We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This seemed to be a brand new hotel, on a business park about 2 miles outside Cambridge City Centre. All in all it was just ideal for an overnight stop and way, way ahead of competitors like Premier Inn or the dreaded Travelodge and well worth the higher cost. Like all Holiday Inn's I've been to, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the wifi, although a bit slow, worked both in room and in the common areas. A big plus over the competition is that HI Expresses have a large, comfortably furnished lounge and bar area which is welcome after a hard day's work. I ate in the restaurant. The food was basic but pleasant enough and not too expensive. The inclusive breakfast was fine for a freebie. The cooked items were nothing special but the croissant, for example was actually very good.

The room was not enormous but quite big enough and very smartly and cosily furnished with sofa, desk and chair as well as good double bed. Very large TV and ample tea/coffee, soaps, shampoos, etc.

I would have preferred a bath to a shower and I found it quite hard to get to by public transport from the city centre but those are just a quibbles. Otherwise a place that's entirely fit for purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked this hotel on Expedia. You put in your required stars and area and they chose for you. When I saw the location for this hotel was disappointed as I don't drive and expected it to be a long walk in to town. On arriving was given a warm welcome. The hotel is clean and tidy. All the staff were very helpful. The buffet breakfast was great and lots of teas to chose from. I caught the bus in to town (runs every 10 mins), a quick walk less than 10 mins to the bus stop. Would recommend this hotel. The David Lloyd Centre is right next door too and you can visit for the day for £10. I enjoyed my weekend away. Came back refreshed.

Room Tip: Only 2 floored hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zelina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed with the family found the hotel staff very friendly and informative with bus directions, punting areas etc. breakfast was busy but well replenished throughout with a good selection, smiling team members constantly walking around clearing up. Free wifi was excellent. Clean modern rooms and excellent value for a family of four to stay. Found Hannah, Roxana and Kerrie very friendly all in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardnersdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Quite close to the A14. Good parking availability, and just outside Cambridge. Nice clean modern hotel. Bedrooms good size - usual high standard. Breakfast was fine - serve yourself so no waiting. Had a nice glass of wine in the bar - not too expensive. Quite checkin and checkout.
Have used before and will use again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was everything we were expecting it to be. Immaculate clean room, friendly & welcoming staff. The only criticism (and granted it's a small one) is that there was no bacon with an otherwise great buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajtaylor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear ajtaylor44

Thank you for your recent review and we are very happy that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Breakfast is always free at Holiday Inn Express and glad that you found it to be an ample selection, we do not offer bacon as part of our brand standard hot item selection but your feedback is very important to us and will be communicated to the relevant departments for consideration.

We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again and look forwards to your return.

Many thanks Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

There are two Holiday inns. the regular and the Express. Since me traveling al over the world I still didn't get the real difference in marketing, some places the Express is the cheap variation when you just need to sleep get some breakfast and hit the road. I would call this type of hotel an express, but as the Holiday Inn express Santiago de Chili, well there I took the Hilton be course it was much cheaper. But well they probably have somebody at marketing who is much clever as I am.
But I am now reviewing the Cambridge Holiday in Express. This is what I call an express. It is really good when you stay for a few day's , it is clean, good beds, some nice food if you quick want to grab something, hit the bed etc.
I Wouldn't recommend this hotel if you really making a long romantic weekend in Cambridge, it is out of town. When you want some better food as a burger or a pizza, you have to take a taxi down town.
Still staff is friendly and helpful, some times you notice that they don't have lots of staff. There same persons are doing the reception, serve you in the restaurant and the bar. When there is a Que at the reception, you will notice this in service.
Locations kind of away from everything, and congestion very bad in Cambridge.
As said I can recommend the hotel for a one or two nights stay, still I have a hard time telling you why you shouldn't take another except the others are probably will be 30-40 pound more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerRamakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear RogerRamakers,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is really nice to know that you liked our beds and found the room clean. However, I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Location handy for cambridge - only a short drive although there can be traffic on surrounding roads at peak times. Easy parking, we found it to be exceptionally clean and up to the standards of the Holiday Inn Express chain - albeit a bit depressingly bland! We got a very good price and so were very happy. I'd feel a bit let down if I'd paid a bit more. Staff v friendly which was a relief after previous reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear DanLondon

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel and we are happy that you found the team to be very friendly.

Thank you again for posting your comments.

Kerrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing