We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but staff lacked sense of urgency” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but staff lacked sense of urgency”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The rooms in this hotel are lovely with large beds and lovely bathrooms with separate showers, the bar area is nice as is the restaurant, we only had breakfast at this hotel as Cambridge City Centre is only a half hour walk away. They were so busy on Sunday that the staff seemed to be running around like headless chickens not really achieving anything! The tables needed clearing and the place looked a mess!It was a sort of self service where you went to a part of the restaurant and queued, then someone put your breakfast on a plate in front of you, but the Monday was so much nicer when the staff actually took your order at the table. And they seemed to have time to clear the tables, not sure if there is a need for more staff or a need for more organisation. The breakfast wasn't actually that great either, which was really disappointing, the staff could really do with putting a smile on their faces also, shame because it could be fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review, however I was sorry to read about the couple of issues which spoilt your stay. We did have a slight issue with service in the restaurant last Sunday morning. This was due to the fact that we had a couple of large groups who all came downstairs for breakfast at the same time, which put undue pressure on the kitchen. In addition to this, the weather had improved and some guests chose to eat al fresco on the Terrace which meant that one or two servers were taken out of Graffiti Restaurant. We usually get things spot on and receive amazing feedback. But last Sunday, we had to put our hands up and say sorry for not doing so. I apologise profusely for this being the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    378
    168
    88
    45
See reviews for
168
531
24
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel in a pleasant and quiet location just outside Cambridge Centre. We stayed in a double premier room and it ticked all the boxes. Contemporary design, large comfy bed and sizeable bathroom with bath and separate walk in shower. After a great day enjoying the sights of Cambridge which is only a short walk away, we enjoyed a refreshing cocktail on the terrace overlooking the gardens. A delicious and well presented full cooked breakfast set us on our way the next day.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the internal courtyard to avoid comings and goings from car parks on both sides of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review and I am delighted that we are ticking all of your boxes! It's a real treat to sit outside during the Summer months isn't it. Our Garden Terrace is south-facing and captures the sun right into the evening, perfect for pre-dinner drinks and sun downers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I regularly stay at The Felix for work and I have to say its by far the best hotel in Cambridge. The bedrooms are relatively spacious, the rooms are well equipped with everything you need and importantly it's a quiet hotel thanks to the corridor design, I always sleep well here.
The staff are incredibly friendly and always endeavour to meet your every need. The restaurant in the Felix is worth the visit alone, everything I have eaten here and believe me I have tried most things on the menu, is fantastic, really great, innovative choices. The wine list is also fantastic and the staff are happy to help you choose a bottle if you're not sure what to have. My only complaint and this is me being picky, is that if you dine as part of a larger group the service can be slower. I'll return here again and again. This hotel doesn't have a gym which is a shame as given how good the restaurant is you will probably need it! ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow... what a fantastic review. Thank you so much! I have shared your feedback with the team here and I am sure that they will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Felix has the potential to be a real gem, the comfortable and well appointed rooms and secluded location creates a relaxing atmosphere. The staff did their best and severed us well, the food was generally very good and we had a perfect weekend in cambridge. The walk to the centre allowed us to burn a few extra calories.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I's so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a lovely weekend in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

First and foremost this is a great hotel just outside the main hustle and bustle of Cambridge and takes only half an hour to walk in or you can catch the bus which takes 10 minutes. Our room was clean and comfortable with nice beds with great views.

Having said all that there were a couple of niggles for me. First and foremost the Hotel Felix advertises itself as a pet friendly hotel but we were told in very unfriendly terms by the receptionist when we arrived that our dog could not be left alone in the room which was going to stop us going out in Cambridge as we had a booked a couple of meals in different restaurants.

It was only after speaking to the Manager that we were told we could as long we left a mobile number with reception. This apprarantly was because previous guests had allowed their dogs to bark and distrub other residents which I get but why should I be penalised for that. There is no mention on their website about leaving dogs along but anyway it was resolved swiftly, I just think front of house should be more accomodating

Aside from that was disppointed with the overall quality of the food. The Full English was very disppointing and barely covered half the plate. One sausage, one piece of bacon, one tomato - you get the picture. If I was paying I would feel ripped off but as it was included in the price I was not that bothered but it was not very hearty either

Finally had a meal in the resturant on the Saturday night. This meal was disppointing, raw potatoes were served, lack of seasoning in the food, service a bit hit and miss - I think we both regretted not going out into Cambridge to eat

Having taken all this away I can't fault the room, the staff and the room facilities and the great location with excellent grounds to walk the dog. Just a couple of things that need improving on

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardBraisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix for your recent stay in Cambridge. It is in a lovely location isn't it. Just five minutes' drive from the city centre, it makes a wonderful bolt hole from the hustle and bustle of town.

Hotel Felix is a dog-friendly hotel. We accept dogs in our rooms, but not in our restaurant. However they are more than welcome on our Garden Terrace and in our beautiful grounds. What's more, there are some great walks close to us where dogs can be let off their lead. We do ask that guests do not allow dogs to be left on their own in bedrooms for numerous reasons really. It can be distressing for them to be left in a strange room and may cause damage to the furniture or bark, which could disturb other guests. Apart from that, we very much love dogs, especially the owners of the hotel who bring theirs each week when they come and stay.

I am sorry to hear that you found our cooked breakfast disappointing. We actually do an 8 item breakfast which we feel is fairly priced and guests are of course welcome to help themselves to delicious items from the breakfast buffet.

I am also sorry to learn that you found dinner in Graffiti disappointing. We had no other complaints regarding raw potatoes that evening. Did you mention this whilst you were dining so that it could be corrected? Seasoning is of course a matter of taste, but better to under than over season. With regard to service, it was a busy Saturday night and depending on what you ordered (which I was unable to check because it was not on your bill. You must have paid for your meal in cash), some dishes take longer than others to cook. I do hope that this will not deter you from returning in the future and that we can welcome you and your dog to the tranquil setting of Hotel Felix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is very well appointed - comfy beds; good clean rooms; excellent decor throughout, lovely gardens. However the food service was not good. one evening we waited for 30 mins for bar meals to be served, and had to give up waiting for cooked food at breakfast. The staff though were very helpful - especially housekeeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon12022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and comfort of Hotel Felix. I am so sorry that you stay was let down by the service in the restaurant. For this, please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend and was amazed at what a fab hotel it was. Stunning building and gardens. Room was very spacious, I stayed in a king suite. Really clean and well decorated. Reception staff were fab and really friendly. Nice restaurant and bar. Really couldn't fault it. And a good location for the centre with plenty of parking!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LYDIA165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review which I have shared with the team here at Hotel Felix. Great to hear that you couldn't fault a thing! Indeed our location, just five minutes' drive from the City centre, is one of our assets and we have plenty of free parking for guests too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing