We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant all round experioence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“brilliant all round experioence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Rooms superb , staff superb, restaurant superb bset hotel in Cambridge

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
What praise! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Felix very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    378
    169
    88
    45
See reviews for
168
531
24
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My boyfriend and I were really impressed with our stay at The Felix. The service was fabulous with the attention to detail being superb. We stayed in one of the suites which was wonderful, very comfortable, clean with a bathroom to die for. Food was exquisite, made all the better by the staff having such an approachable friendly attitude. Really looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redshoes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at the Felix. Our four Junior Suites have only recently been treated to fabulous bathroom makeovers and we're happy to hear that you approve! It's very decadent to watch TV in the bath isn't it! I have passed on your praise of the food and staff to both the kitchen and restaurant team and want to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you at the Felix again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked this a couple of days before travelling. We travel a lot on both business and pleasure and we would normally stay in a hotel in the SLH range but we just wanted a overnight break after a stressful time.

It looked lovely on the website and overall the general appearance of the hotel is good. Even if it is next to a football field and a new housing estate. But the real downside- its quite a distance from Cambridge itself and as the city centre is a nightmare for parking its not good its not ideal if you want a day out there. When we first got to our room it was freezing as the heating wasnt working but we mentioned it and it was sorted promptly.

Our main disappointment was the restaurant. Its a nice setting but the food was expensive and my meal was definitely not up to scratch. Souffle that was really a quiche, beef that was asked for well done and came out very rare, which was returned but left my husband to wait and then his meal was cold and even when mine came back it was cool and tough and the vegetables were left to go cold. Worse of all was the dessert which was supposed to be Eton Mess it was actually 4 clumps of raspberry meringue and some rhubarb gloop, it was horrible and uneatable. We did mention all this and they offered us 10% of the meal of over £130.00 but when we checked out it didnt show on the bill as they had grouped it all together. We did see at least 2 other tables complain too. Breakfast was better but really a cooked meal should be included in the price.

The staff are nice and pleasant but the hotel itself isnt hitting the mark, you can see its been refurbished but our bathroom had grout still stuck to the sink and pencil marks on the tiles where the taps were marked out. It sounds petty but its the little things that make the difference. I hope the hotel read this as constructive criticism and act upon it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravelsfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was toying between two hotels in Cambridge and I thought I chosen the better of the two as the Felix offered it's own grounds rather than being in the centre... but was then a little disappointed to find the grounds are no more than a little garden with a gazebo best glanced from the restaurant and a car park. The country house is there, but it has blocky extensions which "swallow" it and now it looks like a travel lodge from certain angles.

There are some good points though... the waiting staff were chipper and helpful and the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. The contemporary art in the main areas is also very delightful.

The downsides started at check in with a particularly business brusk "talking to" which made me stand to attention and feel rather guilty for our complimentary upgrade to a better room. However, on reaching our room down a warren of corridors we were underwealmed by the lack of art on the walls, near peeling wall paper (which was it's only decorative feature) and IKEA type business hotel furnishings. The bathroom was OK at a quick glance, but on a closer inspection the grouting was quite dirty and the shower screen seal strip was hanging off. Nice towels and robes and a big comfy bed. The modern extension seems to loose the country house appeal and the stud walls in the hall made for an entertaining tap tap tap down the hallways (hard to resist). Also, hearing the neighbours in their bathroom (tinkling) was slightly disturbing....

So all in all, the hotel is nice for dinner, but bland in the rooms and at at the price I would have liked a little more charm. It is expensive for what it is in the new extension and quite frankly your bedroom at home might be lovelier than this one. I have no idea if the old part of the hotel has rooms. It was Ok, but glad to be home again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyBelle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Hotel Felix over Easter to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my birthday. Although Cambridge is only about 40 miles from home it was a place we'd never visited before. Hotel Felix was not my original choice, my first having parking in a NCP which we didn't fancy, all be that hotel centrally located. We chose the Graffeti break which included breakfast and £30 each towards dinner.
We arrived to a very warm welcome. The receptionist was extremely pleasant, as were all of the staff we came into contact with. Maybe this is where you reap what you sow?
We were upgraded to a junior suite and wow, what a room. It had an enormous bed with high quality linen and fantastically comfortable feather pillows (and feather duvet). The room was minimalist in decoration which appeals to our taste. The bathroom modern with a super rain shower and an aqua TV! Everywhere was beautifully clean.
We dined in both nights. The food was imaginative and beautifully presented. Portions were not huge however it meant we could make 3 courses comfortably instead of faltering at desert. We spent slightly more that our allowance but we could have easily avoided that with different choices if we were watching our budget.
Although our breakfast was included in the room (in full), we quite liked the idea of the English breakfast being a small extra charge. Had we been satisfied with the continental menu (or not breakfast eaters at all), it seems fairer not to pay in for something we didn't want. It is important to make the charging policy totally transparent though.
Do not be put off by the location being literally minutes from the A14 and really easy to find. We took the bus into the city the first afternoon (number 5 or 6 - £2) but as that took no more that 5 minutes we walked thereafter (about a 25 minute stroll).
Although I don't expect we will return, as there are so many other places to explore (especially now we realise how close Cambridge is to home), we would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Felix to anyone.
Thank you to everyone who made our weekend so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Nice hotel that is in a nice location but slightly out of it. The room rate is bearable considering they are very accommodating of pets. The "included" continental breakfast is actually just cereal and fruit, not even bread is included. You will pay extra for an actual addition to make it a full breakfast. Evening meal good but also expensive. Staff were good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erniesands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel location was convenient, the facilties were very good and staff could have been a bit more attentive (had to ask for the milk). The actual "tea" was a disappointment. Not good value for money (£14 pp), selection of sandwiches was on the stingy side and the selection of cakes was the same. Would not go again and would not recommend to anyone for Afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing