We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big extremely comfy beds !!!”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Went for Varsity weekend in February, 2011 and never stayed at this hotel as its outside of the centre. We were amazed how lovely it was - we got a last minute deal and it proved to be the best hotel we have stayed in - in Cambridge. I find I get backache when staying in hotel beds and we are usually glad to get back to our comfy bed at home but we could quite easily have stayed for a week! The bed was amazing and the pillows were the best ever.
The menu for dinner was a little too much for us i.e too fancy but the breakfast was beautiful. Definitely worth staying here away from the bustle of the centre. Made our weekend relaxing because of the good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed a good night's sleep at the Felix and were able to enjoy breakfast fully rested. All of our bedrooms have King size beds and Egyptian cotton bedlinen which we believe aids a peaceful and luxurious slumber! It's a shame however that you didn't find anything on our menu to suit your taste and I hope this won't put you off returning to eat in our restaurant again as the menu changes regularly and the chef is always happy to tweak dishes to suit our diners. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed for a weekend to kick our annual Christmas shopping the staff were very welcoming and the room was clean and in very good order. Small touches like handmade biscuits and bath robes made it just a little nicer. The breakfast buffet is a good enough start for the day although anything hot other than toast has to be paid for. Is is about a 30 minute stroll into the city centre if your active or the bus stop is a 2 minute walk and the taxi seem to arrive very quickly. The hotel has a quiet and peaceful feeling making it great for a quiet weekend away but close enough to the city for those after a little more excitement. Also free parking in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancingMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

I hope that your shopping trip was successful? Cambridge as a shopping destination has greatly improved in the last few years with the edition of the Grand Arcade and its plethora of top end and popular high street stores, combined with the quirky independent retailers.
The Felix does provide a welcome retreat from the bustle of the City but, as you point out, is still close enough to access the centre relatively quickly and inexpensively. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the little touches but sorry that you missed out on the other hot option on offer with the continental breakfast! A steaming bowl of porridge is the best kind of preparation for a day of Christmas shopping!
Thanks so much for posting your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The original part of this hotel is quite charming and characterful, however we stayed in one of the new rooms on the side wing which lacked the atmosphere. In saying this, however the bed was large and comfortable, the room was quiet and there is parking. The location is somewhat difficult to get into town, a longish 20 minute walk at best. The food in the restaurant was superb for dinner, although we elected to try the porridge for breakfast, only do this if you like porridge the Scottish way - salty! Surprisingly wi-fi is an additional cost. Good for weddings and business events, but not a couples weekend retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We're so sorry that your weekend stay with us wasn't entirely a good experience. The public areas of the Hotel are all located in the original Victorian part of the Hotel so that guests, when away from their rooms, can enjoy the spacious and creatively decorated restaurant, bar and newly added Orangery. Though we are a walk from town there is a regular bus service or a taxi ride at a reasonable £6 or £7, which many guests favour in comparison with the pricey cost to park in the centre! I'm happy to hear that your evening meal did not disappoint and do rest assured that if you do decide to return to the Felix, the Chef will happily make you some non-Scottish porridge! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a week end stay at Hotel Felix and thoroughly recommend that anyone considering a visit, should book without hesitation. We are widows of retirement age, who enjoy a bit of luxury and culture every now and then. From my first contact, when I phoned to ask for specific details before booking, to the moment our cases were taken to the car when we left, we were so impressed with this hotel! We were well looked after by all the staff and the restaurant staff were really friendly and yet utterly professional with the service they gave. The age range of the guests went right across the spectrum and all were treated appropriately. Nothing was too much trouble and we therefore relaxed and enjoyed a great time exploring Cambridge. The city centre is a short bus ride from the hotel but for those prefering to use a taxi, the fare was between £5 and £6 which is very good when sharing the cost. The recommended taxi service was prompt and courtious. Staying on the edge of Cambridge meant that the evenings were relaxed and peaceful and the restaurant provided the perfect end to each busy day. We have stayed in many city hotels for a week end or shopping break and have paid similar prices but never felt as cared for as we did this time. Thank you Hotel Felix! ( M. Green)

Room Tip: There is a lift to access the original parts of the hotel, but the modern wings have only a ground a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We're glad that you enjoyed your short break with us at the Felix. It's rewarding to hear that the attention of our staff was so warmly received. Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtul review and rest assured that your feedback has been circulated around the Hotel to remind each department of the impact that they can make!
Perhaps if Cambridge still offers some unexplored areas you will return and stay with us again? We'd love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Lovely hotel, lovely room. Had the added bonus of an upgrade to a premier suite room.
Service was excellent from the moment we arrived . Angela on the reception desk was fantastic, giving some great advice on where we might eat. Loved her sense of humour.
Short stay , but very sweet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shippers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

... and lovely review! Thank you!
Angela, as you kindly mention, is indeed, not only a wonderful font of knowledge on all things Cambridge, but really rather charming with it! She is a highly valued member of our team and it gives me great pleasure to pass her such thoughtful feedback.
We hope that if you visit us again your stay will be equally sweet but not necessarily short!

Thanks again for taking the trouble to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

3 day break to explore Cambridge. used Visit Cambridge website to locate this and compared very well against city centre options. (free parking & package options for price saving were the main reasons) Is long 20 min walk to town, but 10 mins easy & cheap ride on bus.
Hotel looks great from outside, modern & stylish interior. Large, well equipped room was very good as expected for 4 star hotel status. Big bed & Excellent bathroom to mention.
The Dinner package is exceptional quality and value for money, as you pay for an 'expensive' meal (£135) but get the night's accommodation free. The food was amazing and got better with every course. (I won't spoil the surprise but save space for dessert!) Full selection of the menu & drinks available on this package. also, room service is good value too. Fried breakfast an expensive & disappointing extra (get that in city) and standard contintental buffet breakfast was basic but satisfactory.
Plenty of staff are all courteous and attentive throughout.
Top end of my budget for 3 day UK break- but with the excellent dinner included this would rate as great value for money. Staying at this location enhanced a really enjoyable stay in a great city.

Room Tip: Think we had a Kingsize premier. Good room size, large bed, spacious quality bathroom, amenities as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Mareketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

So glad to hear that you enjoyed both your stay at the Felix and your trip to Cambridge. Our Felix is Free package is always popular and as it's available on Fridays and Sundays we hope that you will find occasion to take advantage of this deal again soon!
Thank you for the compliments about your dinner in our Graffiti restaurant (I'm intrigued as to which of the desserts provoked such a favourable response?!) but I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by breakfast. All breakfast items are freshly prepared from quality local (where possible) produce and we do hope that our continental breakfast is a substantial offering. Perhaps if you return to the Hotel we can use the opportunity to impress you with our culinary skills at the beginning of the day as well as at the end!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are always delighted to receive positive feedback but equally take seriously the negative aspects of our guests' experiences.
We hope to see you at the Felix again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A two day girlie break prompted a search for hotels in Cambridge. Quite a difficult task it seemed. My friend found the perfect place with the Hotel Felix. Situated on the edge of Cambridge with a bus stop just outside and cab rides into the city only £7 (a big improvement on £23 to park!!). The staff at the hotel were so helpful especially the Italian Receptionist. Breakfast was included in the price and was fantastic. You could choose from full English to Blueberry Waffles. Lovely room and carpark where you could leave your vehicle after you had checked out, so you could travel once more into Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwichik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thanks for taking the trouble to post your thoughtful review! As you point out, the cost of parking in the very centre of the City is rather expensive so many of our guests are grateful to take advantage of our free parking and walk, hop on a bus, or, as you did, take a cab into the centre. I've passed on your comments to the receptionist you mention who was very flattered that you thought to mention her.
We hope that next time you plan a girlie break you will save yourself the search and choose to visit the Felix again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £113 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing