We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Far enough but close enough"”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“"Far enough but close enough"”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

All day meeting. Very pleasant hotel good meeting room with good facilities. Good buffet lunch. Far enough from the centre of Cambridge but only 15min ride to all the tourist haunts. Good value for company meeting in Cambridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix for your recent meeting. I delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. As you say, far enough to escape the hustle and bustle of town, but just a short drive from the centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    391
    176
    94
    45
See reviews for
181
554
25
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in their most expensive suite - room 11. It was beautiful. Expensive, but beautiful! The bathroom was a dream. Friendly staff, delicious food that was fairly priced. Walkable to the centre of Cambridge on a nice day. Taxi back was about £8.

Room Tip: Room 11 (their poshest suite) has a fabulous double bath and a massive bed. The stairs going up to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibbly_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
How wonderful that you stayed in the Penthouse. Tucked in the eaves of the Victorian Villa, with its own private staircase, it offers real escapism just a short walk from Reception. So many people comment on the fabulous bathroom with its huge double bath, rain shower and double basins. The room also has wonderful views out over the garden and countryside beyond. During the summer months, you can even enjoy breakfast served al fresco on the little balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

2 of us stayed here for a night as we sadly had to attend the crem the following day. I lived in Cambridge for several years and was not aware of this place. We were staying after a 3 night stay at Champneys and this was no less comfortable. Check in was seamless, room was very modern with super comfy beds and pillows, lovely toiletries (with extras some hotels seem to have removed recently). We had the full breakfast, it wouldn't satisfy a big appetite but fine for us and the best poached egg I've ever had! We decided to eat at the pub a 5 minute walk away which also has the Premier Inn, lovely food but if you can afford the extra pennies stay here.....worth checking the hotel website as we got the best deal there, happy customer :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagpuss311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, however I am so sorry that your stay with us was not for a happier occasion. As you say, we advise that guests book directly with the hotel in order to secure the best deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to visit Cambridge for an event prior to Xmas. For the price we paid, albeit there were 16 of us, it was fantastic value and we were surprised by the quality and how comfortable the hotel was. The staff were very helpful. The hotel's location was ideal for Cambridge, just a short taxi ride.
We had a group evening meal and breakfast and found the food very good quality. The wine was good. If in Cambridge and we wanted to stay somewhere, we would go back to the Felix again. Without question try and get a better price, either by speaking to the hotel or via a discount website.

Room Tip: Having seen the 'normal' price list, we paid less than half so if you get a deal it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David24052709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your pre-Christmas say at Hotel Felix and that you all appreciated our hospitality, comfortable bedrooms and good food. You are absolutely correct in saying that the best available rates can be secured by contacting our reservations team directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Although not located in the city centre the hotel is only a mile and a half away and buses/taxis are abundant. Staff very friendly and efficient and the hotel decor screams first class. A little on the pricey side but worth the extra.

Continental breakfast is good, not a massive choice but the quality of pastries etc. is good.

We'll be back when we come back to Cambridge.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Lovely to read your comments following your recent stay at Hotel Felix. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our tranquil setting, a short drive from the centre of Cambridge. As you say, buses and taxis are in plentiful supply and save the hassle of parking in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, Surrey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Thank you so much to all the team at The Felix for a wonderful Christmas with them. Having tried almost every other hotel in Cambridge in the last decade this is the only one that "has it all" for us at least: It has easy parking, easy access to bedrooms and to dining for my elderly mother, elegant and individual decor, superb bedroom and bathroom facilities and the food was high quality & just the right portion sizes.

for more detail:

The location is on the edge of Cambridge so quite a walk into most colleges and the shops

Rooms - We chose a junior suite which had lovely walk in shower as well as a bath. the anteroom had the ample wardrobe space, ironing board, fridge with plenty of free space as well as mini bar and fresh milk, kettle, trouser press, safe. there was efficient heating and the bed was spacious and comfortable as were the chairs. the complimentary Internet was easy to connect to and only need once to log in. it was quiet and peaceful. We even found our room cleaned and tidied on Christmas Day.
dining - there is good choice and everything was perfectly cooked including both fish and meats. the staff were all helpful and welcoming without being intrusive. the only tiny criticism was a 1/2 bottle wine we requested for our cheese course wasn't in stock. If that was all I could find wrong and I am very "picky" this is high praise indeed

Room Tip: The junior suite we had as well as a superior double in the modern annexe (is part of hotel not sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsofEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas break at Hotel Felix and we are extremely flattered at the comments which you have made about our hotel. I am so sorry that your experience was spoilt slightly due that we did not have a half bottle of Châteauneuf du Pape in stock. It must have been a popular choice amongst other guests for us to have run out of it and I do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me for a meal here on 21st December and I was not impressed. The bar staff were brilliant, they made us feel welcome and they knew there stuff.

I ordered to Ham hock terrine which was off the set menu, it was simple but very good, exactly what I expected from a set menu. My boyfriend ordered the partridge with casseloulet of white beans, there was a nice spice to the dish but the beans were very undercooked, almost crunchy!

We then had the pork neck for mains and he had the poussin. I very rarely send food back but this was not edible. On the menu it claims it is slow cooked neck of pork, it was not! It resembled leather with a tiny bit of onion cream, if your expecting me to eat something that dry then at least serve some decent liquid with it. I then was asked if I would like anything else of the menu, as I felt pressurised due to the staff waiting and looking over my should whilst trying to read, I quickly went for the halibut. It was good but far too much sludge claimed to be crushed potatoes. The poussin was a very good dish but when he question the waiter about a few elements of the dish, he had to go to the kitchen to find out every answer, it looks like stuff need more training on the menu.

For dessert we had a fig and hazelnut chocolate brownie to share. The presentation of the dish was nice, until we dug in and tasted the garnish! PARSLEY CRESS! Yes, on a chocolate brownie! We questioned the waiter on it and all he could do was shrug his shoulders and say "it does make it look pretty"!! I was put off the dessert by this point and just wanted to leave. It then cost us £80 for 2 drinks, 2 starters, 2 mains and a shoddy dessert, and not even an apology! I was very disappointed and felt even worst for my boyfriend as he was offered a job here in the past and wanted to show me how great it was! #niceonefelix!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Many thanks for your review following your visit to Graffiti Restaurant for dinner just before Christmas. I do find it contradictory in places, but am sorry nonetheless that you found your experience disappointing. Lovely to hear that you thought our Bar staff 'brilliant'. We do receive consistently good feedback regarding the level of customer service that we offer and our team do their utmost to ensure that our guests enjoy their time here at Hotel Felix.

You refer to a ham hock terrine ordered from a set menu, which in fact we do not offer in the evening. You must have chosen from our Special's menu which is very popular with our guests. I have spoken to our Head Chef who was on duty on the evening of your visit. He is surprised at your comment that the beans in your dish were undercooked, since a cassoulet is a dish which is cooked slowly and is therefore well-cooked. With regard to the pork dish, this was cooked sous vide and would therefore have been beautifully tender. Chef tasted this dish when it was returned to the kitchen and passed it as perfectly cooked and far from ‘leather’ in its texture. With regard the ‘liquid’ that we accompany with the dishes served in our fine dining restaurant, I confirm that the latter dish was served with an onion cream and red wine jus, ensuring a good degree of contrast and flavour. You chose the halibut as a replacement for your main course, an excellent choice and I am sorry to hear that the crushed potatoes did not meet with your approval. Sludge is not a word that we would apply to beautifully cooked potatoes, pan-fried in butter and it is rare that chef receives this kind of comment. I believe that your boyfriend had reason to comment on the gratin potatoes which accompanied his poussin. This dish was actually served with polenta and not potatoes.

We do not have a chocolate brownie on our dessert menu, but rather a warm and indulgent fig and hazelnut chocolate pudding. Our pastry chef had intended to bring out the earthiness of the fig with the sweet and delicate taste of parsley cress, which is far more imaginative than a spoon full of ice-cream or such like and something which is appreciated by our discerning guests. You say that the presentation of the dish was nice and then refer to it as 'shoddy', therefore it is difficult to know exactly what your thoughts are and to be able to comment accordingly. Hash tags, we prefer to apply them to Twitter where they serve a purpose and not Tripadvisor..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,282 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing