We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal, big room!”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Felix as a couple on a romantic night recently. It was our third stay and it was, as always, faultless. The restaurant is thoughtfully decorated; quirky, modern and stylish. It does however retain traditional charm and does not feel like a hotel dining room- always a good thing in my book. Service was attentive yet discreet, and the food was well presented, tasty and combined some fantastic flavours. The wine list is extensive as is the bar. Although not cheap, Hotel Felix is the perfect retreat for an evening meal, even better if you can stay over in one of their super comfy and well equipped rooms. Makes it that bit more romantic- or special whatever the occasion! They do some fantastic deals on their website and it is a great venue- for business or pleasure. Only thing is breakfast is often not included in their room rates!! I resent paying more for breakfast as a hotel guest! But that is just a personal niggle. Other than that perfect. Well done Felix!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angryman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

We're happy to hear that your third visit was as enjoyable as previous stays with us. The only package that we sell that doesn't include continental breakfast is our Dine and Stay free deal which entitles you to a night's stay complimentary, on a room only basis, provided that you spend over £130 in Graffiti restaurant per couple. All of our other room rates include a comprehensive continental breakfast and we offer cooked options with a supplement.
I do hope you choose the Felix when you're considering your next romantic getaway and thanks so much for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Only had a one night stay for a Cambridge formal dinner. Wish it could have been longer. Very stylish hotel with comfortable bed, excellent service from all concerned. Will return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajaj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear that, though your stay was only a short one, it was good enough to convince you to return!
Perhaps next time you will have the time to take a not-so-formal-dinner in our award winning Graffiti Restaurant!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Felix very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just on the outskirts of Cambridge yet about 20-30 mins and you could walk into the centre. Quiet location and a well appointed hotel.
Reception is tucked out of the way around a couple of corners but the lady on duty was delightful. Both informative and charming.

The room - number 31, was about 2 mins walk away on the same floor. Very well appointed with a large double bed and beautiful crisp white sheets. Plenty of wardrobe space, safe and a bathroom that had underfloor heating.

I was here as part of a business meeting but know the area well as I live only 30 mins away.

Dinner had been pre ordered and the food was very good - no complaints there.

So you may well wonder what was wrong?

Firstly, the bedroom heating. A thermostat on the wall - you would think turning that would engage the heating. But it seemed to have no effect. There was a wall mounted heater, but that was switched off, and you could only have it on or off. Which made it either too hot or too cold and the thermostat seemed to have no effect as I have previously mentioned.

I looked for the usual room guide but could not find one.

The bathroom had a heated towel rail - but no on or off switch was visible and it was off. But it also had a fan heater stuck to the wall? Lighting was good except it wasn't over the basin so you couldn't see clearly when shaving.

There was a charge for internet connection (less via the tv) of about £11-13ish. I find this annoying. Although I didn't pay for the room as I was a guest of someone else I am sure it wasn't cheap and would expect the internet to be included.

Dinner was slow. As indicated we preordered before we arrived but it still took about 30 mins for each course and that includes a 30 min wait after we shown to our table for the first course.

The standard rates if booked ahead is about £140 but when it says breakfast is included it means continental and a cooked breakfast is about £10 I think.

So nice hotel but could be very good if they attended to details.

Room Tip: Pillows are a bit thin, make sure you have at least two per person in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

We are sorry to hear that there were negative aspects to your recent stay with us. It is frustrating to know that you were pleased with so much, including our food and our staff, but that you were let down in other ways.
Expert opinion largely concludes that an ideal living room temperature is 22 degrees and a bedroom 18. The Hotel's bedroom thermostats are set at 22 degrees but are also on a timer switch so that the heating is off for periods of the day (aimed to fit around the comfort of our guests). Reception staff can override these timings on request from individual rooms.
The wall mounted heater is only supplied to provide an additional boost of heat and not intended as a sole source. It's such a shame but I think a quick call to reception would have sorted the heating issue for you and I'm sorry that instead you were left feeling chilly!
The charge for Wifi is the same as for broadband: £10 for 24 hrs. We offer one hour complimentary Wifi but unfortunately we are unable to offer the same complimentary hour for broadband. However we are currently reviewing our Wifi charging policy.
I can only apologise for the service time of your dinner, this was clearly not acceptable. We do hope that our continental breakfast is varied and substantial enough to meet most of our guests' tastes and requirements. It does include a hot option of freshly made porridge or alternatively a supplement of between £3.75 to £7.50 can be paid for various cooked options.
For single occupancy the bedrooms will have two standard pillows and one square pillow but there is a second square pillow in the wardrobe and should any further pillows be required then Housekeeping are always happy to supply these on demand.
We really do hope that you will return to the Felix and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the areas that were not satisfactory during your first stay.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Went for Varsity weekend in February, 2011 and never stayed at this hotel as its outside of the centre. We were amazed how lovely it was - we got a last minute deal and it proved to be the best hotel we have stayed in - in Cambridge. I find I get backache when staying in hotel beds and we are usually glad to get back to our comfy bed at home but we could quite easily have stayed for a week! The bed was amazing and the pillows were the best ever.
The menu for dinner was a little too much for us i.e too fancy but the breakfast was beautiful. Definitely worth staying here away from the bustle of the centre. Made our weekend relaxing because of the good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed a good night's sleep at the Felix and were able to enjoy breakfast fully rested. All of our bedrooms have King size beds and Egyptian cotton bedlinen which we believe aids a peaceful and luxurious slumber! It's a shame however that you didn't find anything on our menu to suit your taste and I hope this won't put you off returning to eat in our restaurant again as the menu changes regularly and the chef is always happy to tweak dishes to suit our diners. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed for a weekend to kick our annual Christmas shopping the staff were very welcoming and the room was clean and in very good order. Small touches like handmade biscuits and bath robes made it just a little nicer. The breakfast buffet is a good enough start for the day although anything hot other than toast has to be paid for. Is is about a 30 minute stroll into the city centre if your active or the bus stop is a 2 minute walk and the taxi seem to arrive very quickly. The hotel has a quiet and peaceful feeling making it great for a quiet weekend away but close enough to the city for those after a little more excitement. Also free parking in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancingMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

I hope that your shopping trip was successful? Cambridge as a shopping destination has greatly improved in the last few years with the edition of the Grand Arcade and its plethora of top end and popular high street stores, combined with the quirky independent retailers.
The Felix does provide a welcome retreat from the bustle of the City but, as you point out, is still close enough to access the centre relatively quickly and inexpensively. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the little touches but sorry that you missed out on the other hot option on offer with the continental breakfast! A steaming bowl of porridge is the best kind of preparation for a day of Christmas shopping!
Thanks so much for posting your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The original part of this hotel is quite charming and characterful, however we stayed in one of the new rooms on the side wing which lacked the atmosphere. In saying this, however the bed was large and comfortable, the room was quiet and there is parking. The location is somewhat difficult to get into town, a longish 20 minute walk at best. The food in the restaurant was superb for dinner, although we elected to try the porridge for breakfast, only do this if you like porridge the Scottish way - salty! Surprisingly wi-fi is an additional cost. Good for weddings and business events, but not a couples weekend retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We're so sorry that your weekend stay with us wasn't entirely a good experience. The public areas of the Hotel are all located in the original Victorian part of the Hotel so that guests, when away from their rooms, can enjoy the spacious and creatively decorated restaurant, bar and newly added Orangery. Though we are a walk from town there is a regular bus service or a taxi ride at a reasonable £6 or £7, which many guests favour in comparison with the pricey cost to park in the centre! I'm happy to hear that your evening meal did not disappoint and do rest assured that if you do decide to return to the Felix, the Chef will happily make you some non-Scottish porridge! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a week end stay at Hotel Felix and thoroughly recommend that anyone considering a visit, should book without hesitation. We are widows of retirement age, who enjoy a bit of luxury and culture every now and then. From my first contact, when I phoned to ask for specific details before booking, to the moment our cases were taken to the car when we left, we were so impressed with this hotel! We were well looked after by all the staff and the restaurant staff were really friendly and yet utterly professional with the service they gave. The age range of the guests went right across the spectrum and all were treated appropriately. Nothing was too much trouble and we therefore relaxed and enjoyed a great time exploring Cambridge. The city centre is a short bus ride from the hotel but for those prefering to use a taxi, the fare was between £5 and £6 which is very good when sharing the cost. The recommended taxi service was prompt and courtious. Staying on the edge of Cambridge meant that the evenings were relaxed and peaceful and the restaurant provided the perfect end to each busy day. We have stayed in many city hotels for a week end or shopping break and have paid similar prices but never felt as cared for as we did this time. Thank you Hotel Felix! ( M. Green)

Room Tip: There is a lift to access the original parts of the hotel, but the modern wings have only a ground a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

We're glad that you enjoyed your short break with us at the Felix. It's rewarding to hear that the attention of our staff was so warmly received. Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtul review and rest assured that your feedback has been circulated around the Hotel to remind each department of the impact that they can make!
Perhaps if Cambridge still offers some unexplored areas you will return and stay with us again? We'd love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,864 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £113 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing