We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Felix
Nearby Hotels
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
490
436
196
107
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
436
196
107
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraffiti restaurantwhite company toiletrieslovely hoteljunior suitecity centreunderfloor heatingmini barfresh milkbath and showercontinental breakfastfull englishreception staffthe ground floorquiet locationenjoyable stayplenty of parkingfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,119 - 1,124 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I’m a frequent business traveller but I must stress not a frequent complainer.

Hotel Felix is an ok 3 star hotel but definitely not 4 star. On arrival i was ignored by the first 2 reception staff and begrudgingly acknowledged by a third. The room was ok and very comfortable for a 3 star hotel but definitely not the flawless standard and quality of a 4 star, decor looking tired, paintwork scuffed and bathroom grouting potentially done by brother in law who is an IT manager.

The good news is the bar and restaurant staff were extremely personable and welcoming and a great asset to the Hotel.
End of good news, our restaurant experience felt rushed, the menus were handed out in the bar and then our order asked for several times within a 20 minute period (all we wanted to do was have a pre-dinner drink) the food is good but i don’t subscribe to the outdated statement “that our menu is designed to be satisfactory over the entire 3 course” the portions are small very small the starter is nearly the size of the main course. The 1980’s “Cuisine Nouvelle” fashion was a joke and quite insulting to be served in 2010

The going rate for an entire welsh lamb at the moment is £75, I paid £20 for 4 tiny pieces a pea smudge and a square of cold potato. The cheese, biscuits and fruitcake (how do you get this wrong) well it didn’t come with fruitcake but did arrive with 3 tiny biscuits enough for the first piece of cheese only, after that you’re on your own.

If you’re looking to stay in Cambridge (which this isn’t) and be totally spoiled Hotel du Vin and Midsummer house is where you should be heading

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Thank you for your valued feedback. I'm sorry that Hotel Felix did not manage to meet your expectations during your stay with us. All of your comments are being looked into in detail. We do have a regular painter and decorator on site who updates all of our bedrooms on a regular basis to keep them fresh and contemporary and on your comments we have asked him to take a look at the bedrooms again for any issues.

I'm so pleased that you found our restaurant service to be of a high standard, this is the standard which we aim to deliver throughout the hotel and we do generally receive very good comments on our customer service so I am disappointed that you did not echo these comments regarding reception team.

We are more than happy to provide larger portions or additions to meals upon request in the restaurant but your comment has been passed to the chef.

Again, thank you for your feedback which we have taken seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Wanted to go somewhere special for our 10th! Saw this and had to go for it as we have a son called..... well you can guess!
Booked the Grafitti break. £100pppn which includes a credit of £30pp for a meal- so basically you pay for drinks.
Got a room upgrade when we arrived so nice start despite the appalling weather. Room was nice and big and contains White Company goodies which wenet down well with the wife.
Had an excellent meal. Portions didn't feel small. Though service was abit too quick we think.
Went back to our room and enjoyed one of the movies for £7.50 on pay per view.
Ordered breakfast to be delivered next morning- be warned that a cooked breakfast is not included in the cost of your stay.
Did ask on check out why it's called Felix- no one knew tut tut!!
Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wazzaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you chose us for such a special occasion.

The hotel takes its name from Saint Felix of Burgundy who was Apostle to the East Angles (that later became known as East Anglia). You will be very interested to know that another reason for the hotel's name is the fact that Felix is the name of the owners' son also!! I have now told all of the reception team this information for future enquiries.

We would love to welcome you back to Hotel Felix in the future so please let us know when you have reason to visit Cambridge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This is a four-star hotel in extensive grounds, close to the city centre. It's an old country-house that has been renovated and extended. The bedrooms and bathrooms are modern and tasteful and you wake up to the sound of birdsong. Large, free car-park. Modern restaurant with fresh, healthy breakfast options. It's slightly out-of-town so you need to take the bus or taxi to the centre, but the taxis come quickly and the journey takes less than ten minutes. The staff are very professional and did a great job when a human error needed to be recognised and corrected. They charge for internet - something that I always object to in a hotel of this category. I've tried several hotels and guest-houses in Cambridge and this is the first one I want to go back to, even if it's expensive for a personal (rather than a business) budget.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and will be returning to the hotel in the future. I wanted to let you know that we do offer one hour complimentary WiFi to residents of the hotel and after this we charge £2.50 per hour which we feel is a reasonable charge. Please accept my apologies if you were not informed of this by reception. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Hotel generally fine except for dinner where the size of the servings we more like children portions for the main course and the cheese dessert but at adult prices. Really not acceptable for a 4 star hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opentdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you for your review of Hotel Felix. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the portions served in Graffiti restaurant. We pride ourselves on the reputation of Graffiti and we are always keen to hear feedback regarding the dishes served. Graffiti is designed as a fine dining restaurant and as such we do not serve large portions but we do aim to offer value for money and leave our guests satisfied and so I would like to apologise if you feel that we did not meet your expectations with dinner.
Your comments have been passed to our head chef who will be looking into portion size, I hope that you have reason to return to Hotel Felix and dine with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Four of us stayed here for two nights in April 2010 and couldn't fault the hotel. Everything about it is classy, from the helpful, friendly staff to the beautifully-designed rooms and the relaxing, well-kept gounds.
My mother-in-law went to reception to ask for a bath mat and it had arrived at her room before she got back there to the surprise of her husband who wasn't expecting it! That's how quick and efficient the service was.
Close enough to the city to walk if you don't want to get a bus, far enough out to be quiet and peaceful, I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you very much for your review - we are so pleased that we managed to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you all back to Hotel Felix in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews