We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and excellent value”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for one night with friends on a special deal that also offered us an upgraded room. The welcome was friendly and very efficient and we found the room extremely comfortable and very well equipped. We also ate in the restaurant and although the choice was relatively limited, we all found the food tasty and very well presented. Breakfast was also nicely done with really good options, including a delicious vegetarian breakfast and some lovely homemade muesli. Service at breakfast was slow but to be fair all the hot food is cooked fresh so perhaps this is to be expected. This was our second stay at Hotel Felix and although it might not be perfect, it was really good value, comfortable and friendly. We have stayed in most of the hotels in the area during the 3 years our daughter was at the university and this is definitely the pick of the bunch and pretty conveniently situated just outside the city centre and close to the Fitzwilliam, Churchill and Murray Edwards colleges.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JimmaJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed staying with us over the past three years whilst your daughter was at Cambridge University. How lovely to hear from you that Hotel Felix is the pick of the bunch of hotels in Cambridge. How flattering and hopefully a reflection of the hard work that goes into ensuring that our guests enjoy their stay with us. I guess that your daughter has now graduated but hopefully you will find an excuse to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We only went for dinner so cannot rate the hotel. I had heard good reports so booked a table for dinner to celebrate a birthday. The signing for the restaurant disappeared along the corridor so we followed the sound of voices as there was no one about. We entered the bar and were offered drinks and the choice of the lounge area or our table. We chose to have our drinks at the table and were led into the restaurant where we were offered a table in the window and were left to find it ourselves. As there were two we noticed one was set for three so sat at the table set for two. We made our choices of food and then waited at least 30 minutes before our first course arrived. This was the same for everyone else some of whom were waiting for their first course before we arrived. Our main course of lamb arrived very quickly afterwards and consisted of two very small pieces of meat, three pieces of broccolli and a slick of apricot jam all overpowered by what I believe was soy sauce. I admit it was our fault that we did not see the vegetable choices listed seperately but they should have been pointed out to us when our order was taken (I believe staff everywhere are urged to 'sell up' where they see the opportunity). We ordered a sweet and coffee, the coffee arriving before the sweet but by then we were past caring. We were not the only diners who's coffee arrived first either. No one came to see if there was anything else we required and we had to wait a while to grab someones attention so we could ask for the bill (which contained a 10% service charge!) Whilst we were waiting a saucer of sweets arrived to eat with our coffee!! This is a 4 star hotel. We have dined in 5 star hotel restaurants and the food and service here was not 4 star The staff served us when they had food to provide but no one actually cared about the guests or their dining experience i.e.show guests to the table, ask if we would like vegetables with our meal, did we want any more wine with our meal, would we like a sweet as opposed to being asked did we actually want one and note that diners had not had a sweet yet, before serving coffee. We intended booking for another occasion had our experience been better. We have eaten better meals in a pub restaurant. This establishment should be pulling out all the stops as the University Arms hotel in the city centre is closing for refurbishment.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jenherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I was so sorry to read your review. Graffiti is an award-winning AA two rosette restaurant serving critically-acclaimed food. All of the dishes which we serve are cooked to order and as such, there is sometimes a small delay for certain dishes. We usually receive excellent feedback on the service that we provide, but sadly we did not live up to our reputation when you dined with us. I can only apologise for this and hope that you may consider dining with us again in the future?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Oh dear!
Nice hotel, trying hard but failing miserably!
So disorganised in the restaurant is unbelievable! Hours wait for a starter! Had to get our own drinks! Food portions ok if you are an ant!
Breakfast disgraceful!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thecreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We have been challenged by a very popular promotion which we have recently run. As such the restaurant has been full at breakfast time and in the evening, with many guests arriving for their meal at the same time. This has put pressure on service in the restaurant and on the chefs in the kitchen. We have a very good reputation for the award-winning food which we serve and for the friendly and efficient attitude of our waiting team. I am so sorry that we did not deliver to our usual high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an over night Travelzoo deal, dinner and breakfast included.
Arrived around 4pm, first impression, very good, pleasing setting and gardens. Friendly welcome. Decor very nice, beautiful fresh flowers. We had a superior room which was very nice.
Booked dinner for 7.45pm. Partner had to go to the bar after waiting 15 minutes for a drink. Menu was a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and pudding (2 puddings and cheese & biscuits) for TZ all inclusive peeps. I thought a choice of 3 was pretty poor. You could order off the al a carte menu for supplements. Starters were around £7-£8 .. Overpriced and very small!
We both had haddock, we then sat and waited an hour for it to turn up! You could see this was the poor service across the restaurant. Another hour after our starter came the main! Partner had to go to bar again for drinks! Absolutely dismal service. Partner paid the £8 supplement for steak. I had goats cheese and paid £3.25 for 8 hand cut chips, without the chips I would have been starving! Had I paid £22 for this choice I'd would have been very disappointed. Plate was cold, bits of dish were warm, others stone cold, flavour, just ok. Steak was nicely cooked however.
I had poached peach for desert, small, nicely presently but rather bland. Partner had cheese & biscuits, more reasonable portion.
Coffee and petit fours were advertised.... No petit fours and another half hour wait for coffee. I asked for cream, we got milk.
Breakfast finishes at 10am, bit early for us on a Sunday. Got down at 9.20am. You order main breakfast, after a 3/4 hour wait, it was the size of a children's meal! Shocking! Had to ask for toast, as it wasn't bought out with coffee. Poor poor poor!
Such a shame as a buffet type, help yourself would have been quicker and easier for everyone involved.
Nice young couple next to us at breakfast, they were very disappointed with dinner too and breakfast they described as 'pathetic'!
All in all such a shame as beautiful hotel and grounds, shocking food and service!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I was very sorry to read your review and I do apologise that you were disappointed by the service in the restaurant. As part of our Travelzoo package, we are offering a taster menu with a choice of tree starters, three mains and three desserts. Special offers often have a limited choice for that exact reason. Guests staying on our normal published dinner bed and breakfast rates have more choice because they have paid more to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our second stay at the Hotel Felix and just as enjoyable as the first. Very friendly staff. Located outside the city centre but in nice grounds and it is a well-maintained building. Boutique hotel/decor with amenities to match.

Breakfast time on a Sunday is a two hour slot 8.00 - 10.00 am and can get very busy. Our service was slow on the Monday morning though. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening as we were returning too late. Room service was good, if rather expensive.

Notes left for housekeeping regarding replenishment of tea and biscuits were complied with. Nice touch is that fresh milk is left in the fridge (in the room) so no having to contend with that horrible UHT stuff!

Will happily return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JellyBean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Suzanne Richardson at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Welcome back to Hotel Felix and thank you for your fair and very positive feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we can tempt you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on a DB&B basis and got an excellent deal through Travelzoo. The main old building of the hotel is really lovely with a gorgeous patio and garden out the back. You would almost feel like you were in a country hotel save for the road noise! We were upgraded to a Executive room with a super king bed which was really nice, unfortunately we didn't have AC and it was a hot summers evening but we could open the windows and they supplied a fan so it wasn't too bad. It was all very clean and the bathroom had a separate shower and bath and white co toiletries were provided as well as tea and coffee making facilities (even fresh milk in the fridge). The dinner that we had was gorgeous and plentiful! We also had a drink on the terrace before dinner and a few glasses of bubbles with our meal. The particular highlight was the cheeseboard which was easily enough for 2 to share with homemade biscuits.
The breakfast again was lovely abd nice quality. The service and breakfast slightly let it down as it seemed a little disorganised and items on the continental buffet selection were slow to be replaced. The cooked breakfast was delicious.
The hotel is a good 30min walk into Cambridge which was fine on a sunny day but may feel very long along a busy road in the rain/cold!
We would definitely recommend for people to stay here, especially if you get a bargain as we did!!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback. Hotel Felix is situated in Cambridge and not in the country, although I do understand that our setting away from the main road leads one to the impression that we are situated in the middle of the countryside. We are situated just off a leafy boulevard which is a five minute drive into the centre of Cambridge, It does get busy in rush hour, but other than that it is not too noisy. Most of our bedrooms have air conditioning and we are completing installation in the remainder of the rooms by the end of this year. I'm glad that you liked the fresh milk that we put in the fridges in our bedrooms. This is something which many guests comment on and which is simple to provide. As you say, it is so much nicer that the awful little tubs of UHT milk which you find in some hotels. Your feedback regarding food is also much appreciated. It is good to hear from guests who appreciate high quality food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very helpful friendly staff, we had a kingsize room, it was clean and very comfortable, with a large bathroom. Great outdoor area to sit on a summers eve, we went for the package dinner B&B, great value at £270, the food was delicious and looked like a work of art on the plate.

Later in the evening I fancied a biscuit with my coffee, when I asked if they had any, they said no, but would go and look, he returned with 4 lovely homemade shortbread biscuits, it's these little gestures of service that make all the difference.

Good selection for breakfast, homemade granola, fresh fruits, pastries and a selection of cooked choices cooked to order.

Good location to centre of Cambridge, short drive £6-7 by taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Great to know that we offer good value for money and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,418 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,839 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
922 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £117 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing