We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to book the 3 bedrooms apartment!!”
Review of Lovell Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lovell Lodge Hotel
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The bad reviews are all about the hotel, but you need to book the 3 bedrooms apartment!! I've been there with my family and it was great! It's a separate house just around the corner of the hotel and it's amazing! It's a 2 floors house with garden, private car park, 3 bedroom, living room, kitchen and 2 bathrooms (both with shower, the upstairs one has a bath as well). I really enjoy my stay there, the flat was really clean and beds really comfy. There's wifi and a massive tv with a very nice sofa in the living room. I would definitely go back =)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived at Lovell Lodge at around 12pm, shown to the 2 apartments which we had booked by a young lady. On entering the apartments it looked lovely. On closer inspection, attention to detail was missing (ie not everyone had towels, we booked for 10 and only 4 towels were given). The decor is nice,but still needs some work (ie in the front room, there is a stain on the ceiling-presumably from where the bath had leaked, in the bathroom around the shower there is paint missing-all minor issues but nonetheless noticable). The apartments were clean. They had shower gel and other facilities (iron,ironing board, hoover and hairdryer). But we had to go to Co-op (next door) to buy fairy liquid and bin liners (which we left behind for the next guests).

As we booked 2 apartments we were located back to back, they connected via the garden. The handyman at the hotel happily took the lock off the adjoining gate which mean't we could walk through the garden to get to each house rather than having to walk around past co-op.

Booking taxis from the houses was somewhat difficult as we didnt know the door number (as there is no door number on the doors). We now know is '412 Milton Road'. Lovely gardens, but no garden furniture so we couldnt enjoy the sun and sit outside.

It would be nice to recieve a welcome pack in the houses with things like: Taxi numbers, local attractions, local things to do, local shops etc... We had to find this out for ourselves.

Overall, i would stay here again due to location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shibby306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you're a light sleeper like me then this place definitely isn't for you. I got woken up at 11pm due to the paper thin walls that let normal conversation sounds travel through! Not good. It didn't get any better once people stopped talking though as the main door to the building gets locked at a certain time so the whole street I presume, as well as the guests, were awoken by the sound of the building doorbell and the noise of the door knocker being brayed against the door just after midnight. A horrendous night.

The lodge itself needs freshening up with scuff marks all over and no attention to detail. Bed was clean and comfy but the sight of a sink the second I walked through the door into the bedroom wasn't nice at all. Shower was half decent, only problem being that the head was fixed, but it was fixed at an angle that pointed inwards towards the wall and you can't get under it properly without hitting against the mixer tap. Breakfast was hit and miss. Good choice on offer but the chef doesn't know how to poach an egg. Had to send mine back as they just weren't cooked at all and burst with water when cut into.

Disappointing really because it looks lovely from the outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

arrived at the hotel about 8pm, foreign female on the desk just gave us the room key pointed the way to go on the ground floor. room was dated but tidy 1pk of biscuits between the 2 of us, milk in little carton were off and conjealed. toilet was filled with loo paper and when we tried to flush it away the handle came out of the cistern. we reported it to the woman on the front desk who's reaction was 'what do you want me to do about it' we went to meet family staying in another hotel and used their loo (premier inn). we returned to lovell lodge and repeatedly flushed the loo til it all went.
certainly was not worth £45 pppn give it a miss unless desperate. we'll try somewhere else in cambridge next time

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roseyposey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in the apartment (actually a house) next to the co-op. The house itself is a nice size but we found it really lacked attention to detail . For example the paintwork is all scuffed around the house on the walls, parts of the apartment hadn't really been cleaned properly ( the kitchen bin lid was filthy and I wouldn't have cooked in the wok for anything) there wasn't a full set of 5 of everything even though the apartment slept 5 and we had to ring over to the hotel for a frying pan in the morning so we could cook bacon. The ladies on reception were lovely and helpful but the man we encountered in the evening was nothing short of rude and quite clearly couldn't be bothered. The kitchen blind was broken and laying on the windowsill which meant that everyone could see in off the road at night. When we told the hotel about this they said they knew but were having a dispute with the builder and plumber about whose fault it was!! There is a nice small garden to the rear with a nice patio area but there was no patio set or bench to sit outside on !! Having said all that we still had a really nice time but with a bit more attention to detail the place would really be lovely. The buses run regularly from right outside which is handy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJH344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent two nights and one day at this location. We arrived after midnight and were almost locked out. Thanks goodness we called to say were would be arriving later than planned.

Pros:
• Breakfast was good. We were served a good English breakfast.
• It is within a 10-minute drive to shopping area in downtown Cambridge.

Cons:
• The room we stayed in was very small.
• The walls were really really thin. You could hear the people snoring in the rooms near-by at night. You could hear the television or people simply talking with an inside voice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady-J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I don,t normally write reviews on hotels but i feel i must respond to the critical comments this hotel is receiving. I regularly stay there on business and have found the service very good,and the staff extremely helpful and polite. Last weekend i happened to be staying there and witnessed behavior of some obnoxious young "LADIES" who were trying to get something for nothing and reading the previous review succeeded in their quest. The breakfast menu at the hotel is plentiful and cooked to order unlike the buffet style you get in some hotels, but as is apparent some guests believe they should have gourmet style cuisine and behave like its "FEEDING TIME IN THE ZOO". The rooms in the hotel are clean and have everything you require and at the reasonable price that you pay good value for money, so to conclude it ticks all the boxes for a reasonably priced hotel, but if you want "5 STAR SERVICE" pay 5 star prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
3.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sorrento Hotel
Sorrento Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
131 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovell Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovell Lodge Hotel

Address: 365 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovell Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lovell Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovell Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing