We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Does the Job”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on Business. The room is good, clean and has all the things you need for an overnight stay, Descent bed, TV, Coffee /Tea making facilities, etc. No Bath, but a good sized shower. They do a evening meal, and have a Bar, but its all in the reception area which does feel a bit odd. With that said my evening meal was very good, the same can't be said for the breakfast which was pretty poor. Would probably stay here again, but its not the best.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coyote69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Coyote69,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations as well as your evening meal. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    306
    148
    33
    20
See reviews for
141
210
28
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week, found the hotel easily(SatNav helped), ideal location as its just outside of the city and next to the airport, for those wanting to go into the city I would recommend the Park and Ride, its on the other side of the airport from the hotel and is easy to find, if you have the correct change it costs £2.50 for a ticket from the machine or £2.80 from the driver. We found that the room was clean, quite and in good repair, however I would agree with an earlier comment about the breakfast, we have certainly had better at other HIE hotels, that aside I will certainly use this hotel again when in the area.
One thing to mention is as usual you are expected to pay for WiFi connection, when will hotels in this country move with the times and provide this FOC, its now expected especially by travellers from certain parts of the world such as the US. There is an Eating Inn chain pub nearby towards Fulbourn, The Robin Hood and Little John, which serves good food at a reasonable price and of course a Sainsburys and Tesco just down the road in opposite directions.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and at the end of the first floor corridor, we looked out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. All our guest comments are used constructively in the consistent endeavour to improve the standard and quality of our products and service.
I’m glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. With regards to your comments regarding Wi-Fi i would like to highlight that free internet to our guests in the hotel lobby area and only charged for in the rooms.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. Myself and the team would like to thank you for your custom and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Whilst clean and tidy the cooked breakfast of rubbery scrambled eggs and sausages leaves a lot to be desired. Was really concerned to be served doubles as opposed to singles at the bar without being asked, this could have easily lead to someone being done for drink driving if they were unaware of the hotel's policy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay with us. All our guest comments are used constructively in the consistent endeavour to improve the standard and quality of our products and service.

With regards to breakfast I have taken your comments on board regarding the quality and I assure you necessary steps will be taken to ensure we maintain the quality of our products and service. I would like to highlight that Holiday Inn Express hotels, as a brand standard serve express breakfast with limited hot items.

With regards to drinks at the bar we display our standard measure at the bar along with the prices to ensure that the customers are kept informed. Please be rest assured that this is not indicative of normal standards of service at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge and I will take further steps to ensure such incidents do not occur in future.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope this will not deter you from staying with us in future. The team along with myself here at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge would like to thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming back in future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The place is just outside of the main downtown, which is probably it's only drawback. If you don't mind walking a little, there is a well lit bike path that takes you straight to Mill road then another 1.25 miles you're touching the main downtown. They have buses that will pick you up at the end of the trail also and give you a ride. So don't let this hold you back.

The hotel was very nice, clean rooms, friendly staff and a comfy bed. It is everything you need. I would stay here again if I were here to visit Cambridge and not wanting to spend a ton to be in the central part of town. It is also close walk to the train station which you can take straight to London for the day. That's what I did on one of the days. I would almost recommend that if anyone is here to see any Olympic stuff and London is to expensive or crazy.

Room Tip: The street lamps are extremely bright in the parking lot. If you like to look out the window at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
900 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We thought we would go into town, park the car, and wander around. However, the city of Cambridge is parking hell. You can drive around for hours and not find anywhere to park. We eventually ended up in the railway station parking lot, far, far, far away from the entrance, and grabbed some food in a Marks and Spencer deli, and drove back to the hotel. Rooms are pleasant (think Ibis), with enough room to put our yoga mats down. The view is a bucolic one of fields, trees, grass (very close-cropped, because of the millions of rabbits), and reservoir. Super brekkie buffet (hot and cold).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our product quality and service met your expectations.

We are only a few miles out of cambridge city centre, however, there are good bus connections from the hotel to get into the town. Parking in cambridge can be a difficult one so we recommend either to take a taxi, bus or even try the park and ride bus service which is wasy to get to from the hotel.

Once again thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My finance and I stayed here and found it beat all of our expectations. Immaculate and clean rooms, good TV and a good breakfast included in the rate. The rate was rock bottom and the service and amenities fantastic. It is very close to Cambridge CBD and introduced us to Holiday Inn Express, which we have used several times in different UK locations since.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations.

Myself and the team would like to thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

my husband and i stayed in april the room was very clean and comfortable the staff extremly helpful and friendly, breakfast very good with good selection of food

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatrice43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'am pleased to learn that our product quality and service met your expectations.

Myself and the team would like to thank you for your custon and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,032 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Newmarket Road Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing