We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Although about a mile away from the city centre this lovely boutique hotel is close enough. A short bus ride or taxi journey or a 20 minute walk it's location is great. There is lots of spacious parking, lovely grounds and a mixture of old and new in the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we were treated to a room upgrade for our anniversary which was a lovely touch. The room was clean, modern, well equipped and very spacious. A tv in the bath was a real luxury!!
We had drinks in the bar and dinner and breakfast in the graffiti restaurant, which served great food. The breakfast buffet was lovely with fresh fruit, cereals and croissants and dinner was superb with a great choice of fresh fish and meat dishes. It was a lovely Christmas atmosphere and has a separate function room away from the main restaurant for large parties which is great if you are a couple or small group out for a quiet meal at Christmas time. Overall we have nothing but praise for this hotel and its staff. It made our anniversary Christmas shopping weekend in Cambridge a great one. Many thanks.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
I am delighted that you chose Hotel Felix for your Anniversary weekend and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Cambridge is a fabulous place for shopping, whatever the time of year, but is particularly special at Christmas time. There is so much choice from High street and independent shops alike and Hotel Felix provides a wonderful haven of calm at the end of a busy day. We offer free car parking, so it works best to leave the car and take the short bus or taxi ride into town.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back when you are next in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    398
    180
    95
    46
See reviews for
184
559
25
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just stayed here friends for a short city break. It's a great place, a short but very easy walk into central Cambridge, but set in a quiet location away from the main road. Had an excellent dinner and the staff were spot on, friendly, attentive, and a sense of humour - all of which can to often be missing in a city break hotel. Well done Felix.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameslewis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Felix and that we ticked all of the right boxes for you. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed her for the first time whilst picking our son up from university. We thought we would try it due to its very good reviews and competitive price as well as the free parking which the city centre hotels do not offer. We were not disappointed. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and large bathroom - separate bath and shower- and underfloor heating too which was much appreciated in the cold weather. We had a very good continental breakfast (included in the price) and if we wanted anything extra there was an additional but very reasonable charge. Lovely fresh fruit juice, toasted granary bread, croissants and pastries ( all very fresh) as well as a selection of homemade and branded cereals and fruit salad. Fresh coffee brought to the table in a coffee pot and attentive serving staff.
Buses go in to the city centre every 15 minutes or its a brisk half hour walk away. We will definitely be using the hotel again for our frequent visits to Cambridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Felix. I have shared your very kind words with the team and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward very much to welcoming you again when you are next in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Great place to go for a special occasion as they make you feel special and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Dined there for our anniversary and they made special 'Happy Anniversary' sayings on our dessert plates! Love the service and quality of food...a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Invited to celebrate brother's birthday. Lunch is good value and quality of food is excellent with good choice of wine. Lovely venue. In summer you can eat on veranda overlooking garden. Would be good venue to consider for weddings, family celebrations or dinner with overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
I'm glad that your brother chose to celebrate his Birthday in a suitably stylish venue and that you all had a wonderful time. Indeed, Hotel Felix is a wonderfully romantic and inspirational venue for weddings and a variety of special occasions, whatever the time of year. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

The Felix is a pretty hotel with friendly staff.
I was staying the night on business and arrived at 2.15/30 having missed lunch, to be told that the restaurant had closed at 2.00. I was hungry and wanted a proper lunch and was told I could have room service. Unhappy with this I arranged to have lunch in the restaurant on the room service menu.

I should of had a sandwich!

The soup of the day which was the only starter was be beetroot which is an acquired taste. Sweet onion soup was found which was creamy and sweet.

The only hot main was a beef casserole totally devoid of taste. Yuck! I should of sent it back but was too hungry.

Maybe desert would be better? Nope all I could find was cheese at £8.50! For this I had a few slithers of cheese, liked pretty but inadequate.

Then lunch had its revenge on me. How I got Deli belly in Cambridge......?

The meeting room and private dinner was nice, as was the bar and breakfast this morning. But oh that lunch was horrible.

So a mixed review and a warning to avoid lunch if you arrive after 2.00pm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. This is an issue which could have been dealt with better in person, which in fact you did. In your words ‘It’s better to talk about it now rather than reading about it on Tripadvisor’.

You arrived last Thursday afternoon at about 2.30pm requesting lunch. Our Receptionist informed you that Graffiti Restaurant closes at 2pm, but that you could choose from our Afternoon Tea Menu or from our Room Service Menu. You seemed unhappy with this choice and in her usual helpful way, our receptionist said that she would call Chef to check whether he could prepare a hot dish from our Café Bar Menu. Apparently you declined this offer and said that you would choose from the Room Service Menu and eat in the Orangery. I do apologise, but this menu is not as full and varied as our Restaurant Menu. I am sorry that the soup was not too your liking and that the Blade of Beef was ‘tasteless and horrible'. This dish is usually very tender and one of our best sellers. We have, however, taken heed of your comment of offering an additional hot dish to our Room Service Menu.

I am also sorry to hear that you got ‘deli belly’ following your lunch, but was delighted that you made a speedy recovery and that you were able to enjoy dinner and drinks with your colleagues in the Bar a few hours later. You spoke to the Duty Manager that evening saying that 'dinner was wonderful and that you thoroughly enjoyed it’.

You omitted to include in your review that we removed £16.50 from your lunch bill, in addition to your service charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very nice
Food was superb some of the best I have tasted in worldwide hotels
But was totally let down by one incident, like some early morning risers & keen to get off shopping I made the careless error of not checking the bathroom !!!
Only to get home & find I had left my wash bag in the bathroom
Gutted as it had a brand new bottle of CK encounter & 25 pound of new razors purchased that day
Contacted the hotel to be told, bizarrely it wasn't found, now make of it what you want but I know no cleaner is going to throw that lot in the bin !
Very nice nice hotel & after spending 385.00 for a nice meal & room, I feel very aggrieved by what happened next.
I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone when some thing dishonest has happened like this

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paveldarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Felix and thank you for being so complimentary about the food which we serve in our award-winning restaurant. I am, however, sorry to hear about the loss of your toilet bag. I understand that you have been in contact with our General Manager and Housekeeping Manager, who have both failed to find any trace of it. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager this morning, who assured me that the members of staff working the day of your departure have been employed by the hotel for about two years. She trusts them infinitely and would have no reason not to do so. Items that they have handed in to lost property in the past have included a passport, a gold tie pin and a designer watch. They have looked throughout the hotel, including the bins, and no toilet bag has been found.

To accuse our members of staff of theft and dishonesty without evidence is a defamatory issue and one that I am not comfortable with. Did you perhaps leave your toilet bag in the taxi? Perhaps check with the taxi company or lost Property at Cambridge Police Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
892 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing