We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
brighton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Really good hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is an attractive well run hotel just outside Cambridge in a quiet location . The hotel is mostly modern but built around an original house . The public rooms are attractive and the breakfast room particularly light and airy. The rooms themselves are modern but decorated in a restrained palette of creams and browns . The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable with excellent linen and very good comfortable beds . The staff we encountered were helpful and professional and i can find no fault with a well run attractive hotel.My only minor criticism is that the continental breakfast usually included in the price could have been more varied . The actual ingredients were of top quality with excellent bread for toast for instance but perhaps some rolls , cheese and even boiled eggs would have been a welcome addition . This is however a minor quibble as i would return to this hotel whenever in Cambridge .
Please note though that if you are not travelling by car then it is a good walk down a main road to the centre

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Felix and I appreciate your honest and flattering feed back. Thank you. I'm sorry, however, that breakfast did not meet your expectations. We do offer sliced Emmental, cooked ham and Milano salami on our breakfast menu, which you may have missed? With regard to location, the hotel is situated a 30 minute walk from the city centre. Alternatively, you can avoid parking fees by leaving your car at the hotel and take a bus which stops at the top of the road or a taxi. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    378
    168
    88
    45
See reviews for
168
531
24
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The website made Hotel Felix seem funky and cool. However, it is a very long walk from town and seems more like a chain hotel geared to weddings than the luxurious and unique experience described in its publicity. Our room is very nice but the hotel could be anywhere.

Room Tip: Check the map and decide whether you want to be so far away from Cambridge. The fact that there ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iceheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am surprised to read your review following your recent stay. We don't claim to be 'funky and cool', rather stylish, relaxed and unpretentious. Hotel Felix is a boutique four star hotel. The building comprises a beautiful Victorian villa, which retains much of its original Victorian features. The restaurant is a fusion of the contemporary and the old, and bold raspberry and purple colours blend well with the interesting collection of contemporary art which can be seen around the hotel. The Orangery is light and airy, and again has a fantastic collection of art by James R Mylne.

Hotel Felix is the antithesis of a chain hotel. Far from it in fact. It is privately-owned and as such, the owners and our General Manager have worked hard to implement a high standard of interior design and comfort and to ensure that everything we do is done the 'Felix Way', rather than what the Head Office of a chain hotel would dictate.

With regard to weddings, whilst we do host them, they are a very occasional event and certainly do not represent the main bulk of our business. If you came to stay in June, we had a small afternoon tea wedding party, most of which took place in our upstairs private rooms, so this would have had little impact on our guests.

You also mention that the 'hotel could be anywhere'. I'm afraid I don't understand this comment. To be fair, any hotel could be anywhere. Not every hotel in Cambridge, the majority being chain, is located in the beautiful and tranquil country house setting which Hotel Felix enjoys. Nor do they necessarily offer spacious landscaped gardens, a country house setting just five minutes' drive from the city centre, plenty of free parking and WiFi for guests and outstanding customer service, of which we are immensely proud, and for which we receive frequent and consistent feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We loved staying here as it was great for our dog. The room we had was on the ground floor so easy access for the dog. Large bed and lots of cupboards in the room plush fresh milk in the fridge. Modern Bathroom with walk in shower. Large garden for the dog to wander round and a fantastic off road walk on public footpaths that starts just outside the hotels gates.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but service at breakfast was very efficient. The only thing we would have changed about our stay would have been not having to pay extra if you wanted a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I'm delighted that you and your dog had a pleasant stay at Hotel Felix. Our ground floor bedrooms and the peaceful setting is perfect for four legged friends isn't it, with spacious grounds and public footpaths very nearby for walks..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We had one night dinner bed and breakfast.

Excellent room, excellent food and excellent service.

Our only criticism was that cooked items at breakfast were extras. For the price I would expect it to be included.

Highly recommend it. Also recommend the chocolate coated strawberries.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Custard-cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Felix and that you found everything 'excellent'! The chocolate coated strawberries are divine aren't they and very popular at this time of the year. I apologise for the fact that cooked breakfast is not included in our breakfast, but it is available for a supplement for those guests wishing to order it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the Felix hotel over the weekend last week. We received outstanding service from all staff. The room was very clean and we were provided with all toiletries, clean towels, iron/board etc. We was very pleased with the wifi as it was free and very fast. Overall it was perfect. We will be a returning customer and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sezen1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
I'm delighted, as you say, that you had a perfect stay at Hotel Felix last weekend. I have shared your kind comments with the staff at Hotel Felix and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks so much for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Rooms are high quality, beds comfortable, fittings throughout have spared no expense. Staff attentive throughout at bar, reception and breakfast. Nice terrace to have drinks outside and food was prepared to a very good standard.
Breakfast food quality is excellent, but at £170 a night I would have expected not to pay extra for a cooked breakfast, when only continental was included, good as it was!
Would have been 5 stars but for the charge for breakfast and for two issues with housekeeping. Firstly would have expected the room to be ready on the Saturday afternoon to have been turned around on returning at 5pm and secondly toiletries such as shampoo and cotton buds were not replaced daily, a bit like the breakfast issue - are these cost savings worth it when compared to the guests experience?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments following your recent stay at Hotel Felix. I'm so glad that you had a lovely time, but am sorry that it was marred by a few little niggles. I don't understand the issue that you had regarding your room being turned around by 5pm. Our housekeeping team had left by 4.30pm that day, and I am therefore unable to make any further comment. With regard to the toiletries in your bathroom, these should have been replaced every day during your stay and I apologise for the fact they were not. We offer 24 hour room service and always have a duty manager available for guests who have any issues during their stay. This ensures that things can be put right immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

comfortable rooms, great views, free parking, friendly staff and good continental breakfast.

would have been good to have the cooked breakfast included but the croissants, pain au chocolat and fruit was still nice.

good location, bit of a walk to the city centre. park and ride is very close and cheaper than city parking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeniharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely stay at Hotel Felix. I note your comments regarding our Continental breakfast. Most people seem to opt for this choice, hence the reason for including it in our room rate.

We have ample free parking at Hotel Felix. As you say, a 30 minute stroll into the centre of Cambridge, but it is certainly cheaper to leave the car at the hotel and take the 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing