast was quite edible beyond expectations. Can't say anything about the staff, they didn't care and I didn't mind :)

I would not recommend this place to stay both because of the location/neighbourhood (half an hour and more from the center) and because it is absolutey dull.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Oakley Lodge
Oakley Lodge
#27 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alder Lodge Guest House
Alder Lodge Guest House
#35 of 122 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kalimera Bed and Breakfast
Kalimera Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 122 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovell Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovell Lodge Hotel

Property: Lovell Lodge Hotel
Address: 365 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovell Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lovell Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovell Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing