We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job”
Review of Oakley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakley Lodge
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Rochdale
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Did the job”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well, its not great but not bad either. bedroom decor tired and dated, (woodchip and artex) seems to be the norm with so many hotels these days. plenty of hot water for shower. Breakfast was good enough. location ok being about a 30min walk into Cambridge. £8 for a taxi. Could moan if i wanted, but would be being picky. Landlady was friendly enough. If you need somewhere to stay in this area you could do worse.

Room Tip: quiter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    22
    14
    25
See reviews for
14
33
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

So after reading a lot of bad reviews on trip advisor after being scared by them we thought it couldn't be as bad as some people said. Oh how wrong we were........ Walking into the hotel we were greeted by a man who was mid conversation about how a woman had complained and checked out (good start) we then headed to the room where we found out what it would be like to be involved in csi or benefit street tv shows. The room was cold the beds were damp the floor hadn't ever been hoovered by the look of it, there were pubes in my bed and in my mates bed there were what looked like seaman stains on his pillow all accompanied by the clear damp problem they had growing on the wall and the smell of old ladies being dead in a puddle of wee for a week to compete with all night.
The bathroom was no better not only was it communal we couldn't work out if the stains on the seat were poo or what.
All in all this place is a dump and should be shut down. In guessing the 5 star reviews are the hotel logging on and making them up. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dayne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

South Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Due to Cambridge university interviews my usual B&B (The Hamilton Lodge) was fully booked so having stayed at the Oakley Lodge around 7-8 years ago I thought it would be a good choice. I was wrong. As mentioned in an earlier review, I was clearly an inconvenience to the lady booking me in (it was 3 in the afternoon).
I won't go on and on but in a nutshell, dated decor, TV in my room kept losing signal every 5-10mins, mattress support was non-existent, stained pillow cases, bathmat should be donated to a Cambridge Uni microbiology research lab, WiFi was £4 a day (who pays/charges for WiFi access in 2013??), and you are completely ignored at breakfast until you are lucky enough to make brief eye contact with the lady serving (same person as booking in).
Only the breakfast saved it from a 1 star review as to be fair was really nice.
Please spend some time shopping around as you should be able to stay in much nicer accomodation for a similar price (please don't take it that I am recommending the Hamilton Lodge as it really isn't much to shout about either - see my other review).
As for getting into City Centre, the B&B is directly opposite a bus stop for the number 3 bus which runs every 10mins to Grafton Centre and City Centre.

Room Tip: Stay in a defferent B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlossyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a party of 8 stayed here Sat 19th October 2013 and were treated very well rlooms were very good and breakfast very very good with a huge selection staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us as usual, when we have to stay in Cambridge we always use the Oakleigh

Room Tip: back rooms are quieter as on main road but didn't disturb our sleep at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 225Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I took my girlfriend to Oakley Lodge as a place to stay on a last minute trip into Cambridge.
I am a Stephen King fan but even his back catalogue of horrors did little to prepare me for the nightmare inside this guesthouse.
On arrival we were greeted by a surly dog and its mirthless owner.
She barely looked at us as she confirmed our reservation and shoved the key across the desk.
The room...oh the room...
First thing that hits you is the smell.
An all consuming aroma of dust, bleach and broken dreams. With a hint of dog.
The bed was so low it may as well been a mattress on the floor.
We didn't want to put our clothes in the wardrobe because it smelt horrific.
The floor was sticky to the touch, the shower was a mildew encrusted pipe emerging from dirty tiles.
The tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and loose.
The sheets on the bed smelled as if they had never been washed.
My girlfriend slept in her clothes AND coat to avoid touching them, which soured our romantic getaway somewhat.
We were up and gone by 7am and far too polite about it to boot.
Wished we had complained.
The internet description insists it is conveniently placed for Cambridge city centre...this is a lie.
You have to a) walk for around 45 minutes - 1 hr to town or b) get a bus from a shady council estate near by.
All this for a ludicrous £50.
Unless you are on the run from the police, researching a novel or are a sadist do not stay here. Plump for ANY other guesthouse or hotel.
You have been warned - I wish we had heeded such warnings before making a booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

cant fault it! i stayed in room 18 last night 18/9/13 bed was lovely, large room, very clean en-suite. I arrived late evening and the staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat and drink near by. The kebab van didn't let me down :) Breakfast was fresh and served fast. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micks1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This B&B is terrible. Dirty teabags on floor behind the bin. Cobwebs all over the room. No one to meet and greet or show you to the room. Service was if we were in the way and they wanted to stay in bed and breakfast just about passed!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park
1.6 mi away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
2.0 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Lodge

Property: Oakley Lodge
Address: 627-631 Newmarket Road, Cambridge CB5 8PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oakley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing