We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Service, Clean Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Clean Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Cambridge. We stayed for 4 nights. The room was very, very basic. The pillows and mattresses were old and uncomfortable, but for the most part everything was clean. The wi-fi charges were absurd.. and unfortunately during busy times in the day the free wi-fi didn't work in the lounge. What can you expect for a bargain of a price though? There were 24 hours of free coffee drinks/hot chocolate in the lounge area which was a nice perk. The free breakfast was just ok, but hey, its free! My compliments to the staff.. a lovely girl (named Bozena I think?) provided the best service I have ever received at a hotel! Hotel is definitely a bit of a hike from the city centre. A few minute walk down a trail will get you to a bus stop, and then a few minute commute from there to the city. This was ok during the day but I would be a bit worried walking down this path at night. Overall, service was good and the room was clean and basic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyGirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. I'am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service met your expectations.

I have noted down your comments regarding internet , pillows and mattresses. Please be rest asssured that necessary steps will be taken. Thank you for mentioning Bozena,I will pass on your kind comments to her.

Myself and the team would like to thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    293
    142
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
203
28
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Firstly - NOTE TO ALL HOTELS (including this one) - charging anywhere for wifi in this day and age is absolutley ridiculous. If Starbucks can do it so can you.

Now to the review:
I booked 2 standard rooms here. Maybe my own fault but was quite surprised to open the door and see single beds in each room. 'standard' at every other hotel i'd been to in England was a double bed.

The single beds did not have fitted sheets, and the sheets on the bottom were too small so by the morning I had a large crumpled up mess of sheet right underneath my back. Very uncomfortable though the night

You got a choice of soft or hard pillow, but the bed was only hard.

Food in the bar/restaurant area was over priced for what it was, but good.

Walls were paper thin, could here people laughing and talking in the room next door
Rooms were clean and tidy, but very basic

Overall for the price we paid it was a bit of a rip-off considering we'd had 4 star accommodation the night before which really was 4 star, for a lower price than we paid here.

Id suggest only staying here if you cant find better. its far enough out of Cambridge to not really matter being near by - youd need a car anyway.

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'am pleased to learn that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay. Please note that we provide free internet in the lobby area. However, charged in the bedrooms.

With regards to pricing we are very competitively priced for similar kind of accomodation in the Cambridge area. We are located approx. 2 miles out of Cambridge city. However, customers can easily access town by taxi or public transport.

Please be rest assured that certain aspects of your stay such as noise level, bedsheets will be reviewed and necessary steps will be taken.

We take all our guest comments seriously in the continous endevour to provide best level of service and product. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us in future and you will give us another chance to prove how great our hotel is.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Upon check-in, the front desk staff appeared to be having a bad day - not very friendly and open to questions. The room was sufficient but the AC never failed to cool below about 23 degrees Celsius.
Location is only good if you have a vehicle - don't expect easy access to the town center without one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Mahyai,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our front desk and the faulty air conditioning.which was unacceptable. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax west yorkshire England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for two nights over bank holiday weekend at the end of August 2012. Good friendly service on arrival and the place is modern bright and clean. There is a small bar and machine with snacks. The rooms were clean smart and ideal for a couple of nights. Breakfast was simple but good quality food and there was plenty of it.

The holiday inn is quite a way from the centre - ok if you have a car - but otherwise it's too far out. Parking is free.

The wifi is free in reception but you have to pay to use in your room. It should be free across the hotel. The 3G signal was patchy which meant reliance on the wifi was more noticeable.

Given the costs and the room comfort and cleanliness I could definately recommend a stay there

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markfennelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Good points:
- comfortable bed and range of pillows (hard and soft)
- good shower pressure, temperature etc
- decent sized room
- a lot of parking available
- breakfast was fine, not outstanding but did the job

Not so good:
-it is right out of town - so it is fine if you're driving somewhere, or on business, but I wouldn't recommend if you were in Cambridge to visit the town
- only have wifi in the public areas - they do give 6 hours free access in these areas which is good, but as a business focused hotel it would be good to have access in your room for working
- the dinner is average at best. Few options, and what I ordered was pretty woeful. I wouldn't eat there for dinner again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi_abroad186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'am pleased to learn that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay.
I would like to highlight that we are approximately two miles out of the city center and are competitively priced. Also, the hotel provides ample of car parking space, free of charge and customers can access the city either by bus or taxi easily.Internet service is available for use in the rooms at additional charge.
I have noted down you comments regarding dinner and I will forward these on to the concerned parties.
Once again, thank you for your review, myself and the team would like to thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

A good clean hotel with friendly staff, room was a good size for the three of us and we had a good nights sleep. I have had better breakfasts but to be fair it only cost £41 for three of us so the breakfast was a bonus !! Wifi in bar was free. Would stay again and would definately recommend as a place to stop over in cambridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'am pleased to learn that you are satisfied with your stay and appreciate the value you received for your money.

At Holiday Inn Express Cambridge it is our utmost goal to ensure that our customers receive a consistent high quality service. We once again, thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

After two stays with Holiday Inn Express in different locations, I definitely put it in my shortlist for cheap, decent, out of town accommodation (if you're not looking for a special stay, that is). The quality of the stay was good and consistently so in this second stay. Breakfast is really a plus for a £40 something charge. As with the previous stay, there was a wide range of option of hot and cold buffet breakfast available but the quality was not outstanding. Quantity, with a bit of quality, seems to be the key strategy here. Wifi is supposed to be available in public areas but couldn't get it going for some reason. Again won't complain much for that price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'am pleased to learn that we met your expectations and you have shortlisted us as one of the hotels you would like to stay at.

I have passed on your comments regarding internet to the appropriate party and assure you necessary steps will be taken.

Myself and the team would like to thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing