We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate rather than boutique”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Corporate rather than boutique”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent two nights here. The plus points are that the hotel is relatively close to the centre of Cambridge, costing me £5.50 in a taxi, has ample free parking, is clean. Mini bar with fresh milk for tea and coffee. Negatives are that there was work taking place either outside or in another room close by that was quite a disturbance when wanting a lie in. It would have been nice to have been informed of this at check in. The air conditioning was not working. When mentioned at check out we were merely told that this is a problem as the units are new and should be working but there was a problem with the contractors. No apology was given. We were in a Premier King Room which according to the website has underfloor heating in the bathroom. Not the case in this room.
We did have a rather good evening meal in Graffitti Restaurant.
Overall we felt that Hotel Felix was rather impersonal and a little too big to be branded boutique. But then what is the definition of a boutique hotel? We can only describe this hotel as average as we have stayed in much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the disruption caused to you by the work men installing air-conditioning in our bedrooms. This is almost complete now, but I do agree that Reception should have told you about the work being carried out when you checked in. The bathrooms in all of our bedrooms have underfloor heating. What I suspect has happened in your case is that the switch has been turned off. Housekeeping continually check each time a room is serviced to find that the previous guest has turned the switch off. I am also sorry to hear that you feel Hotel Felix to be rather impersonal. We pride ourselves in the very warm and personable service which we offer to our guests, for which we receive many favourable comments. Furthermore, the distinctive and individual style of the hotel, its luxurious touches, high degree of comfort and hospitality and fabulous art collection surely make Hotel Felix the perfect example of a boutique hotel. We like to think so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    398
    180
    95
    46
See reviews for
184
559
25
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wombourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed recently on a weekend deal with two night's stay. I found that the accommodation setting was good, quiet and comfortable room. There were some nice touches, like complementary free fresh milk in the bedrooms and bathrobes provided. Staff on the desk were helpful about buses into Cambridge (as it is about 30 -45 minutes walk to centre) and buses run every 10 minutes and the bus stops within easy walking distance from the hotel. The ambience was nice with a variety of lounge areas to sit with guests.
One or two little niggles, fresh home baed biscuits that were not made made with butter but cheap margarine, spoiled what woudl have been another nice touch and booking room with breakfast to find that all but a continental breakfast carried a surcharge, stopped me giving this a 5 star rating. At this price, definitely worth the stay - at full room rates, not so sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonbourneEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay on our seasonal Spring Package. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our comfortable rooms and the fresh milk that we put in the mini bars. It's incredible how many guests comment favourably on this, having been so used to the habit of other establishments of sourcing little pots of UHT milk - not pleasant I agree! I'm sorry to hear that your stay was marred by a couple of niggles. I have spoken to our Head Chef regarding your comments relating to his homemade biscuits containing 'cheap margarine'. He has confirmed that he does not use margarine at all in his cooking, preferring high quality butter and oils. We include Continental breakfast in our room rates, however full cooked English breakfast is included if guests book directly with the hotel. Sorry that this point let us down. We like 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Best of the many Cambridge hotels we have stayed in. Large well-appointed room with huge comfortable bed. Fresh milk and proper coffee in the room. Underfloor heating in the bathroom. Bliss. Food at dinner was top notch and again some of the best we have had over many years visiting Cambridge. Nice, helpful staff. Easy and quick to get a bus into the centre of town if you don't want to drive or walk. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
It was lovely to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. On behalf of the team here at Hotel Felix, we look forward to making your next visit as enjoyable as your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It really is the small things that make a difference, isn't it?
Hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee, and while I'm writing about tea and coffee, there were three types of tea, and decaff coffee too which was filter in a special little bag. Plenty of it, and (I love this) FRESH MILK in the mini fridge!
The room was spotless, beautifully lit, perfect temperature and lovely tjick curtains to keep the light out.
The bathroom was super, a bath and a shower, lovely thick warm towels, and underfloor heating.
We asked for breakfast in our room as we were on a schedule, and it was super. Thick hot toast, loose leaf tea, creamy yoghurt and fresh fruit, and fresh juice
- not cartoned rubbish.
The hotel was quiet without
feeling deserted, and in a really handy location. Rebooking soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeatherArmchairGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to hear that the efforts to which we go to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay are well received. The team here at Hotel Felix work incredibly hard and I have shared your comments with them. Do be sure to keep an eye on our website for our special promotions and please contact us to book so that we can personally oversee your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very smart hotel in old converted house with two new wings added. Dining room has terrace overlooking garden. Bedrooms comfortable. Not bad breakfast buffet. Do not stay here if you want to be in the middle of Cambridge. It is about 10-15 minute taxi or bus ride into the centre of town, or 20-30 minutes to the station (£10-11 taxi fare). It is about half way between Cambridge and Girton on the Huntingdon Road. Fine if you have your own car, Plenty of parking space at the hotel, but parking in central Cambridge is difficult. Quite expensive given its location. Fine for business trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bactrianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I would not recommend that you go to this hotel. It is not cheap and the breakfast (if you can call it so) is extra. The service is very poor but this is all down to poor management. We complained and an offer was made to take off the price of the bacon. The manageress actually argued with us! I could go on but you get the gist. The arrogant receptionist finished off our stay! I had the impression that no one really gives a dam. I wrote to complain but as yet have not received a reply.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryr803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review. Having checked your reservation, you booked on a room only basis, i.e. no breakfast included. This was confirmed to you at the time of booking and the cost of breakfast was indicated in the event that you wished to change your mind, which you did. You mention that the cost of your room was not cheap. You booked on our Friday Special rate and paid £85 for a room in a four star boutique hotel which I believe represents incredibly good value for money, especially for a Cambridge Hotel. You say that our General Manager argued with you, however this was not in the least intentional. She was merely trying to resolve the situation regarding your breakfast and I do apologise that the bacon was not as crispy as you had requested. You also say that the receptionist on duty was 'arrogant'. This particular receptionist is in fact one of the most experienced, delightful, polite and pleasant receptionists that this hotel has the pleasure of employing and she is a real credit to us. I am particularly aggrieved to hear that you feel that the team working here at Hotel Felix 'do not give a damn'. Customer service is what we whole-heartedly believe in and deliver to a high standard. I am just so sorry that you did not appreciate it. Your mother emailed the hotel on the 19th April outlining her concerns and was responded to by our General Manager on the 22nd April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I don't know what it is about the Felix. It could be fantastic. It never quite is. Yesterday we popped in for an impromptu celebration lunch. The decor is lovely and the Easter display on the bar liked fab. For once the service was not bad. But the food was shameful. Reheated Thai curry that looked and tasted like it was left over from the day before. Right down to the pile of dry reheated rice. Too taken aback to complain at the time - it was just so sub par. Something is amiss at this hotel. Don't know quite what it is. But it never manages to deliver on all fronts.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
It was very sad to read your recent review and I sorry that your celebration lunch was disappointing. I have shared your comments with our Head Chef. Whilst I apologise profusely that your experience was not more enjoyable, I would add that Graffiti is an award-winning two rosette restaurant. As such, everything that is served to guests including the items on our Café Bar Menu is cooked from fresh and is certainly not re-heated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
892 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing