We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Such a lovely hotel,mega friendly staff,enjoyed every minute of our stay and Cambridge is such a lovely place,it was only a two day stay in Cambridge but I'd love to go back soon :) The restaurant is a real treat too :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budapest-York82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

What a lovely review - thank you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Felix in the future, perhaps for a longer stay so that you can explore more of Cambridge.Do be sure to check our website for our special seasonal promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Arrived early Saturday morning and received a very warm welcome, could not be more helpful. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. Room very comfortable, evening meal delicious and breakfast served at speed! A very peaceful stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 737Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad that you appreciated our high standards of hospitality and I have shared your feedback with the team here at Hotel Felix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked a night here without any real knowledge of the hotel or the area, but it seemed to be in the right location for what we wanted. Have to say it was a real gem. Staff were very attentive. Hotel was clean and well presented with some interesting art work. The hotel was a brisk 20 walk into Cambridge itself, although there was also a bus stop close by, and taxi's were plentiful. We stayed in the Penthouse which was very comfortable, and completely noise free. Fresh milk was available in the fridge in the room, which was a very welcome touch compared to the usual UHT stuff.

If there was one negative it was that we didn't receive our promised 'turn down' service, which would have been good to have our stock of tea bags etc replenished, but this didn't spoil what was otherwise an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueboy0461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. 'A real gem' - what a lovely way to describe our lovely hotel and we thoroughly agree with you! We are fast gaining a reputation for our collection of contemporary art and I am pleased that you appreciated it. I am so very sorry that you did not receive the turn down service that you had asked for. This was very remiss of Housekeeping and I do apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I came here on no prior recommendation last minute with my other half and was immediately impressed with the reception staff and interior of the hotel. Thick carpets and modern tasteful design. Parking is free and easy and there is also free wifi. Very easy to get into Cambridge centre by bus (every 10 mins for £2, or taxi £7). A very pleasant atmosphere, modern clean rooms. Would make an ideal wedding venue. Bar restaurant also nicely decorated. Breakfast was perfect. I would certainly return and recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank catscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

How lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent impromptu stay. Hotel Felix is a four star boutique hotel and its interior reflects this. Tasteful interior design, a wonderful and eclectic collection of contemporary art and a vibrant atmosphere add to our unique style. Our beautiful hotel is a sought after venue for weddings throughout the year and it is licensed for civil ceremonies and partnerships both inside and outside in our charming garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked afternoon tea at the hotel for mothers day. The reviews and website suggested it was a perfect place. The hotel was a little further from the city centre than is practical for walking and therefore you would need to drive in and pay for parking. The reception and dining areas were lovely, however the mens toilets had a what appeared to be long term water damage and were dirtier than I would have expected. We were seated promptly in the orangery. From this point on things deteriorated, it took an age to be served and when the food arrived, each member of the party had one sandwich, a scone, two tiny meringues, and a small carrot cake. The quality of the sandwich's was average but even our eight year old was still hungry. We therefore asked for a second round. 45 minutes later this had still not appeared and we complained and asked again, a further 20 minutes passed and still no food, therefore a final complaint and the waiter said not to worry as they wouldn't charge for the extra sandwiches. (I have never been to any afternoon tea where extra sandwiches and cakes were not already free)., Finally the extras arrived by which time the scones were cold, and the tea had all been drunk. The requested meeting with the general manager never materialised and due to the length of time we waited, we could not get into Cambridge before the sights closed. All in all the service and staff attitude ruined the whole day. Despite the outward appearance of being a high standard hotel, we felt that it did not merit more than a three star rating and needs to invest in better customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mogul_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I was very sorry indeed to read your review and to learn that your Mothering Sunday celebrations were not as enjoyable as you would have hoped. I would comment as follows: We always recommend to our guests that they leave the car at the hotel (we do not charge for parking) and take a bus into town. They stop a short walk from the hotel and run on a frequent basis, thus saving on costly parking charges in the city centre. I have spoken to our Head Housekeeper regarding your comments about the men's toilets. They were subject to flood damage following the recent heavy rain. Furthermore, due to the water in Cambridge being very hard, we have to use water softener, which has led to a slight build up of lime scale. This is very difficult to remove, but it is an issue that has recently been looked into. It affects one or two of the urinals and may be a little unsightly, but it is far from dirty. The issue with your sandwiches was very unfortunate indeed and one for which I apologise unreservedly. It seems that several tables had asked for additional sandwiches at the same time as you, which for some reason resulted in a little confusion. I am informed that you asked to speak to the General Manager who was speaking to a guest at the time. She came to see you 7 or so minutes later, but you had already left. As such, she was unable to discuss the issue with you and put things right. The telephone number that we have for you appears to be incorrect and I would urge you to contact the hotel and speak to our General Manager, Shara Ross. Sincere apologies once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is a little way outside Cambridge City Centre - too far for many people to walk, but on a bus route. And they have a precious commodity that is hard to find locally - parking.

It suited us fine. Nice, large, well equipped room.

They have an unusual offer on Friday and Sunday nights - spend £130 in the restaurant and the room is free. We were taking advantage of this. Panic set in when they said they would not charge for some items that were slow in arriving, but they stood by the deal regardless. Was the meal worth £130 - probably not. But certainly it is a good deal overall.

The main disappointment was the relatively poor service. All their efforts were focussed on Mothers' Day lunches, to the detriment of guests.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original Georgian building are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review. As you have said, we are extremely fortunate to have plenty of parking, for which we do not charge. Many guests opt to leave the car at the hotel and take the short bus or taxi ride into central Cambridge. Indeed, Graffiti Restaurant was full to the brim with happy mothers being spoilt rotten by their families and I am sorry that this affected your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My Boyfriend and I had never been to Cambridge before and we opted to stay ay the Felix Hotel. I requested on my telephone booking could I get an early check in , as we wanted to explore as much of beautiful Cambridge while we were there. Reception were amazing throught our stay , the arranged early check in with no extra charge and nothing was too much for them and always with a genuine smile.

I can recommend having breakfast delivered by room service , for only a small surcharge of £3.50, a nice touch for a relaxing weekend. They also had a lovely restaurant in the hotel , which looked amazing and at reasonable prices. if you ask the reception , they will email you a copy of the menu , prior to your stay as well.

We stayed in the premier king size room, which was only a little extra, the room was really well designed and had really tasteful decor. The bathroom had amazing underfloor heating , which you also had the option to turn off , as we stayed on a beautifull sunny weekend. It also had a bath and shower and was decorated to a really high standard .

The artwork throughout the was really was really tatseful, in some cases very alterative, which showed that the hotel whilst being traditional in the excellent way they treated their clientel , but showed they also had an edge with some of the perspex pictures and also the lovely internal trees with lights which added a touch of glamour and decadence to the hotel.

The decor was done to a very high standard and would highly recomment anyone to stay at the Felix, its situated about 10 mins in a can from the center of Cambridge and can easliy be walked in about 25 mins , or alternatively you cn catch a bus , just up the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay only £10 extra to upgrade , if you book directly withn the hotel, to a premier king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I was flattered to read the comments that you have made about your recent stay at our beautiful hotel and thrilled that you had such a wonderful time! I am glad that you appreciated our eclectic collection of contemporary art. The Perspex pictures which you commented on hang in Reception and are the inspiration of a very talented artist, Chris Wood. Thank you for recommending Hotel Felix which is an oasis of tranquillity and calm, just a short drive from the centre of Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 37 in Cambridge
1,946 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,516 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 37 in Cambridge
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £112 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing