We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views from the Poop Deck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #269 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ely, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely views from the Poop Deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed drinks here on a lovely day on the deck overlooking the river. Great atmosphere, sipping while sculls and rowers paddled by. We didn't order food, so I can't speak to that, but the menu was varied, had vegan and gluten free options. We'll be back for a meal some day soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlist777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    55
    25
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stopped in for a beer and a late lunch after a few hours wandering round Cambridge, as the car was round the corner. It was exactly what we expected - nice food, nothing special but reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly. Nice outside seating by the river - which was one of the main reasons we went!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible and disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Terrible service, slow, under staffed, uncleaned tables,ran out of ingredients for overpriced meals, booking for 9 people at a table for 6 max, full of nasty smelly loud chavs. This used to be a good pub but we will never go back here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ElCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location by the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good quality pub food with nice surroundings by the river. Outdoor area can get very busy in summer but always enjoy having a drink and food here in the sun

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank honeynutloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
389 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Outside by the river was pleasant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Service was slow - typical English pub were you have to line up and wait at the bar to order drinks and food. Food is eventually delivered to your table - we had to chase ours down - it was over cooked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Fulbourn, Cambridge
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing