We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't return to an express again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't return to an express again”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 adults and 2 children (1 needing a cot). Room was made up with double bed and cot, no bedding for sofa bed. Staff said they could make room up for my other child but the cot would have to go in front of door! My daughter needed somewhere to sleep so this was our only alternative. You couldn't move in the room, getting to the bathroom was tricky, if there was a fire it was dangerous.
The hotel was basic and lacking any atmosphere, the 'great' room hardly great or good! No music in the bar, but the staff did put the tv on when asked.
I booked the hotel as it said use of the leisure centre next door was available at a small price.....£40 for 2 adults and 2 children £10 each irrespective of age is not what I would call a small price! The breakfast was good, although there were still peas on the carpet from dinner the night before.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buggy821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We are sorry to learn that your stay with ourselves did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, when the double bed, double sofabed and a cot is requested we do try our best to inform quests beforehand that this can be a tight squeeze in the room due to the number of beds and limited floor space. The David Lloyd fitness centre next door do offer a discounted price but and can appreciate that the amount for a family of four is quite expensive, and this is something I will be looking into with them. I hope this experience won't deter you from staying in a Holiday Inn Express or with ourselves again. Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    296
    146
    33
    19
See reviews for
136
204
28
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

For £100 per night the standard is disappointing. The room was clean & tidy but no paper face cloths in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast was the biggest disappointment. The fruit juices are too watered down and the flavours very iffy. The hot offering of baked beans, sausages and scrambled egg stood out by the poor quality. Bacon doesn't exist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that less affected by the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed by the breakfast and have looked into the juice flavourings, we always offer a continental breakfast and only have the three hot options available which is the sausage, scambled egg and baked beans which is always complimentary at Holiday Inn Express. We are constantly reviewing our offerings and have taken your feedback on board to ensure we are delivering good service and quality of breakfast items .Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is cut price and it shows. The room was ok, clean and tidy, with a so so bed and that's it. No iron or ironing board, free wifi but only in the bar area downstairs and not high speed unless you pay. The bar area is like a sports bar, TV on all of the time at high volume. If you need to work on your computer somewhere quiet, then you'll have to pay for wifi in your room. The free breakfast is a joke, very limited selection and of poor quality. Think McDonalds then wind your expectations way back. For those without a car the hotel is a 45 minute walk into central Cambridge. Not really ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Even though we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion we hope it won't deter you from staying with ourselves or at any another Holiday Inn Express. Your comments have been taken on board to ensure we are constantly improving our standards and service to our guests. Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel looks very new , room was clean, shower , choice of pillows , quiet , all that could be required ..
£10 cab right into the heart of the city meant we could go into town for dinner and leave the car in the free hotel car park ..
Got back around 11pm and had a night cap in the well stocked hotel bar ..
Then next morning a free breakfast . To go with the free wifi

Cambridge hotels seemed to be very expensive when I looked , for one night I thought we'd chance the HI Express ..best move we could have made ..great hotel , great staff , full points ..

As with a lot of hotels , the staff can make the difference , this place had two stars ..Marius & Carolyn..two great team players ..really welcoming , totally polite and courteous , an absolute credit to the hotel and a big reason why I'll return when next in town .

Room Tip: I tend to choose rooms close to the reception in this kind of hotel ..I got a nice ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review and the lovely comments you made about the hotel and the team members, Carolyn and Marius, its always really pleasing to see team members being mentioned for their hospitality towards guests and your comments are fabulous!. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forwards to welcoming you in the near future. Many thanks Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Booked at the last minute, but a good price offered. Welcoming reception despite being very busy on a Friday night. Warm and comfortable room with modern, clean furniture, but with a "compact" bathroom. Ample free parking and only a few minutes from Newmarket Rd Park and Ride - suggest you don't drive into expensive Cambridge city parking. Adequate free breakfast with well stocked items, some sausages, eggs and beans, plenty of juices and coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear, not car park side, are generally quieter - only very occasional train noise, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review and glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Breakfast is always complimentary at Holiday Inn Express with the continental and hot offering selection and we are happy this met your expectations. We hope your able to return to us in the near future and to visit the lovely rabbits. Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

When you think of holiday inn, it doesn't really conjure up images of luxury. If you add on the express suffix, i start to think of travel lodge and premier inn. ie. stag night residents, too noisy to sleep and dirty rooms.
I was pleasantly surprised and happy to be proved completely wrong.
You will need a car to get here but most people staying seemed to be on business and the business park is right next door.
The entrance is bright and inviting. the staff were helpful. the rooms were very nice. easily 4 star standard with some great features, such as the bathroom door also doubling as the toilet door. Great mood lighting, comfortable range of pillows, quality duvet and bed, large tv, nice complimentary coffee/tea. Plenty of parking and the free breakfast was a great positive.
My girlfriend stayed the night and only had great things to say.
I've stayed in many 'luxury' hotels around the world and the room itself at the cambridge holiday inn express competes with many of those.
My only gripe was that there was no free wifi in the rooms - even the service station on the motorway provides free wifi and perhaps the price is a bit much.... though it was a last minute booking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you your review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were pleasantly surprised by what we had to offer. I hope you are able to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel is great for access to Cambridge, with friendly staff and nice rooms. Breakfast is free and served on the weekends from 7.00am until 11.00am
We came to Cambridge for our 28th wedding anniversary and would come back again and to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 130 etc onwards and same on 2nd floor as you are away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and glad you had an enjoyable wedding anniversary. The team are friendly and helpful and its always pleasing to see them being mentioned. We look forwards to welcoming you again. Kind regards Kerrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
998 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing