We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rate per night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good rate per night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Gd rate per night for the area and is not like chain hotels. It is a boutique hotel, food is ok but expensive. Rooms are clean and staff are friendly. Definitely recommend this hotel to others who want a change in the usual chain hotels that you get in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Priya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hotel Felix is a privately-owned hotel and as such the beautiful interior design, contemporary art collection and the service that we provide sets us apart from chain hotels, many of which are dictated to by Head Office. I'm glad that you feel that we offer good value for money - we intend to do just that. With regard to food, we offer a variety of menus from the à la carte menu which is served in our fine dining Graffiti Menu, to our set price lunch menu and our Café Bar menu, both of which are very affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    378
    170
    90
    45
See reviews for
174
537
24
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels in the Cambridge area over the years, and we decided to try this after my partner had a business meeting there and he had been impressed with what he had seen of the hotel.

It is a nice looking hotel and the welcome by reception was extremely friendly and efficient.

As we were only staying the one night, we went for the standard king size room. It is extremely rare we don’t upgrade or have a junior suite, so I was a little nervous. I needn’t have been as it was a very good sized room, with a big comfy bed (and it was comfy!). It was Bank Holiday weekend, so although the hotel was busy and our room was on the ground floor it was very quiet in our actual room. There wasn’t a lot of wardrobe space, plenty for one night, but I believe the larger rooms have more wardrobe space and with that in mind had we have been staying for more than 2 nights, I would upgrade – but definitely not worth it for one night! The bathroom was well designed with a separate shower – I really do not like showers over the bath for many reasons including safety – and it had under floor heating, which was frankly divine!

The conservatory area is lovely to sit and relax in (the hotel cannot be blamed for the unruly children, that lay with the parents – who didn’t seem to know they had children!). The gardens are beautiful and again there is a lovely sitting area (sadly, we had traditional Bank Holiday weather!). We had dinner at the hotel, and I wouldn’t say it was wonderful, because frankly it was just about average. They had run out of my chosen starter and I personally felt the menu was a bit lacking in choice. Having said that, my dining companions thoroughly enjoyed their meal and I am fussy eater! Breakfast was okay, a good continental selection and there is a separate menu for a cooked breakfast (there is a supplement for this). I don’t know what the cooked breakfasts were like, as ours never arrived!

The only reason I haven't given an excellent is dinner was just okay and breakfast never turned up. Also, although the service was very friendly it was somewhat slow (very slow to be honest) and there were language issues on quite a few occasions - but that is much the same in any hotel these days!

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cambridge or the surrounding area (we were racing at Huntingdon). In my view, the hotel is good value, with friendly staff, the rooms are lovely and it is easy to get to and easy to park – and it is a short trip into Cambridge. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate17uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I really appreciate the feedback that you have given following your stay over Bank Holiday weekend, but am sorry that the sun was shy as it tends to be just when we have a little more time to enjoy it! I apologise also for the behaviour of the unruly children that you mentioned. We don't see them very often, but tend to find that dogs are better behaved and we welcome them in our rooms. You mention our comfy beds as most guests do. All bedrooms have Hypnos mattresses and underfloor heating in bathrooms, as you mention. Sorry that we just missed out on an 'excellent' score and I have pointed out your comments regarding service to our General Manager. Great to hear that you appreciated the customer service for which we have a really fantastic reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We took advantage of their Spring offer to get a superior double and dinner for two (including late check out and breakfast) for a very reasonable £140 and enjoyed our stay. The staff were very polite and helpful, the room nice (if a little dark/plain) and dinner was delicious. We found the tea tray eventually in the cupboard, and thought it a nice touch that the milk was fresh (and stored in the mini bar). It would have been nice, however, to have had a biscuit or two to go with the tea!
Breakfast was perfectly adequate - a help yourself bar of juice, pastries and yoghurt/fruit, with the option of ordering a cooked breakfast - it was this that let them down slightly as it was just a bit ordinary/ slightly dried out, and they didn't quite get our order right - the table next to us had even more of a mix up!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL_NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. Our Spring offer did represent good value for money didn't it? I was very sorry to hear that your cooked breakfast did not meet our usual standards, for which I am very sorry indeed. If you apologised to your server, this would have allowed us to put things right. I am unsure as to whether you did or did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ware hertfordshire
Level Contributor
223 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went to this hotel on a Groupon voucher deal.In the write up it mentions an excellent rooms and and Restaurant.........Can I say that this is true however on our visit the food was a lot to be desired and ruined the evening.The setting and location of the Hotel is good where if you want to you can catch a bus into the city which is not to far away. Our room was excellent but a very limited choice of tv channels(if your interested) all the facilities are there.The bar has a limited amount of ales There is also a garden area which is excellent to sit outside when the old british summer arrives for its one day,As i said we had a bad expierence in the restaurant but this was made up by the management and can say that the meal we eventually recieved was one of the best meals ever.All in all an excellent venue,I would of give 5 but for the original meal,,,,,5 next time hopefully

Room Tip: We had room 20. not to far from anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank displeased064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. Did you intend to review Hotel Felix? I say this simply because we have never run a promotion through Groupon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have recently held a number of family celebrations at the Graffiti and have always been delighted with the care and attention to detail that we are afforded. My mother is disabled and has very specific needs in terms of positioning, both for comfort and dignity. The staff are kind and respectful in ensuring her needs are met. We have enjoyed lunches, afternoon teas and evening meals, we consider the staff and management are a very professional and competent team. It's one of our favourites! They've even arranged balloon bouquets for special days!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
What a delight to read your review - thank you so much! Here at Hotel Felix, we believe in the true art of hospitality and do our very best to deliver it to the highest standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

A gorgeous hotel in beautiful surroundings. Room was comfortable, the underfloor bathroom heating a nice bonus. Only thing not to my taste was the food which was a shame as we had booked a special offer which included breakfast and evening meal. The evening meal was from a set menu with little choice (a fish dish, Meat dish or veggie option) We could've choosen from a different menu but that carried a large supplement. Would stay again but without the food

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrier888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, but sorry that you were a little disappointed with the lack of choice for dinner. You had booked on our special Spring Break for which a set dinner menu was included. This was stated on our website and in the confirmation letter that you would have received. A set menu containing a fish, meat and vegetarian choice is surely acceptable? You could have paid a little more and chosen from our varied and inventive a la carte menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent two nights here. The plus points are that the hotel is relatively close to the centre of Cambridge, costing me £5.50 in a taxi, has ample free parking, is clean. Mini bar with fresh milk for tea and coffee. Negatives are that there was work taking place either outside or in another room close by that was quite a disturbance when wanting a lie in. It would have been nice to have been informed of this at check in. The air conditioning was not working. When mentioned at check out we were merely told that this is a problem as the units are new and should be working but there was a problem with the contractors. No apology was given. We were in a Premier King Room which according to the website has underfloor heating in the bathroom. Not the case in this room.
We did have a rather good evening meal in Graffitti Restaurant.
Overall we felt that Hotel Felix was rather impersonal and a little too big to be branded boutique. But then what is the definition of a boutique hotel? We can only describe this hotel as average as we have stayed in much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for the disruption caused to you by the work men installing air-conditioning in our bedrooms. This is almost complete now, but I do agree that Reception should have told you about the work being carried out when you checked in. The bathrooms in all of our bedrooms have underfloor heating. What I suspect has happened in your case is that the switch has been turned off. Housekeeping continually check each time a room is serviced to find that the previous guest has turned the switch off. I am also sorry to hear that you feel Hotel Felix to be rather impersonal. We pride ourselves in the very warm and personable service which we offer to our guests, for which we receive many favourable comments. Furthermore, the distinctive and individual style of the hotel, its luxurious touches, high degree of comfort and hospitality and fabulous art collection surely make Hotel Felix the perfect example of a boutique hotel. We like to think so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing