We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Have just returned from two nights at this hotel, a birthday surprise from my husband. the staff were fantastic, very polite and helpful. We 'did' Cambridge and for us it was a little too far from the city although getting a bus was no problem, we should have perhaps used the park and ride as this worked out less costly. Normally this wouldn't have caused a problem but we got caught in a very heavy storm,got soaked and had to return to change, by the time the rain stopped we decided not to return into Cambridge that evening and ate again in the hotel
The restaurant for our evening meal was excellent, food and service really good. Was disappointed to find that our room tariff, not cheap, did not included any cooked items for breakfast, only continental. Cooked was extra. I did mention this to the lovely manager and she gave her reasons for this decision, however I still do not agree as we had a junior suite and did not get any special rates for our 2 night stay. The continental was adequate but it was the principle that irked me a little.
Our suite was on the ground floor and easily accessible but we were woken by wedding guests leaving after midnight, just unfortunate I guess.
The weekend was enjoyable and the staff were first class, so thank you to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishgranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
What a lovely gift for your Birthday and such a lovely surprise for you! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after. We do pride ourselves in the service that we provide and so many of our guests comment on our polite, friendly and helpful staff. I have shared your kind words with them all.

I'm so sorry that the issue of breakfast was a disappointment for you. To be honest, many of our guests opt for Continental breakfast, and as such, this is the reason why we charge a little extra for full English breakfast. It would be awful to be charged for something that you don't want.
We do hope that you will return to Cambridge and stay with us again. Fingers crossed for better weather next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    378
    169
    88
    45
See reviews for
168
531
24
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Lovely hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, only stayed one night on a business trip but wished I could have stayed longer, very close to Cambridge centre and a bus stop just at the end of the road. Hoping to go back soon for a long weekend. Only minor point was there wasn't any air con, just a fan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LibWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review of Hotel Felix. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you appreciated our helpful and friendly staff. Do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Cambridge… we look forward very much to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We held our wedding at the Hotel Felix on Saturday 14 July 2012. Throughout the year and a half that we spent planning the Wedding the hotel's dedicated wedding team provided fantastic support to us in responding to our many questions. And kept us in the loop when one of the main contractors involved in the wedding was not able to deliver with months to go until the big day. The hotel got in the case and found an alternative supplier (who were excellent) and the show went on just as planned. We had dreamed of a wedding outside in the hotel's beautiful gardens but it was not meant to be in a very wet July. However the upstairs rooms used for the wedding ceremony created an elegant scene; with light streaming in through the bay windows even on an overcast day. On the wedding day itself the hotel staff were professional, well prepared and clearly experienced at managing weddings, and above all made our guests feel welcome and adapted to our individual requirements for our big day. We had in the region of 100 guests for the reception breakfast and many later commented to us on the high quality of the food at each course. All the guests that stayed were very pleased with their accommodation in both rooms, and suites. And for us having our breakfast on the balcony in the Penthouse suite on the 15 July and overlooking the beautiful gardens, and the scene of some great (memorable) wedding photos taken the day before, was a great way to conclude our celebrations at the Hotel Felix. Thank you very much to the Hotel staff for all their hard work to make our wedding day as special as it was.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank camjbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for choosing Hotel Felix for your wedding celebrations. I’m delighted to know that you had a wonderful and memorable day. Just a shame about the weather isn’t. We were all crossing our fingers for a lovely sunny day, but unfortunately, our positive thinking didn’t work on this occasion. Do come back won’t you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We visited Felix for my husbands birthday, having driven from London for a weekend getaway.
First impressions were good. There was plenty of parking and the grounds are very pretty, although having viewed the hotel's website I was expecting a restored old building when actually the majority of the hotel appears to be a modern extension to the older building. The girl who checked us in was OK, not extremely friendly but not rude either.
The hotel itself is very nice and modern and appears to be well maintained and our room was a good size. We had dinner in Graffiti (in house restaurant) and both food and service were amazing.
The reason I gave it 3 stars though was because a few things went wrong for us that meant we probably wouldn't return.
1. There was no air conditioning in the room. Just a small desk fan. Granted we are in a country that is mostly cold, but we chanced upon the one sunny weekend of the year (27 degrees each day) and it felt as though we were sleeping in a sauna even with the window open.
2. We were in room, 85 which was marketed as a "king room". What this actually was though was two single beds pushed together. At first glance that was excellent because it meant we had a massive bed, but because they were just literally two single beds (including mattresses) then it meant I kept sleeping in the crack. Both my husband and I woke up with terribly sore backs which I'm not sure was down to the beds being pushed together or an uncomfortable mattress.
3. We took out the £15.99 24 hour unlimited movies package, but 20 minutes into our movie the system died. We called reception and were told "it probably wouldn't come back on that night". It wasn't the end of the world, but having eaten dinner early and gone to bed meant that our night was basically stopped there.

So, in regards to the movies, that was probably just bad luck and when I mentioned it in the morning they took the charge off my bill no questions asked. I can also kind of forgive a stuffy room in summer, but because it all happened together and because I got a sore back from the bed, I'd probably err on the side of caution and not return to Hotel Felix.

Also, I'd point out that if you are looking to book, I found their own website had cheaper packages than the cheap hotel websites so save yourself some money and book with them direct.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank international_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor. Hotel Felix is a beautiful Victorian villa, once the family home of an eminent Cambridge surgeon. When it was being developed into a hotel just over 10 years ago, two annexes were built onto the main part of the building in order to accommodate more guests. If this had not been done, we would only have four bedrooms! Next time you come and stay, why not ask for rooms 11, 12, 14 and 15, which are situated in the old part of the hotel.

With regard to your specific points:-

1. Hotel management is currently looking into the issue of air-conditioning, however, as you say, we do have fans in all of our bedrooms. Sorry that they failed to cool you down sufficiently on such a hot day.

2. I have spoken to our Housekeeper regarding your comments about the bed in your room. All of our beds are purchased from Hypnos, which carries a Royal Warrant from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, and are therefore of impeccable quality. We use something called a Quick Link, which is used to cover over the small gap between two single beds. With a mattress protector of the top, the gap should be barely noticeable. Had we known about the issue you had, we could have moved you to another bedroom with a full sized double bed or given you some mattress support.

3. I’m so sorry to hear that you couldn’t enjoy a relaxing evening watching movies from the comfort of your bedroom. Our movies package is managed by an external company, Quadriga. Unfortunately, on the evening of your stay, there was absolutely nothing that we could do to fix the fault until the next day.

It is so unfortunate that your stay with us was marred and not as you had expected. I do hope that next time you come to Cambridge, you will reconsider your decision and stay with us again. We would very much relish the opportunity of welcoming you back and making it memorable for the good reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I can't praise Hotel Felix and all the staff enough-first class service and luxury at an affordable price without the compramises. We used this hotel for a business trip over 8 days with guests from the US, Japan, Europe, + Canada and we all agreed-the staff were polite, professional and invitingly friendly and made our stay a pleasure. The food was first class and catered for us all. The rooms were all stunning and the hotel was a wonderfully calm and relaxing environment for our stay. The hotel was buzzing with people from all walks of life, ages and visiting for different reasons which is testamont to how adaptable to everyones needs the Felix is. It is rare to find a hotel that delivers service, quality and high standards and The Felix does on every level.
But without a doubt it was the staff that made our visit such a success and so much fun. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone went out of their way to ensure all our needs were met without feeling rushed or pressured or like we were interrupting. Definitely a place I would highly recommend for any type of trip and I look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: We had rooms scattered throughout the hotel and not one of them was a bad one so no tips required!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
What praise Kelly! Thank you so much for sparing the time to comment so favourably about your recent stay at Hotel Felix. Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I booked a wheelchair friendly room and had to pay a considerable amount extra as they only have two rooms suitable and both are higher priced , what they term as executive rooms, which is questionable. The bedroom is large enough as was the bathroom but the layout of the bathroom, particularly the shower unit is not good, including hand rails placed for asthetics and not practicality. Very disapointing as the last time I visited they said they appeciated my comments but hadnt done anything about it. The bed is the lowest bed made and its dreadful get out of it into a wheelchair it is very very difficult and problematic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here when we went to Newmarket races. It's only 20 mins in a taxi and £21. The room was fab and spotlessly clean. You even get homemade biscuits on your tea tray. The staff were very helpful and polite. Can't fault it at all. We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_lou2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your kind thoughts, following your stay at Hotel Felix. As you say, we’re really not that far from Newmarket and an easy drive too. I’m glad that you found our staff ‘very helpful and polite’. They are our greatest asset, of which we are immensely proud.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing