We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a week end stay at Hotel Felix and thoroughly recommend that anyone considering a visit, should book without hesitation. We are widows of retirement age, who enjoy a bit of luxury and culture every now and then. From my first contact, when I phoned to ask for specific details before booking, to the moment our cases were taken to the car when we left, we were so impressed with this hotel! We were well looked after by all the staff and the restaurant staff were really friendly and yet utterly professional with the service they gave. The age range of the guests went right across the spectrum and all were treated appropriately. Nothing was too much trouble and we therefore relaxed and enjoyed a great time exploring Cambridge. The city centre is a short bus ride from the hotel but for those prefering to use a taxi, the fare was between £5 and £6 which is very good when sharing the cost. The recommended taxi service was prompt and courtious. Staying on the edge of Cambridge meant that the evenings were relaxed and peaceful and the restaurant provided the perfect end to each busy day. We have stayed in many city hotels for a week end or shopping break and have paid similar prices but never felt as cared for as we did this time. Thank you Hotel Felix! ( M. Green)

Room Tip: There is a lift to access the original parts of the hotel, but the modern wings have only a ground a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
We're glad that you enjoyed your short break with us at the Felix. It's rewarding to hear that the attention of our staff was so warmly received. Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtul review and rest assured that your feedback has been circulated around the Hotel to remind each department of the impact that they can make!
Perhaps if Cambridge still offers some unexplored areas you will return and stay with us again? We'd love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    386
    172
    91
    45
See reviews for
176
547
25
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Lovely hotel, lovely room. Had the added bonus of an upgrade to a premier suite room.
Service was excellent from the moment we arrived . Angela on the reception desk was fantastic, giving some great advice on where we might eat. Loved her sense of humour.
Short stay , but very sweet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shippers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
... and lovely review! Thank you!
Angela, as you kindly mention, is indeed, not only a wonderful font of knowledge on all things Cambridge, but really rather charming with it! She is a highly valued member of our team and it gives me great pleasure to pass her such thoughtful feedback.
We hope that if you visit us again your stay will be equally sweet but not necessarily short!

Thanks again for taking the trouble to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suvern ingland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

3 day break to explore Cambridge. used Visit Cambridge website to locate this and compared very well against city centre options. (free parking & package options for price saving were the main reasons) Is long 20 min walk to town, but 10 mins easy & cheap ride on bus.
Hotel looks great from outside, modern & stylish interior. Large, well equipped room was very good as expected for 4 star hotel status. Big bed & Excellent bathroom to mention.
The Dinner package is exceptional quality and value for money, as you pay for an 'expensive' meal (£135) but get the night's accommodation free. The food was amazing and got better with every course. (I won't spoil the surprise but save space for dessert!) Full selection of the menu & drinks available on this package. also, room service is good value too. Fried breakfast an expensive & disappointing extra (get that in city) and standard contintental buffet breakfast was basic but satisfactory.
Plenty of staff are all courteous and attentive throughout.
Top end of my budget for 3 day UK break- but with the excellent dinner included this would rate as great value for money. Staying at this location enhanced a really enjoyable stay in a great city.

Room Tip: Think we had a Kingsize premier. Good room size, large bed, spacious quality bathroom, amenities as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Mareketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
So glad to hear that you enjoyed both your stay at the Felix and your trip to Cambridge. Our Felix is Free package is always popular and as it's available on Fridays and Sundays we hope that you will find occasion to take advantage of this deal again soon!
Thank you for the compliments about your dinner in our Graffiti restaurant (I'm intrigued as to which of the desserts provoked such a favourable response?!) but I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by breakfast. All breakfast items are freshly prepared from quality local (where possible) produce and we do hope that our continental breakfast is a substantial offering. Perhaps if you return to the Hotel we can use the opportunity to impress you with our culinary skills at the beginning of the day as well as at the end!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are always delighted to receive positive feedback but equally take seriously the negative aspects of our guests' experiences.
We hope to see you at the Felix again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A two day girlie break prompted a search for hotels in Cambridge. Quite a difficult task it seemed. My friend found the perfect place with the Hotel Felix. Situated on the edge of Cambridge with a bus stop just outside and cab rides into the city only £7 (a big improvement on £23 to park!!). The staff at the hotel were so helpful especially the Italian Receptionist. Breakfast was included in the price and was fantastic. You could choose from full English to Blueberry Waffles. Lovely room and carpark where you could leave your vehicle after you had checked out, so you could travel once more into Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwichik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thanks for taking the trouble to post your thoughtful review! As you point out, the cost of parking in the very centre of the City is rather expensive so many of our guests are grateful to take advantage of our free parking and walk, hop on a bus, or, as you did, take a cab into the centre. I've passed on your comments to the receptionist you mention who was very flattered that you thought to mention her.
We hope that next time you plan a girlie break you will save yourself the search and choose to visit the Felix again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here as part of my husbands Birthday treat. Hotel was very nicely decorated in contemporary style. The staff were helpful and cheerful! The standard room was ideal, spacious, clean and well presented. Room service was great and worth the £3.50 tray charge! Turn down service is optional and complimentary very nice touch! There was a wedding taking place at the time of our stay, but it did not intrude on us at all, infact, I was surprised the service was soo good, in particularly the restaurant, considering it was busy with a couple of large parties together with catering for a wedding party in another room, on the evening of our stay! Well done The Felix, our stay was very enjoyable and it was a nice end to a perfect birthday celebration. Thank you!

Room Tip: Standard room was very adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your very kind review and we are glad that you both enjoyed your husband's birthday treat! We are very conscious of not allowing our weddings and other residentsnon-residents to impact on each other and try at all times to be attentive to the needs of all of our guests. It is rewarding to have this commented on, so thank you again.
We hope to welcome you back to the Felix soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here in room 73 for a couple of nights in October.

Hotel was nice and clean and the staff were very polite and helpful. Bed was very big and comfy, bathroom was spacious too with a fantastic heated floor!

Had the continental breakfast there which was nice. The chopped up fruit seemed like it was freshly prepared rather than someone opening up a big can and chucking it in a bowl, and the OJ was great too. Couldn't comment on the main meals as we didn't have any.

Would happily go back there. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there wasn't free wifi, however, from my experience that seems quite common in hotels in the UK.

Overall I throughly enjoyed my stay. Although I haven't stayed in many hotels in the UK, I would say hotel Felix has been the nicest so far.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. You're quite right, the fruit salad that's served as part of our continental breakfast is indeed fresh! I do hope that if you return to stay with us again you will dine in our restaurant.
The issue of Wifi is a contentious one and is one that is currently under review.
We hope to see you at the Felix again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

After another hotel messed us around, we ended up having our 2 night stay in Cambridge in the Hotel Felix. We're very pleased we did!

The receptionist was really friendly and attentive when we checked in and nothing seemed too much trouble. The decor of the hotel was lovely and everything was spotless.

The room was of a good size with a kingsize bed, sofa, desk and wardrobe. The ensuite (with underfloor heating) was really spacious with a walk-in shower and a bath. The complimentary toiletries were from the White Company. They also provided robes. There was a mini-bar in the room, which also contained complimentary fresh milk instead of the horrible UHT sachets. The coffee in the room was also filter bags, instead of instant. Little touches but ones that made a real difference.

The bed was really comfy and they were happy to bring around extra pillows, even at 22:50.

The continental breakfast was a cut above continentals provided at other hotels. There was a good selection and you could pay extra for cooked breakfast if you wanted.

The Hotel Felix is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in in recent years and we'd certainly want to stay there again next time we visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish_exile83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
What a pleasure to read through your review! It's so rewarding to learn that our guests do notice the small details! We're also glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast and hope that this sample of our food might tempt you to eat in our award-winning Graffiti restaurant next time that you come to stay with us!
Thanks so much for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing