We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”
Review of Lovell Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lovell Lodge Hotel
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
sheffield
1 review
“very nice place”
Reviewed 11 September 2009

stayed for the weekend in the lovell lodge hotel found it to be very pleasant very clean good breakfast good dinner staff were exellent would recomend others to try

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    22
    30
    19
    28
See reviews for
13
22
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I stayed for a weekend at Lovell Lodge from 25 till 26th july.

I would definately recommend this for a weekend break. Comfortable rooms, nice breakfast, Good parking and easy drive into the city center. I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Off to your left
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2009

For all you traveling IT people, this is not a place to scoff at.
Fairly basic and pretty crappy food.
But there's beer and a bed.

Say no more.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeAyeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The landlord's attitude torwards me was extremely violent. I urge anyone considering visiting cambridge to avoid this place unless you are handy with your fist as the landlord as a habit of settling disputes with the use of violence. True budget accommodation ( a company used by a number of corporate organisations for booking hotel rooms) have blacklisted this establishment because of the violent attitude of the landlord.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilltopbobEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2009

I admit there I had an expectation gap, as I was expecting a more comfortable B&B style lodging. There is nothing wrong with simple decor, but the overall 'feel' of the place was more of a rugged, wooden lodge than a B&B (which is what the pictures look like on the website.) The rooms were very brown and dark (consistent with the pictures of the lobby on the site.)

Perhaps I was affected by the feel of the room, but I didn't feel 100% comfortable. The cleanliness of the rooms was probably so-so, though in the end I got a good night's rest. The corridors are small and the walls are thin, so some of my other family members did not sleep as well.

The location is ok, a short bus ride or a long walk (not recommended!) into the campus. They had parking which we appreciated to leave our cars behind.

Their breakfast was BIG, hearty, and pleasant, consistent with what I would expect from a good B&B. Check-in and check-out was simple and efficient. My room was missing a set of towels which they promptly brought to me -- good thing I caught the receptionist before he retired for the evening, though admittedly late after 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbcgirlinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

The people working at the front desk were very friendly, although their English was not ideal. They really worked with us on our late night arrival. However, we did not like the fact that we could only book via phone and they only took Visa.

The hotel was a disappointment because it needed to be cleaned better. It also smelled like smoke. The breakfast was very good, incredible for a free breakfast. The room was nicely equipped and a good value.

The hotel is located quite a distance from the city center and it is necessary to take a bus. But it saves a LOT of money too.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MMD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from 3days at Cambridge. We stayed at lovely 'Lovell Lodge'. Since we were mostly travelling by bus, finding out that the hotel was exactly near a bus-stop was a relief. The staff was so nice to us and the check-in couldn't be any simpler. The food was delicious, especially the exquisite taste when it comes to 'Indian cuisine'. The room was spotless, and apart from a slightly-too-big shower head which makes it difficult to keep your hair dry (should one wish not to get it wet), everything was perfect. In this view, we definetly recommend this little, competitevly-priced hotel.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DorianneKonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.5 mi away
Arundel House Hotel
Arundel House Hotel
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,020 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovell Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovell Lodge Hotel

Property: Lovell Lodge Hotel
Address: 365 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovell Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lovell Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovell Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing