We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, business-like, good breakfast hours”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A pet peeve is hotels who do not keep their restaurants open the hours that they post. Top marks to this place for still serving a full range of breakfast items (hot, cereal, yoghourt, pastries, coffee and juices) after the posted finishing time of 10 am on Saturday, and everything being available again before the posted start time of 7 am on Sunday.
Clean, comfortable, modern. Rather bland but efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We always do our best to ensure that our services meets the needs of our guests and will pass on your comments to our Nights and Breakfast staff on keeping our items out as long as is necessary! I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future!

Kind Regards

Kate and Team Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel appears to be in a rather odd location, hidden on a trading estate to the east of the city. Once found it is a modern clean hotel and the staff were very welcoming. The room was of a pleasant holiday inn standard. Breakfast next morning was adequate with the sausages and bacon of a poor quality and the coffee from a machine that tasted anything other than coffee. Check out was prompt. Only main negative is its location, £20 for a taxi into Cambridge

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Nonnie2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in room 137 for one night 2 january 2014 as part of our trip to Cambridge.
Reception staff were very helpful and booked a taxi for us later.
Room was very clean and spacious - sofa and more room than other hotels we've stayed in (premier inn and others).
Great shower in a proper cubicle and not in a bath.
Excellent breakfast of scrambled eggs and sausages - other food was available.
All in all an excellent and very well run hotel.
David Lloyd leisure centre next door

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsieur1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel! It is great to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and you found the room and breakfast exceeded your expectations!
I will also pass on the comments to my team regarding the service- although I am sure they will already have read your lovely comments!!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kate and Team Cambridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stopped over on way back from Kent to Yorkshire fantastic staff lovely rooms buffet breakfast complimentary was fine would recommend this hotel a little way out of town a brisk 35 to 40 min walk £8.00 in a taxi

Room Tip: If the girl in reception tells you its a 25 min walk into town order a taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanmurf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked as twixmas 2 night break at £49.99 per room per night including breakfast. Staff very friendly and attentive, the hotel itself was clean and well maintained in all areas. The buffet breakfast had a small selection of fresh fruit/cereals/croissants and some cooked items which were all very good along with unlimited hot drinks. Taxi ride into town varied between £8 to £13 one way dependent on whether the cab was pre booked or from public hire rank. My tip would be to ask the hotel to call you a cab and then ask the driver for his card and call him when a return trip is required. All in all great value hotel which we will use again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a good value alternative rather than staying in the city centre. Hotel was very clean and as other reviews have stated the staff are very good, certainly better than the average HIE hotels I've stayed. Rooms are clean, quiet and in good repair. Breakfast is the standard fayre, however unlike some HIE hotels the food is quickly refreshed and the staff ensure all options are available, and also ensure the tables are clean. You can walk into the city centre, weather permitting in 35mins or so, or taxi £9. I think a bus route is also fairly close. All in all a good stay many thanks. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ks03nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas.Festive decorations gave a warm welcome.was easy to get to by own car, location avoids City congestion. currently no charge for overnight secure parking. Set on fairly new Business Park with David Lloyd Tennis/Fitness Centre nearby/ supermarket about 1 mile away. Almost adjacent to Cambridge airport. only heard one in- coming flight in the early evening so relatively quiet. Frequent bus links approx 5 minutes walk away . Taxi @£20 to City Central area this H.I.Ex.has a good Bar and Food availability ( medium price range for a Hotel menu.) vending machines for snacks and bottled water. No complimentary toiletries, but soap dispenser in shower and beside sink. other travel toiletries available from Reception.quiet, clean and modern rooms with Sat TV. air con easy to control.

Room Tip: ground floor room 43 is at the far end of the quiet end of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.6 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,881 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £52 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, well-equipped bedrooms with comfort cooling and free onsite parking. A continental buffet breakfast with hot items is included for all guests and is served in our sociable Great Room. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free Wi-Fi. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing