We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Rest

Travellers Rest
Ranked #302 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

7 Adults and 4 children in our party included a disabled adult. Firstly we waited for our table in the bar which was accessible via steps (there was a small stair lift but there was no one about to work it). We struggled down the steps to find more steps without a stairlift. When called to our table again no one about to help with the stair lift. When they had realised our party couldn't be seated upstairs due to access they tried to reallocate us on the same level but the table was being used and, rightly, the waitress didn't want to disturb the clients. The only table available was downstairs (no stairlift). It was tricky but we made it. The waiting staff were very good all through the meal, getting extra drinks as required and including when 2 of our party complained of 'rubbery' chicken . The chicken was replaced, admittedly taking 10 minutes. The desserts were as described and coffees were fine. With children aged from 5 weeks to 15 years the position of our table was ideal as it was isolated just a shame about the stairs. Know knowing the locations limitations we may return for another visit however disabled access needs to be looked at. One other annoying thing was we couldn't use the disabled car parking place outside the entrance because it was being used by a customer using the bar who kept running out to his car to pick up a folder or file! We had to park several meters away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    75
    61
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Staff very helpful, but a long time waiting for food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the adjoining premier inn, 18/9/13-22/9/13. Had the meal deal which was just right for me. I only ever have salmon and it was on the meal deal. Only ate in the bar at night, but this was very nice, all a little dated, but clean and welcoming. Food really nice but my comment on this is very limited. The young lads were oh so helpful, and flexible with the content of my meal. A minor point,nt a full range of condiments, no salad cream but I take my own. Very busy at times, and you do have to wait what seems an awfully long time, the food was lovely. I ate with a friend, and most of the time our food didn't arrive together, we ordered separately, but sat on the same table, which wasn't good. Breakfast fine as always, but I personally prefer to help myself, rather than give an order for the hot breakfast. All that said I would go again, but be prepared for a long wait at peak times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank E1OVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the wait.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We haven't been to a beefeater in years but stopped here on the way home from Cambridge as we wanted a quick meal as it was getting late for our 4 year old. When we arrived a table had to be laid so waited in the bar. As it was a Sunday myself and my daughter had roasts and my husband had a burger. It took 1 and a quarter hours from being seated for our food to arrive. When it did, the waitress apologised for not having any mint sauce and the side salad for the burger was not ready (and never arrived) but she didn't mention the delay in the food arriving. The food was reasonable and the childrens portion was very generous but it didn't make up for the delay or for the relatively high prices. We won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A curious combination of service prevailed here -- you had to order at the bar and get your drinks at the bar, but food was delivered to your table. The food was ok, not great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewTipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Slack staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Staff have potential to make this a great place to eat but their lack of urgency in clearing away tables of glasses and plates makes it an unpleasant experience for all. Staff came out with meals and walked back empty handed even though all the tables outside were in need of clearing. Staff training should be at the top of the list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Travellers Rest also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing